We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, so so experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Singel 83, Amsterdam 1012 VE, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Charleston, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, so so experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The location makes it a good place to stay for the money. It was not the experience we were expecting based on the reviews. First of all, do not underestimate the street/canal noise! It goes on all night. We stayed on the second floor (third floor in US) during unusually hot weather in August, so we had to have the windows open. Our room had windows on both sides, so there was a cross breeze, but the noise went on and on. The mattress was larger than the box springs it was sitting on, so you had to watch out if you sat on the edge because you would end up on the floor.
I had no problem with the wifi at all, but the breakfast is not great. We have eaten in a lot of B & B's in Europe and this is the poorest breakfast we have ever had. There was no choice. You are served a boiled egg, three rolls, and some slices of cheese that had not been covered since the previous day as the edges were drying out.
I know this hotel is very popular and gets great reviews, but based on our experience for three nights, I would probably pay a little more and stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Request as high up as you can get, due to the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    128
    35
    11
    3
See reviews for
34
151
44
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel offered old style rooms with modern bathrooms and great comfort. We were on the top floor so there were a lot of stairs, but we took that as part of a canal house experience. Weak wifi. Good, simple breakfast. The couple we travelled with found it noisy, so they used earplugs and a white noise app on their cellphone to drown out the nighttime street noises. Our top floor room was probably quieter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a great little place to stay at in the core of Amsterdam. It's about 5 minutes to the train station, to the dam square, and most other attractions.
We stayed in room Esscher, on the top floor and had a fantastic view of the canal. The room was great, comfy beds, big washroom, quiet. They have a small lift you can take to the top, but only two people can fit, and also two different sets of stairs.
Breakfast was great, coffee or tea, juice, an egg, cheese, and a variety of breads.
The only thing that could be improved on is the wifi, it's wasn't available at all on the top floor, and really only worked well by the computer they have.
Definitely stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was the first hotel on our visit to Europe and one of the most memorable. The floors aren't always level - this is an authentically old pub. Good value and full of atmosphere. We had an idyllic view of the canal from our room and the photos are stunning. Some of them look like modern Bruegels! It is just so close to the city and within easy walking distance of the Centraal station. Handy to eating places. Don't expect 5 star but look forward to a memorable stay. I like the story about President Clinton having stayed there in the 70s. If you're touring Europe and spending a couple of nights in Amsterdam and need to be careful with funds this may be your place.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems tell them in advance as there may be a room at a lower level. Stairs j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
412 reviews 412 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Just spent 4 nights in Mondriaan room on the top floor. This must have been our 15th+ stay at Brouwer. No pics to post this time; I've already posted room and view pics many times. This is a great place to stay within the center with ambiance, hospitality, and friendly hosts. I feel like Wim, Colleen, Ellen, and Joseph are friends rather than hoteliers.

As long as you're not looking for American-chain type lodging, this is the place. If you want all those conveniences, go elsewhere and leave the room free for me to reserve for my next visit. The hotel has a small elevator (it's all you need), good size, very clean, rooms, and a nice breakfast.

We'll be back again and again.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the Singel canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Even though I wrote a review of my last stay three years ago, I can't help but want to write again about how much I absolutely love this hotel.

Want an authentic Dutch experience? Look no further. The rooms just have so much character and with each one having its own bathroom and a canal view, you just can't beat it. Throw in the breakfast and the friendly staff and you're getting an unbelievable value.

Then there's the location. Right in the heart of town and most importantly, two short stops from a tram stop for many lines. By being so close to Centraal Station, you get to take advantage of many of the tram lines which go there. So if you ever leave town for a day trip, you're just one tram stop away once you get back into Amsterdam. And whenever you're exploring Amsterdam and you're ready to head back to the hotel, chances are you'll be close to one of these tram lines or another you can easily connect from. That convenience is priceless.

As I did for this trip and for all future trips, my travel dates to Amsterdam will depend on the availability of this hotel. I love it that much.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed three nights at this B & B after visiting Nijmegen. Prior to Nijmegen we had stayed a couple of nights at a different B & B also on the Singel Canal (Hotel Hoksbergen). Hotel Brouwer beat the Hotel Hoksbergen hands down. It was our first visit and we stayed room "Breitler" (Spelling?) which included a comfortable cot bed for our son who joined us at this time. The hotel has the advantage of having a lift for your luggage (and 1 person) and is well within walking distance of the Central Train Station and other sights. During our stay the temperatures were quite warm and the room had the advantage of having windows both on the canal side and on the back which allowed for air circulation. The breakfast was very good and the owners are very helpful and accommodating. There is laundrette very close by which we made use of. Noise from the street on Saturday night was present (Amsterdam is a party city) but not unbearable.

Room Tip: Remember that in these old B&B hotels very few, if any, have air conditioning. During hot weath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, Amsterdam 1012 VE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list