We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love it!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brouwer

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brouwer
Save
You added Hotel Brouwer to your Saves list
Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reading, PA
Top Contributor
748 reviews 748 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
3,298 helpful votes 3,298 helpful votes
“We love it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a 1600's canal house, with sloping floors, retro-fitted bathrooms and an erratic elevator but we love it. This type of place is not for everyone, but it is clean, convenient, atmospheric and has wonderful views of the canals. There are 9 rooms and they are generally booked well in advance. Free WiFi is available, but it does not work in the upper floors. There is a computer on the ground floor for general use which is available from 8 am - 8 pm. The breakfasts are tasty and substantial - although I wish they were offered earlier (8:30 - 10:30) - my only complaint. We are early risers and like to start our day before 8:30, therefore, we frequently cannot have breakfast. Cash only (euros) - no crerdit cards.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    134
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
34
160
48
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Interlaken
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

The location is good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was clean. It was quiet at night. The breakfast was an odd combination of stuff but we liked it. Good quality bread and cheese -- delicious. We were on the "third floor" but that was equivalent to the sixth floor in the USA - - at least we walked up six flights of stairs to get there. The elevator was not working while we were there. The room had a nice view but there were some weird things. When you turned on the hot water, you got good pressure for about five seconds and then it went down to a drizzle. You could manipulate it to make it work but it made the shower a bit of a challenge. The shower was odd too. It was just a little depression in the floor and it was hard to contain the water within it. There was no hair dryer in the room. They might have had one at the front desk but that would involve walking down six flights of stairs to get it and walking back up again to dry my hair. I just didn't wash it for three days since letting it dry naturally was not an option - - too cold outside. Although there was ample space for them, there were no towel bars in the bathroom. What do you do with your wet towel? While we were watching staff set the tables in the breakfast room, he dropped a clean spoon on the floor and then proceeded to pick it up and set it at the clean place setting. Makes me wonder what happened to my silverware or food for that matter. We probably would not stay here again.

Room Tip: We had the Escher room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, I think I set my hopes too high for this place. I've stayed in better budget hotels in Amsterdam than Hotel Brouwer.

While I can imagine the challenges of maintaining a historic structure (while still managing to run a successful business), it felt much more neglected than I anticipated for a budget accommodation.

The two best things about staying here:
1. The location: an easy walk from the central train station (5-7 minutes) and in the beautiful, historic Jordaan neighborhood. Easy walking to cafes, tulip market, the canals, and main sights.

2. The breakfast: hot croissants, soft boiled egg, English muffin, and your own pot of french press coffee. However, the breakfast room could use a good, deep clean.

What wasn't so great:
1. Beds - uncomfortable

2. Shower - entire bathroom floor flooded while showering. Do not put anything on the floor.

3. Window coverings - the view of the canal was wonderful. However, only two of the four windows had coverings. You'll be waking up with the sun whether you like it or not!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at the Brouwer for one night and overall had a good stay. This hotel is very close to Amsterdam Centraal, the Jordan neighborhood and red light district. This area can get very noisy but we didnt hear it from our room. The room, called Breitner, had a lovely canal view. It was also very clean. I did not like the way the shower and the toilet were laid out but everything worked in there - it just had one of those showers where you had to be careful or else you'll have water all over the bathroom. We didn't really mind this too much but like most traditional Amsterdam canal homes the stair case is very steep. They have a very narrow elevator that can fit one person and a luggage but not anything else - definitely something to consider if you're not able to climb those stairs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The location can not be beat. The room was spacious and clean. We had awesome views over looking the canals. The access to the quiet Jordaan neighborhood and to the busy Damrak and red light district was perfect. The breakfast was a treat and filled us up. Everything was great. The hotel was about a 10 min walk from the central station.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

It's a lovely terraced building on an elegant canal road. My room had great views of canals and a laminate floor with a pleasing gradient. Thee was a little urban car and scooter noise at night, and the sound insultation from other rooms wasn't great, though not enough to bother me.

'Budget' would be a fairer description of Hotel Brouwer than 'generous'. The room was adequate, rather than enchanting: details betray the owner's awareness of his profit margin. The reception/breakfast room is attractrively Bohemian. The website omits mention of the 5% tourist tax that's added to the quoted prices.

It's a small place run by a small staff. Don't expect a 24-hour service, or to pay with plastic. When I arrived late (as agreed) the night guy answered the door grumpily: the message hadn't reached him. To be fair, he softened in the face of relentless charm. Breakfast doesn't start until 8.30 am, which will frustrate some. But the manager went some way out of his way to ensure I didn't leave hungry when I had to set off before then for a morning flight. And their simple breakfast is more than adequate.

The speed of the wifi internet fluctuates eerily; you wouldn't want to rely on it.

You could do a lot worse. It felt a little pricey for its standard. But it was full up, so this may just be Amsterdam prices.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandvaux, Switzerland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Housed in a XVIth century typical Amsterdam bourgeois building, this hotel does not perhaps fit all the classical international standards, but it has a warm atmosphere, good service on the whole and is perfectly located on a canal, in a quiet place and less than 10-minutes walk from the central railroad station.

For 95€ per night for a double, who could ask for more ?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Brouwer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brouwer

Address: Singel 83, 1012 VE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#92 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Brouwer Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brouwer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.