We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet hotel in a great location with an elevator!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save Saved
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Venice, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet hotel in a great location with an elevator!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

The Brouwer is a charming canal house with a perfect location on the Single Canal with good bars, restaurants and shops nearby. Lovely breakfast room, each morning they serve assorted breads, cheese, boiled eggs, juice, coffee, tea. Free wifi and there is also a pc for free use between 0800 and 2200. The single room was quite small, sloping floor, but clean with flat screen TV and beautiful view over the canal. Easy walk to Dam Square, Anne Frank House, central station, and it was especially nice to be next to the Joordan district which is full of wonderful little shops and cafes. Took the Connexxion shuttle to the hotel for euro 14.50. They do not list this hotel on their website but will drop you at the hotel anyway, or nearby, depending on how many are in the shuttle. For euro 28.00 the hotel has a taxi that will take you back to the airport. Unfortunately I had scheduled this and missed this, as I walked out the door at 0545 and the taxi waiting there was not the 28 euro taxi, it was the 40 euro taxi I discovered on arrival to airport! So if they schedule taxi for you make sure it is the one they have called. Right out the side door of the hotel is Graven Molen tapas and Spanish kitchen, Lijnbaansteeg 5-7, wonderful!! Also across the Singel and down the street is Het Kalfje, Prinsenstraat 5, wonderful place to wind down with beer and great fondue. Having an elevator is a definite plus in Amsterdam as well!!

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    131
    38
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
158
46
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
devon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2009

loved this hotel.
comfirmation e-mail quick to arrive good coms
Service was good and nothing was too much trouble.
the room ( Brietner )was on the 2nd floor
beds were 2 singles but comfortable -nice linen bedding.
good hot shower
access via 2 different staircases or tiny lift
No double glazing so some noise from road, but heating very good.

10 minute walk from centraal station
eye opening displays nearby -if you don't want to see don't look.
trams 50 mtrs from hotel
various shopping areas easy walking distance

interesting building with lots of nooks and crannys

yes it is near the centre of amsterdam and the road next to the Singel canal can be ( comparatively) noisy and yes it is an old building from the 1600s so not too much can be done about sound proofing but we have had rooms in Krakow and Prague that were noisier. I f you want a quiet hotel then use one that was built more recently by a chain but could be in any city in the world

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Totally agree with the last review. Didn't sleep well due to the noise from the street. The windows are very thin. The bed was also too soft. I appreciated having a TV in the room and having access to free internet. While the location was ideal and the breakfast quite good , I would have preferred a nicer hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerpen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2009

I Chose this hotel after reading so many positive reviews on tripadvisor,but I was really dissapointed in my stay there!
The room itself was the most uncomfortable and smallest one I ever had in the world!!!!!
The decoration is ugly en dated. It was not possible to close the curtains, and the noise from the street was absolutely not pleasant! Also a lot of noise from other rooms al night long !
Breakfast started at 8.30 hr, so it was not possible to have it,because I had to leave at 8 15 hr!
The floors and windows are dirty,and the whole atmosphere is a litlle bit shabby and messy! The stairs and the elevator are horrible!
For tourists who want to feel the real Amsterdam, maybe it is a great place because of the old historical building with nice location with canalview ,but with the two american lady owners? I did not have a real 'Amsterdam' feeling, I was verry happy that I could leave this place, and I will never , never , never go back there!

Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

Just to echo all the positive comments that have been said before - the hotel is not your ordinary bland hotel, where you are just a "number". The feel is like beiing in a 'home from home' with all the perfect touches that really made the break so relaxing.
Wonderful room (The Rembrandt), with lovely views over the canal - the decore and the comfort was superb, as was the breakfast - glorious sitting in an environment that made eating the wonderful breakfast such an experience ! The staff were extremely friendly and very approachable - not like your normal hotel - we were served our delicious breakfast on real china plates, drunk our tea from real china tea, and served to you by the friendly, warm staff !
The hotel is in a superb position, just off from the main Dam square, but far enough away to feel that you are not on top of the centre of Amsterdam. A 10-15 minute walk from the centraal station, most of it along the Singel canal is very pleasant. We did all our sightseeing by walking, and it was a pleasure to get back to the lovely warm room to chill over a nice glass of wine - no fridge, but we left the wine next to the window, where there was a gap just big enough to let some cold air in ! This did not detract from the warmth of the room, as the central heating was so efficient, we had to leave the window open at times !
All in all, the recommendation from the Daily Telegraph back in October 08, was very welcome, and we were not disappointed - thank you to the hotel staff for making the stay so enjoyable !

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

Just to echo all of the other comments about this hotel, the hotel is the complete opposite to the faceless modern boxes that you so often get. It is an old canal house that has been converted into a hotel. The rooms are simple but clean and very comfortable ours had slightly slopping floors and exposed beams with a great view across the canal. The breakfasts as all mentioned are what a continental breakfast should be not just a cheap cope out, boiled eggs, bread, croissants, good cheese and jam and lovely coffee.

The only 2 small points to note was that due to the age of the building, there was some noise from the street so if you are a light sleeper take ear plugs and that there are some “windows” very close by, but then this is all part of Amsterdam’s culture anyway.

All in all you do get a real of taste of living in a Dutch house not a hotel! The area is great some really good bars, restaurants and shops and you are just far enough away from the tourists traps, when we go back we will try and stay there again, if they have space!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HQ:Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We stayed in Hotel Brouwer for 5 nights with a friend of mine - and we loved it! We got the Rembrandt room which was small but perfect for our stay. We spent our days seeing the city so our room was just our base with bed. We did watch TV in the evenings, though. The staff was wonderful and friendly, we felt like we could ask enything if we needed. The hotel is a charming old house and yes, some of the floors are a bit tilted but we thought it added to the ambience. Beds were comfy and I'm a fussy sleeper.
So if you need bed, shower and breakfast, look no further! We could walk anywhere in the city from our hotel. There are some red lights but they didn't bother us.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.