We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #101 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed for 4 nights at the begining of March at this hotel. I may say it was the perfect choice.
The position was perfect. At walking distance from main attractions (museums, Heineken Brewery, Leidseplein, park). Very close to good restaurants or pubs.
The room was nice, pretty comfortable bed (but hard pillows), nice bathroom. A minus was represented by the dust on the floor. They should be a little more carefull when cleaning the room.
Breakfast was excellent, with a large diversity of food and a nice ideea of AntiOx food and drinks.
Staff was excellent and very helpfull
I trully recomend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
What a lovely review, thank you! We will most definitely share the compliments within the teams. We are grateful for the suggestion, as it gives us a chance to improve ourselves.

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    439
    172
    55
    36
See reviews for
90
382
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

First things first the high points
Big comfortable bed
Great location just of Leidsplein Sq
Clean room with great toiletries range
Free wifi

Compact bathroom but great shower.

Helpful staff

Didn't eat in as lots of options to eat out

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice hotel with fantastic staff. Would highly recommend. Get bus no.197 from airport - last stop.Breakfast has great choice and all you can eat. We ate in bar one evening and it was lovely also. Safe area.

Room Tip: Rooms in floor 5 seem to be newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We booked this on hotelzoo.com as a deal and were very sceptical before going.

We booked to go for 4 nights for valentines weekend and we had never been to Amsterdam before.

First impression, very central!just literally a 3 minute walk from the Leidesplein tram station and a vibrant square.

Reception was very polite and professional.
First impressions of room...great! very clean and simple. We had a balcony overlooking the Leidesplein..perfect!

We got a great nights sleep on the bed..very comfy!...the bathrooms all seem recently refurbished..all in great condition.

We asked for advice on where to go that evening to a restaurant at reception. They were so helpful and thankfully sold us 72 hour tram tickets which were an absolute god-send on our weekend and so thankful we got them on our first night!

No issues for the rest of our stay..rooms are sound proof. Maids never disturbed us the 4 days we were there however cleaned and left us towels everyday!perfect!

Overall highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the awesome comment you have placed! For your next romantic getaway, will you think about us?

Kindest regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director – Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Nice clean hotel, close to a good night life area. 20 minutes from red light district on foot. Easy to get to from the airport. Quick check in and polite staff.
Only slight moan is the view from the bedroom wasn't great as it was just a concrete wall. Would liked to have been offered a room with a street view but for the price I paid no big deal.

I'd stay here again for sure out of pure convenience and on a quality to value basis.

Room Tip: A room with a street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
We appreciate your review, thank you. We have loads of recommendations for awesome activities in Amsterdam left for you when you are planning to return!

Thanks also for the Room Tip. Advice from our side? Reserve a ''city view'' room to be assured of getting a room with awesome street view!

Sincerely,
On behalf of the Hotel Director Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman - Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I stayed here recently for three horrible nights. The room was not maintained. There were cigarette burns on the chairs in my supposedly smoke-free room, the dressers had large cracks, stains and chunks missing from all the edges and the room had recently been smoked in.
When I brought the duty manager up to see, she was obviously embarrassed. Honestly, my dorn room in college was in better shape. So, I expected to be moved to a better room. What I was offered was to pay more for a clean and serviceable room. HELL NO.

The bed felt like an army cot and the old tube tv was always snowing, even when showing warm locations.

In short, avoid this hotel. Stay in a hostel and have the same experience for 100€ less and friendlier people.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This Hotel is Excellent in every way great staff, the rooms are great and the hotel is in a great location got the 197 bus from the airport and it s only €5 each and stops outside Taxi costs about €30. If we go again we will return to this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments Stephen! The location is a strong asset of our hotel, also with regards to the transportation like you mentioned! I hope you’ll think of NH Amsterdam Centre on a next occasion.

Best regards,
On behalf of the Hotel Director Tim Lebbink
Nicky Drullman – Management Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#100 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.