We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Brouwer isn't for everyone. They'd probably be the first to tell you that. My wife and I have stayed there at least a dozen times over the years and have always enjoyed ourselves. Its on the Singel canal right in the heart of Amsterdam. Many of the reviews we've read complain about the location. Red lights and racial tension. Yes there are some red light spots around and the neighbourhood is diverse. But its all mixed in with some of Amsterdam's best modern shopping and restaurants and hey that's Amsterdam. The hotel itself is old and anything but fancy. The rooms are basic. Super basic. But clean. Back in the day they had no phones no tv's. Thats changed but the overall feel is the same. Each room has a great view of the canal. When you open the old windows its really quite amazing. The bathrooms are the most basic element of all. If you're looking for the Ritz this ain't it. But it's clean and comfy. Breakfast is killer. Hard boiled egg, great coffee, juice, fresh bread, jam and cheese. A great way to start they day. We just left the Brouwer about 3 weeks ago after a 2 night stay for Queens day. We had a very odd room that we've never had before. Their quad room. Its three rooms spread over three levels. Really unique and a great layout for kids (we had our 2 and 5yr old with us) They staff is always very helpful and maybe just a bit quirky but it adds to the whole experience. They only take cash but the rooms are cheap so it's not the end of the world. The Brouwer is not for the faint of heart but it is a unique experience. One we're clearly fond of since we've stayed there so many times now. If you're looking for a great deal and don't need frills and like character you'll love the Brouwer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FrancisCornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We had a great time when we stayed for 5 nights several months ago. All of the staff were incredibly nice and very helpful and accommodating of our toddler. The breakfast is really great and definitely worth the money. We stayed in a double room on the top floor. The bathroom was huge and it had great views. The only downer was that there wasn't wifi access on the top floor. The have a very small elevator you can take to the top floors which is very convenient when traveling with a little one.

The bonus was a surprise visit from President Clinton while we were there. Apparently he stayed there at some point in the 70's and was in town and wanted to reminisce. Sadly, we were napping and missed seeing him (ack!). But, they have the photos to prove it. Our *almost* meeting of Bill Clinton added to our trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jso25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Alabama, USA
Level Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you want a true Dutch experience with great views of the Singel Canal, this is the place for you. We stayed on the 1st floor (which appeared to actually be the 3rd floor to us) in the Rembrandt room, which was a corner room with windows on two sides. The canal house was built in 1652, so expect steep narrow spiral stairs, sloping wooden floors, "wet" bathroom, lots of character. There is a small lift to take your luggage up (one person at a time), but the house may pose mobility issues for elderly or handicapped. You are in the heart of Amsterdam, which apparently never sleeps, so there is considerable noise from the street until late hours. No frills, so do not expect luxury, but if you want a quirky Dutch canal house experience, go ahead and give it a try!

Room Tip: Walking distance to central train station, but if you have a good bit of luggage, I would recommende...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aint_Life_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My new husband and i stayed at Hotel Brouwer for 5 nights as part of our honeymoon trip.

We agree that the Hotel is more of a B&B, however understood this when booking. Hotel Brouwer does not have the plushness and modernity of a good hotel, but does have the quaintness and character of a true local home - and for this, we believe it was very good.
As to some other points that may be on one's checklist:
- Communication with owners/managers: scant. Indeed upon booking we started getting concerned, but communication was better once there;
- Location: great, though one should be careful to judge how close or far it is from the station on the basis of the luggage needed to pull over cobblestones;
- Breakfast: adequate and consistent, we would say 'moderate';
- Wifi: questionable in our room (Van Gogh);
- Bathroom: we specifically asked for a bath when booking and were allocated a shower room which was far from modern, but clean;
- Room: old but comfortable for a short stay. Lack of space/pristine cleanliness meant living out of our suitcases;
- Bed: Disappointing. Being our honeymoon, we specifically asked for a double bed, which request was also ignored without excuse/feedback - the hotel was only minimally occupied most of the time we were there.
- Lift: available, however it was out of order 2 days out of 5.

Overall, we did not regret our choice but would look for somewhere more comfortable next time we're in Amsterdam on a romantic holiday. One point that is most disappointing is the lack of communication and ignorance of specific requests. We do believe, however that it would be perfectly adequate for most occasions.

Room Tip: Requests for specific rooms/bathrooms/beds not necessarily respected
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tastee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on T/A we booked the Hotel Brouwer online & received an immediate confirmation. Surprised they did not accept credit cards, only cash, as a card would have ensured the booking was retained, which it was anyway. I reconfirmed a month before our stay & received another confirmation. On arrival late morning, we were greeted with a very friendly & pleasant lady who pointed us to the room (Mondriaan 3rd floor with a great view over the canal, as I understand all rooms have). She also gave us local information which was helpful - all staff we met were likewise. The reception/breakfast room & bedroom were full of "atmosphere", even to the ceiling beams & gently sloping floor - the place is 400 years old after all! We loved it. The wardrobe was, well, unusual, unique perhaps, certainly quaint, set into the wall with a sloping back. The room was quite large & comfortable, certainly for just the two nights we stayed, & the wi-fi worked well after moving around to find the best reception. The bathroom was big with separate shower & tub, but the shower would be better with a hob to retain the water & prevent it spilling across the floor. Lighting was a bit dim & towels somewhat small & thin. The one-person one-bag lift was a squeeze but preferable to lugging heavy suitcases up the narrow stairs. Breakfast was typical Euro style & quite adequate, good coffee. It was disappointing there were no tea/coffee facilities in the room so we had to go out to find some takeaway to bring back - we were later told we could have made our own once the kitchen was opened. The thing we liked most was the location, very central & within easy walking to the main sights. It is a good tourist hotel at a reasonable price & we would be happy to stay there again.







Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,105 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Hotel Bouwer many times. It is a characteristic 1600's hotel with uneven floors and plenty of charm. This may not be everyone's "cup of tea", but we love it.

I like the fact that instead of raising the room rates, they now charge 7€ per person (plus 5% tax) for breakfast. That works for us because we rarely ate breakfast when it was included with the rate since it is not served until 8:30 am. We like to start our sight seeing before then. The breakfast is well worth the price and I wish it were served earlier so we could partake.

This last visit, there was a picture of Ellen, who usually serves breakfast, Jorge, one of the staff, and President Clinton. It turns out he stayed at the Brouwer in the late 1960's when he was a student in England. He stopped by - unannounced - with his security entourage several months ago. Reportedly, he was very friendly and eager to see the room he had stayed in. His visit was very exciting for the staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

a lot of character. all rooms face canal. Walking distance from train station. Red light district several blocks away but right next door was you guessed it a red lighted window. So probably not for families with small kids but then neither is Amsterdam..

Room Tip: tiny elevator. One person and one luggage at a time. or two people no luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emelyn1017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,032 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery Collection
citizenM Amsterdam
#36 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#161 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing