We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Character hotel but perhaps not for everyone!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Character hotel but perhaps not for everyone!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to write this, as the American owners were on the whole very pleasant and reminiscent of hippies from a bygone age who had stayed in Amsterdam just those twenty years too long.

Breakfast was pretty uninspiring, but adequate, again the feeling being that the same breakfast had been served for years and left the staff hugely uninspired as well as the guests. A certain air of weariness seemed to infuse the whole building and take its staff and occupants with it.

The area is first class for being central to Amsterdam, although the sudden realisation that a lady of the night occupied the front room of the next door building, accompanied by her red light and the interest she incurred throughout the night til the early hours of the morning, was a little unsettling to this single lady traveller.

Yes the rooms were noisy, both from the street outside - but what do you expect if you stay delightfully right on the bank of the Prinsengracht canal - and inside - how many times can a couple walk back and forward, closing every door imaginable in hobnail boots all night long? But the views are to die for - and judging by the nighttime activity, if you ventured outside after midnight, you might well do just that. Daytime and up to midnight are fine.

The shower and room were good - huge room for Amsterdam - fantastic views of the canal. Bath towels left quite a bit to be desired, as it seems they were as tired as the staff - and quite a bit smaller too, more like rather thin hand towels. Dear little dogs in the breakfast room cheered everything up considerably.

All in all a colourful experience which I found highly amusing, but not all that restful. Definitely a few days to dine out on when returning home and who needs boring, corporate hotels anyway? If small and quirky is your thing then the Brouwer is for you!

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    134
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
160
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento CA, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I spent 2 nights here on my way to Africa. It is a good location, on the first canal around city center. The 500 year old building is atmospheric. My single room was small, as was the elevator, but all was comfortable, and the price cannot be beat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Brouwer is an interesting place. Great location looking at the Singel Canal out the window and a short walk to the Anne Frank house, Central station and Dam Square. The downside is that the drunks/potheads from the nearby “coffee shops” make noise all night long until they pass out. We stayed in the first level Rembrandt Room but would recommend anyone should stay in the highest floor rooms available to minimize the noise. It has a small lift to get your luggage up to your room and a dizzying spiral staircase for those who pass on the lift. The “queen bed” is actually two twins pushed together that separate during the night, so be sure to stay on your side. The floor of our room gave us a laugh as it was tilted so we had to block the wheels of our luggage to keep it from rolling into the TV. Two ex-patriot American women who own/help run the place and served our breakfast are savvy charming. The extra cost breakfast of coffee was very good.It was a nice place to stay but our 4 day stay got to be a bit long due to the noise. I would stay there again for a day or two but somewhere else for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Such a great hotel in such a great location in such a great city. The hotel is so charming and it has such a historical feel as it has been restored back to its 17th century charm. The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was included and delicious,and the hotel has a lift. I repeat...the hotel has a lift! We were so happy we didn't have to lug our suitcases up the stairs. The view out of our room was perfect. It looked right out over the canal and was a quintessential view of Amsterdam. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone we knew who was traveling to Amsterdam. You're missing out if you don't stay here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I loved this little place. Was a bit wary as you dont pay a deposit but all was well when we arrived. Room on the second floor was a great size and very comfortable with an amazing view over the canals. An added bonus was the lift - a rare sight in Amsterdams old canal houses.The lovely beams and furniture really added to our stay

We chose not to have breakfast as theres so many places within walking distance. it was an ideal location, walking distance to the brown cafes and many sights.

I also thought it was very well priced for central Amsterdam
The staff member on arrival ( a young guy) was very friendly and helpful however we didnt see him again and the other staff members werent the most helpful with suggestions of where to go etc

Overall I would defintly stay here again and would be so dissapointed if I couldnt get a room

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

At the end of three week sin Europe, this was the highlight of my trip. The building dates back to the 17th century and hasn't changed a lot since. We asked for a double bed but were delighted to find we had the whole level to ourselves (or technically, three levels) with whole living room which used to house an entire family, complete with a dining table, television and an old curtained bed. Interior decoration was perfect, Delft tiles everywhere and antique furniture. The bathroom was the only modern part and the bedroom was rather like smaller version of a typical Parisian apartment. Both rooms looked straight out onto the tree lined canal, an ideal view of Amsterdam. For anyone who struggles to sleep, earplugs may be necessary because everything creaks and the street could be heard from the living room which I slept in. The hotel is right on the edge of the red-light district, though we didn't even notice until we walked past at night when the windows were lit up to reveal women sitting in the windows. One can easily avoid this by crossing the canal or walking in the opposite direction. Perfect location, near the Dam square yet only three canals over from the Jordaan district. The breakfast room was lovely too, two quiet poodles and fresh bread to authentic music.

Room Tip: Perhaps sleep in the room intended for sleeping, could be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed here in Sept, based on reviews and recommendation of relative. I booked ahead and asked about elevator as my wife has knee problems. Upon arrival we were shown to our room. The only way to get to it was by stairs, and , were told this was it. Our room was on 3 floors, with steep stairs. Since we were here to start our trip we felt we could tough it our for a couple nights. The noise on the street is also a problem. Sorry, I could not recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.