We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a joke!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Acca/Van Gogh to your Saves list
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #342 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Perth
1 review
“This hotel is a joke!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

it's beter for you to not stop in this hotel,evrything is wrong,specially when you dont have electric power in your room and the light is flashing alltime .

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    8
    31
See reviews for
6
8
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

for a three star hotel, it was more like a 1 star back street b&b, the bad reviews on this site are all accurate, luckily we spent most of our time out of the hotel looking round amsterdam, the other reviews reflect very well what to expect, also dont bother getting up for the breakfast as it is terrible, all in all a dire hotel, definately not one to take the mrs to for a romantic weekend........... if you just want a bed and a shower and aint bothered about anything else then this one star hotel is for you

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

I would strongly advise against staying in this hotel. As well as being extremely run down the rooms are dirty - apart from the beds being made we had no cleaning during our stay. One of our party thinks she may have got fleas from the bed. The carpets in the hallways and on stairways are badly torn, a hazard in the even of a fire. I am amazed this hotel is rated three star and can charge what it does.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

How does this hotel manage to be listed with 3 stars? It is not up to 1 star standard. Fortunately we only stayed one night. The whole place is shabby, scruffy, run down and falling to pieces. The first room we were given had no light shades, just bear bulbs and only one of these worked. The net curtains were streaked brown from cigarette smoke and the wardrobe was only fit for fire wood. We then wasted part of our stay in Amsterdam waiting for a change of room, which at least was a little better, although I've discarded beds in better condition. Don't stay there, you'll be very disappointed if you do!

  • Liked — Reception staff were friendly.
  • Disliked — Rundown, shabby and not particularly clean.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

It´s a very shabby and scruffy hotel. For hygienic reasons don´t stay there.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Ugly hotel.
I stayed 6 nights.
It's rated as 3 stars but in reality it doesn't deserve more than 1-2 stars.
Dirty bedspread, burnt furniture, lean breakfast (no buffet and always the same).
They don't change towels at all (even if leave them on the floor)

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlijn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed two days in the hotel. booked two double rooms.
The hotel location is for sure the best thing. When i read the reviews on this site i was a little bit scared for the hotel but considering the price we payed it was not that bad. Its located in the more expensive and relaxed part of amsterdam near the museums and walking distance from the nightlife. rooms where big but clrearly old!! breakfast was nothing special bread ham cheese milk coffie thee etc. Better to go out to the center and have breakfast there. I would not recommend this hotel to families who want to stay for a week or for lovers who want a romantic weekend. But if you looking for a good located hotel and dont mind that you dont have paperview in your room this is not that bad of a choice. good luck

  • Liked — location / doors open 24hrs with nightporter / price
  • Disliked — rooms badly decorated / breakfast /
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Acca/Van Gogh 1*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acca/Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acca/Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.