We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint B & B in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quaint B & B in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This is a historical building in a great location on the Singel Canal. This is our second visit and enjoyed as much as ever. Good breakfast, helpful hosts and very comfy rooms with modern ensuites. Only a short walk from the train station and the flower markets. plenty of good restaurants nearby

Room Tip: Top floor is nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    139
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
38
168
51
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TreeClimber
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights to finish off a 3 day business trip. Location was excellent and price was right for the location too. I had the "HANS" room, I believe, on the 'first' floor....although it took 3 flights to get there! (they do have an elevator big enough for 1 person). Great view out the window. Must pay in cash, and I forgot to ask for a receipt...

3 things keep this from 4 or 5 stars: 1) the room sloped so bad that me and the mattress ended up on the floor by morning. 2) breakfast didn't start until later, and I was up early to get in early to the museums (a must if you don't want to wait in lines), and 3) with no AC, no uncommon in Europe, the noise from outside was quite loud ...I tried to sleep with the windows closed but it was too stifling.

Room Tip: All rooms are suppose to have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed here with a friend for 3 nights in late June and couldn't have asked for a better hotel! Location was perfect, just a walk away from city center and different neighborhoods. The staff was friendly and breakfast really good, they really made you feel welcome. This is a small b&b style hotel and has tons more character than any big hotel. We had a big room overlooking the canal, which was lovely. I will definitely book this hotel again once visiting Amsterdam!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Fab location, Fab hosts, Fab rooms, Fab breakfast.

Just came back, stayed in the Bosch room on the first floor, what a room, I felt like royalty in my bed with the curtains.

This is a fab hotel, The rooms are full of character, original furniture, tiles and floorboards.

I loved it and if I ever go back will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you’re looking for the comfort and trappings of a modern hotel chain don’t stay here! Having said that, we LOVE this hotel and have stayed twice in the last three years. Carefully selected after reading all of many reviews from TripAdvisor, we were not disappointed! I will never forget either of our arrivals. After despatching our 2 suitcases, unaccompanied, in the teeny, tiny elevator and climbing the very tight spiral staircase to our second floor Van Gogh room, we lifted off the window frames and opened the shutters wide to a glorious vista of the Singel Canal. On our first stay the canal trees were announcing the arrival of Summer and on the second stay they were aglow with the golden hues of Autumn. The floors of our room had a gentle list towards the canal which added to a unique experience . At times we almost believed we were back in the 17th century!

The daytime managers, Colleen and Ellen were very helpful, especially recommending where to find our favourite food, Dutch Apple Pie. It’s probably good anywhere you find it but after very many tastings we vote the Villa Zeezicht, just down the canal, as serving the very best we’ve ever eaten, sorry Mum. The staff make it themselves on the premises – simply superb!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Brouwer isn't for everyone. They'd probably be the first to tell you that. My wife and I have stayed there at least a dozen times over the years and have always enjoyed ourselves. Its on the Singel canal right in the heart of Amsterdam. Many of the reviews we've read complain about the location. Red lights and racial tension. Yes there are some red light spots around and the neighbourhood is diverse. But its all mixed in with some of Amsterdam's best modern shopping and restaurants and hey that's Amsterdam. The hotel itself is old and anything but fancy. The rooms are basic. Super basic. But clean. Back in the day they had no phones no tv's. Thats changed but the overall feel is the same. Each room has a great view of the canal. When you open the old windows its really quite amazing. The bathrooms are the most basic element of all. If you're looking for the Ritz this ain't it. But it's clean and comfy. Breakfast is killer. Hard boiled egg, great coffee, juice, fresh bread, jam and cheese. A great way to start they day. We just left the Brouwer about 3 weeks ago after a 2 night stay for Queens day. We had a very odd room that we've never had before. Their quad room. Its three rooms spread over three levels. Really unique and a great layout for kids (we had our 2 and 5yr old with us) They staff is always very helpful and maybe just a bit quirky but it adds to the whole experience. They only take cash but the rooms are cheap so it's not the end of the world. The Brouwer is not for the faint of heart but it is a unique experience. One we're clearly fond of since we've stayed there so many times now. If you're looking for a great deal and don't need frills and like character you'll love the Brouwer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great time when we stayed for 5 nights several months ago. All of the staff were incredibly nice and very helpful and accommodating of our toddler. The breakfast is really great and definitely worth the money. We stayed in a double room on the top floor. The bathroom was huge and it had great views. The only downer was that there wasn't wifi access on the top floor. The have a very small elevator you can take to the top floors which is very convenient when traveling with a little one.

The bonus was a surprise visit from President Clinton while we were there. Apparently he stayed there at some point in the 70's and was in town and wanted to reminisce. Sadly, we were napping and missed seeing him (ack!). But, they have the photos to prove it. Our *almost* meeting of Bill Clinton added to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.