We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #86 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The hotel was just out of the busy part of everything but walking distance to all. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to fix things or find things for us.
The beds were amazing. Felt like sleeping on marshmallow of heaven.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
That is an awesome phrase about the mattresses and also what a great compliment with regards to the staff. We would be honored welcoming you again!

Best regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    499
    185
    60
    40
See reviews for
112
447
66
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Everything you could want is in walking distance. Just far away enough from the noise. Nice room, great value. Every possible restaurant in the neighborhood. World class museums within a few blocks. Friendly, helpful, patient staff. We will return soon. Too much fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are very happy to read you have enjoyed your stay so much and that we were able to contribute to that! We are looking forward to your next stay in our hotel :)

Kindest regards,

on behalf of the Hotel Director,
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Not working air condition and heating.
When I arrived at the hotel with my family we had a lovely welcome. At first glance, then went to our room and we liked our room and went out to wander the city, leaving our belongings. In the evening we returned to the room were cold and tired as well. Air conditioning was set to 22 degrees and not more heat. The radiator in the room did not work in any way.



  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel is definitely not anything special no matter what it is renovated. Bathroom real tight, room quite ok, even we were lucky and got a room with LCD TV, rooms with a view disaster, great objection under a lot of damage and no carpet. Breakfast average, breakfast room too small for such a large number of guests and a free table to wait. The hotel has free wifi and a good location which is definitely a plus, friendly reception staff are available 24/24.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for placing a comments with regards to your stay in our hotel! We are delighted to have read the compliments about the staff, it will definitely be shared with the teams. Our apologies for the way you have experienced some other aspects. I am excited to inform you we have already started to renew items that will update our product, which I am certain that it will contribute to the comfort of all our guests.

If you are returning to Amsterdam, we hope you are willing to give us another chance!

Best regards,

On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This hotel has a great location, right by a canal, and within easy walking distance to the big museums as well as the restaurant and entertainment district. However, the rooms are small and of rather average standard. The breakfast buffet is OK. There is a small gym in the basement but it is much nicer to go for a run in the nearby park. There is free wifi, but you have to renew it every 24 hours. The staff was overall friendly and service-minded, and I will definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We really appreciate your review and compliments with regards to the service we have provided and the location! Isn't it lovely to have the Vondelpark just steps away from the hotel? I do want to offer my apologies that we were not able to meet up to some of your expectations. Will you please give us another chance to prove you that we can?

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The bed was comfortable, but they didn't have much if any space for clothes storage (no drawers that I could find, just a few shelves in the closet that also had the room safe, shoe cleaning supplies, etc).

The shower also had one of those European half-glass doors dividing the tub from the room, which meant an awful lot of water ended up on the floor during any shower. The shower itself was nice and hot though.

The room AC fan was also always on when set to Auto, the room radiator was never able to warm the room well.

The food was good at the restaurant, although breakfast is pretty expensive for what you get - you may want to seek a cafe in the area unless you are in a hurry.

The location of this hotel is really great, it's very easy to walk a short distance to get a tram that goes all the way the center of Amsterdam, or sideways around the rings. The room design is also nice and the hotel is clean and well-maintained. It's just too bad about the temperature controls.

Also be aware that when they say check-in is at 3PM, they mean it! I was not able to check in much before 2pm on the day I got there. On the flip side they are very relaxed about check-out times.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
So sorry you have experienced the mentioned hardware issues during your stay and we were not able to meet up to your expectations! However I am glad to read to liked the great location NH Amsterdam Centre is situated.

Will you give us another chance to prove that we can exceed your expectations?

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director - Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Felt like I had been transported back to the 80's.
The rooms are beyond tiny (even by Amsterdam standards), the breakfast buffet (for 19 euros) was uneventful and the cleaning of the rooms was beyond basic.
Service was friendly and location fantastic, but there are better hotels in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Kate, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your compliments with regards to the service. However we truly apologize for not being able to meet up to your expectations. Would you please be so kind to send me an e-mail to further discuss your experience at the NH Amsterdam Centre (n.drullman@nh-hotels.com).

Yours sincerely,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#71 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.