We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Views, Value and Quirky Nice......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save Saved
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Carmichael, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Location, Views, Value and Quirky Nice......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We stayed at the Brouwer at the end of March/first part of April this year for 4 nights. We experienced everything good and bad that other reviewers have reported. Our room was the Rembrandt on the 3rd level of the hotel. It is a very spacious corner room with lots of windows and a fantastic view of the two canals. (I think that the Van Gogh room is the same size right above us) Pros: Location; fantastic location close to train station (15 minute walk), trams, and great local pubs and canal side restaurants. View; Our room on the corner was to die for over looking the 2 canals. NOTE; Noticed that 2 trees on the canal have been removed for canal work. This give other canal side rooms a better view. Staff; found the staff to be very nice and friendly. They even served us our breakfast early on our departure day. Value; 115 euro/night out the door with breakfast, I thought was pretty good for the area. Cons: Noise...We were there from Saturday to Wednesday AM. Sure there was noise till midnight+ on Saturday. After that it was better every day after. What do you expect from a city like Amsterdam on the weekend. Breakfast; It was like reported...the same thing every day...but it was good and filling. (I will go for an OK breakfast that comes with my room any day for the convenience) Bathroom; The shower was funky with its short curtain and open drain style. (they replaced the curtain our second day with a longer one. We didn't even ask for it) the bath was tough to work in with the low light and size....but we have had smaller ones. If you are picky don't stay here. If you are flexible and easy going it will be a cool experience staying in a canal side hotel built in the late 1600's with great Amsterdam canal views.

Room Tip: Reserve early and stay in the Rembrandt or Van Gogh rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    130
    38
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
156
46
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duluth, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

Definitely not an upscale hotel, but a hotel worth the money. Not the Ritz, but a simple hotel with very friendly staff. A fantastic location. Nice view of canal. Breakfast was good every morning. We would come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
3,045 helpful votes 3,045 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times. We love everything about it - price, value, location, staff, incredible view. However, this hotel is not for everyone. The rooms are basic, but clean. The elevator is tiny - enough for 2 people and 2 very small pieces of luggage. Breakfast is good - but the same every day and we often miss it because we are gone before 8:30 a.m. when they begin service. But we cannot imagine staying anywhere else when we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Hotel Brouwer has a nice homely feel, relaxed atmosphere and the staff are friendly and easy to get on with. It's well located in a quieter part of the centre with a few nice bars and cafes in the area.
The hotel is basic but nice, I usually try to stay here when I visit Amsterdam and the price is reasonable for the centre. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

I picked this place due to it's location to some museums and the central district. The location was great. But the facility was a disappointment. It felt like the owners/managers didn't want to be bothered. The had strict hours of operations (8:30 am to 8:00 pm) and beyond those hours they were not to be disturbed. Even breakfast wasn't served until 8:30. You seldom saw the staff and it was as if they were avoiding their guests. Our room was large. Our bed was OK. The bathroom was good. But the room was extremely difficult to get to (had to carry 3 suitcases up 3 floors) and it was very noisy with canal parties all night long. I wouldn't stay here again. The location was good, but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Hotel Brouwer is very well located in a lovely part of town and a short walk from the railway station. All the staff are helpful and welcoming and the rooms have a refreshing simplicity to them. Great place for a few days to sightsee and enjoy the canal views. Breakfast is simple and well served - fresh warm croissants, rolls and jam and boiled egg. Very good value and well run hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I stayed for two nights at the Hotel Brouwer. My room was small but very cute and quaint. My bathroom was comfortable and had a nice hot shower. The view of the canal from the window was spectacular; everything you could imagine Amsterdam to be. Yes, it was a little noisy outside at night, but what can you expect being right on the Singel Canal? And it quieted down before midnight. The man snoring in the next room was worse than the noise outside - LOL. I didn't eat the breakfast because there were plenty of other places I wanted to try - don't miss the Pancake Bakery! Going down the spiral stairs made me dizzy, but thank goodness there is a tiny lift to bring you and your luggage up. And even though there were women "working" next door, I never even noticed until I left in the middle of the day and saw a rather endowed woman sitting in the window. Amsterdam - gotta love it.

Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#60 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.