We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room did not meet the expectancies” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #101 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Room did not meet the expectancies”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Upon arrival the staff proposed to "upgrade me" to a better room if I paid extra. Having declined I was given one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed at. There was barely space for more than the single bed I had for me. This spoiled the overall good experience. The breakfast is outstanding and I assume that the other rooms meet the NH standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
I am so sorry that we were not able to meet up to your expectations with regards to the room that you were in. We appreciate your comment, since it does allow us to improve ourselves. Could you please contact me (n.drullman@nh-hotels.com) so we can further discuss the details of this matter and hopefully come to a solution, because we take this very seriously and we want to satisfy all our guests!

Again my apologies for the inconvenience you have experienced.

Best regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    438
    172
    55
    36
See reviews for
89
382
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was just out of the busy part of everything but walking distance to all. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to fix things or find things for us.
The beds were amazing. Felt like sleeping on marshmallow of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
That is an awesome phrase about the mattresses and also what a great compliment with regards to the staff. We would be honored welcoming you again!

Best regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Everything you could want is in walking distance. Just far away enough from the noise. Nice room, great value. Every possible restaurant in the neighborhood. World class museums within a few blocks. Friendly, helpful, patient staff. We will return soon. Too much fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay so much and that we were able to contribute to that! We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel :)

Kindest regards,

on behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Not working air condition and heating.
When I arrived at the hotel with my family we had a lovely welcome. At first glance, then went to our room and we liked our room and went out to wander the city, leaving our belongings. In the evening we returned to the room were cold and tired as well. Air conditioning was set to 22 degrees and not more heat. The radiator in the room did not work in any way.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is definitely not anything special no matter what it is renovated. Bathroom real tight, room quite ok, even we were lucky and got a room with LCD TV, rooms with a view disaster, great objection under a lot of damage and no carpet. Breakfast average, breakfast room too small for such a large number of guests and a free table to wait. The hotel has free wifi and a good location which is definitely a plus, friendly reception staff are available 24/24.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for placing a comments with regards to your stay in our hotel! We are delighted to have read the compliments about the staff, it will definitely be shared with the teams. Our apologies for the way you have experienced some other aspects. I am excited to inform you we have already started to renew items that will update our product, which I am certain that it will contribute to the comfort of all our guests.

If you are returning to Amsterdam, we hope you are willing to give us another chance!

Best regards,

On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel has a great location, right by a canal, and within easy walking distance to the big museums as well as the restaurant and entertainment district. However, the rooms are small and of rather average standard. The breakfast buffet is OK. There is a small gym in the basement but it is much nicer to go for a run in the nearby park. There is free wifi, but you have to renew it every 24 hours. The staff was overall friendly and service-minded, and I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We really appreciate your review and compliments with regards to the service we have provided and the location! Isn't it lovely to have the Vondelpark just steps away from the hotel? I do want to offer my apologies that we were not able to meet up to some of your expectations. Will you please give us another chance to prove you that we can?

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The bed was comfortable, but they didn't have much if any space for clothes storage (no drawers that I could find, just a few shelves in the closet that also had the room safe, shoe cleaning supplies, etc).

The shower also had one of those European half-glass doors dividing the tub from the room, which meant an awful lot of water ended up on the floor during any shower. The shower itself was nice and hot though.

The room AC fan was also always on when set to Auto, the room radiator was never able to warm the room well.

The food was good at the restaurant, although breakfast is pretty expensive for what you get - you may want to seek a cafe in the area unless you are in a hurry.

The location of this hotel is really great, it's very easy to walk a short distance to get a tram that goes all the way the center of Amsterdam, or sideways around the rings. The room design is also nice and the hotel is clean and well-maintained. It's just too bad about the temperature controls.

Also be aware that when they say check-in is at 3PM, they mean it! I was not able to check in much before 2pm on the day I got there. On the flip side they are very relaxed about check-out times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
So sorry you have experienced the mentioned hardware issues during your stay and we were not able to meet up to your expectations! However I am glad to read to liked the great location NH Amsterdam Centre is situated.

Will you give us another chance to prove that we can exceed your expectations?

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director - Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Amsterdam. at It is right across from the lively Leidse Square in the fashion and museum district, an area brimming with entertainment, dining and nightlife options. Amsterdam's characteristic canals and the city's top museums are just a short stroll from the hotel, as is the exclusive "PC Hooft" shopping street and the Vondelpark, a sprawling urban green space. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Heineken Brewery and the world famous Rijksmuseum, featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's "The Night Watch". The Museumsquare, home to several museums including the Van Gogh Museum, is just a ten-minute walk away from the NH Amsterdam Centre.. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel features 232 stylish standard and superior rooms as well as two elegant suites. The rooms come with a range of amenities, such as WiFi internet access, coffee- and tea-making facilities, air-conditiong, safe, minibar, iron and ironing board and a spacious work desk. Ristorante Sogno is one of the best Italian restaurants of the city. Enjoy the best of the traditional Italian gastronomy and experience the authentic Italian atmosphere. The Lounge 'L' in the lobby of the hotel is the perfect place to plan your day or unwind after seeing the sights. Relax with a coffee or cocktail while enjoying the views of the bustling Stadhouderskade and Leidse Squarehot. The hotel is within a three-minute walk to all tram connections and we offer direct airport shuttle service (surcharge). Plus, our knowledgeable staff is available to assist you with canal tour bookings and museum tickets. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel offers a relaxing Wellness Center and state-of-the-art fitness center, which are the perfect ending to your busy day, whether you're here for pleasure or have just attended an event in one of our meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.