We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #96 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent location, comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We booked 2 nights at the Brouwer due to the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We prefer to stay in hotels with history and character and the Brouwer certainly offers these. We stayed in the Van Gogh room and the floor was sloped so much that we felt like we were on a boat when we walked in! The room was basic but cosy and clean and it had an amazing view of the canal below. Towels and sheets were lovely and clean and the shower was nice and hot.
As others have pointed out there is an issue with noise from the rooms above. We were woken one morning by the people upstairs getting ready and the level of noise was quite unbelievable. On the ceiling above the bed were what looked like marks from a shoe. I can only assume that a previous guest had got annoyed by noises from above and banged on the ceiling.
We didn't notice any noise from other rooms on our floor. There was also constant noise from the street through the night. It didn't bother us as we were so tired from walking all day but for very light sleepers then I wouldn't recommend this hotel.
The location is brilliant; about 10/15 minutes walk from both Centraal station and the Anne Frank house.
The staff are friendly and very helpful and very laid back which we found to be the case with all the locals. The rooms don't have hairdryers but I was able to borrow one from reception for my stay.
Breakfast was substantial but uninspiring (croissant, hot cross bun, bread roll, cheese, jam and a boiled egg and then juice and tea/coffee).
Overall I would definitely recommend the Brouwer but not to everybody; if you are used to luxury, modern hotels then this isn't for you.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper then avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    142
    44
    14
    3
See reviews for
40
172
52
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I booked the Hotel Brouwer based on Trip Advisor ratings and was not disappointed. We wanted a hotel with old world charm rather than an American chain hotel, and this was perfect. The building dates to 1652 and is right on the oldest canal in Amsterdam. All the rooms have a canal views. Our room was large by European standards, and while it was sparsely furnished, it was adequate and immaculately clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and the location could not have been better. This will be our hotel of choice for future visits to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We were in the Breitner room which was spacious. There was some occasional noise from the street bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a little gem in a great canal ring location. The staff are really accommodating and kind. Rooms are small, somewhat spartan but really all you need for comfort if you intend to get into the city and crash here after a full day. Good idea to take earplugs due to some street noise. Single bed was most comfortable. Wish they served breakfast earlier for us early risers but there is a great little Tunisian coffee, bake shop and quick mart just a short block away that opens at 6. Super convenient. I'd book back here in a minute!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice converted house, with original features.

Rooms were a bit uneven but the service and rooms was great and the atmosphere was nice. Very comfortable stay would come back again.

Don't expect hotel 4 star type luxury but it's a nice covered house. Comfortable and excellent location!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in July, absolutely loved it! We stayed in a triple room, the Breitner, which was spacious and clean. Down the alley beside the hotel,1 minute away, was a laundromat, deli, bakery, restaurants and a convenience store. The breakfast was ok but we preferred to go to Greenwoods which was 2 minutes down the Singel. The staff was SUPER friendly and helpful. When we return to Amsterdam we will for sure be staying here again.

Room Tip: All rooms have canal views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location makes it a good place to stay for the money. It was not the experience we were expecting based on the reviews. First of all, do not underestimate the street/canal noise! It goes on all night. We stayed on the second floor (third floor in US) during unusually hot weather in August, so we had to have the windows open. Our room had windows on both sides, so there was a cross breeze, but the noise went on and on. The mattress was larger than the box springs it was sitting on, so you had to watch out if you sat on the edge because you would end up on the floor.
I had no problem with the wifi at all, but the breakfast is not great. We have eaten in a lot of B & B's in Europe and this is the poorest breakfast we have ever had. There was no choice. You are served a boiled egg, three rolls, and some slices of cheese that had not been covered since the previous day as the edges were drying out.
I know this hotel is very popular and gets great reviews, but based on our experience for three nights, I would probably pay a little more and stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Request as high up as you can get, due to the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel offered old style rooms with modern bathrooms and great comfort. We were on the top floor so there were a lot of stairs, but we took that as part of a canal house experience. Weak wifi. Good, simple breakfast. The couple we travelled with found it noisy, so they used earplugs and a white noise app on their cellphone to drown out the nighttime street noises. Our top floor room was probably quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#166 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 218 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hegra Hotel
Hegra Hotel
#117 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#152 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Vondelpark
Park Plaza Vondelpark, Amsterdam
Jordaan
Hotel Wiechmann
Hotel Wiechmann
#97 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#90 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.