We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad choice” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Save Saved
You added Hotel Acca/Van Gogh to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Acca/Van Gogh
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Europe
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Bad choice”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Ugly hotel.
I stayed 6 nights.
It's rated as 3 stars but in reality it doesn't deserve more than 1-2 stars.
Dirty bedspread, burnt furniture, lean breakfast (no buffet and always the same).
They don't change towels at all (even if leave them on the floor)

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    4
    8
    29
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
berlijn
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

Stayed two days in the hotel. booked two double rooms.
The hotel location is for sure the best thing. When i read the reviews on this site i was a little bit scared for the hotel but considering the price we payed it was not that bad. Its located in the more expensive and relaxed part of amsterdam near the museums and walking distance from the nightlife. rooms where big but clrearly old!! breakfast was nothing special bread ham cheese milk coffie thee etc. Better to go out to the center and have breakfast there. I would not recommend this hotel to families who want to stay for a week or for lovers who want a romantic weekend. But if you looking for a good located hotel and dont mind that you dont have paperview in your room this is not that bad of a choice. good luck

  • Liked — location / doors open 24hrs with nightporter / price
  • Disliked — rooms badly decorated / breakfast /
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

This hotel was purely disgusting. I woke in the middle of the night to a mouse sitting on my suitcase, eating my airline tags. I went to the front desk, where they told me it's normal to have mice in the summer. Nice. [--] this place for sure.

  • Liked — Leaving!
  • Disliked — The Mice
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mixtape
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

I just came home from a weekend stay at Acca. After reading these reviews I was so terrified, but I was happy to find out that we had a big room with four single beds. Clean sheets, clean room. The bathroom was clean, but not the nicest one. It had some strange spots on the walls, but you get what you pay for. We chose this hotel because we wanted something cheap. Well, to be the cheapest hotell we could find in Amsterdam, it was a lot better than we expected. I also felt very safe that the receptionist was very strict with giving out the key, we almost had to show ID. And he always asked where the others were if we didn't go home all four at once.
I would recommend this.

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — a bit shabby bathroom
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2008

I have just returned from a weekend break in Amsterdam, staying in this absolute pile of flith hotel. The lift didn't work, there were no batteries in the TV remote and the room was in a terrible state..

I travelled with my moaning wife and she hated it more than me, I would recommend people stay away from this hotel at all costs.

Ps - The staff were very helpful and it was in a great location but the hotel needs to be torn down and rebuilt.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2007

This is the worst place in Amsterdam. We booked two twin rooms but the manager tried to palm us off with a huge, cold, filthy, dangerous, unhealthy,smelly dorm style room with four single beds, one wardrobe (with no doors, it's own graffiti, no hangers or rail) and a bathroom we felt dirtier coming out of! He gave us an extra room eventually but we didn't use it on the second night as we felt safer all sleeping together in one room. We didn't try the breakfest after imagining the condition the kitchen must be in. Honestly, trust the reviews on this site. We didn't and regretted it.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

This was by far the worst hotel that I have ever stayed in. The carpets were not vacuumed, the blankets on the beds had cigarette burns in them, wires were hanging out of the ceiling, the bathroom shower curtain had mold and mildew on it, the bathroom and shower floor had hair on it and there were spider webs all over the place. To top off the already terrible room conditions, the temperature in the room was well over 100 degrees (F) while sleeping at night. The breakfast was a complete joke. The hotel charges 7.40 euro for a meal that includes coffee, one slice of bread and one slice of cheese. After leaving the hotel it was concluded that sleeping in the car would have been a better option than staying at this hotel. Overall review: Overpriced, unsanitary and unsafe.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Acca/Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Acca/Van Gogh

Address: Van de Veldestraat 3A, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Acca/Van Gogh 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Acca/Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Acca Van Gogh
Acca Van Gogh Hotel
Acca Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Acca/Van Gogh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.