We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel and breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
“Hotel and breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Excellent position of the hotel, close to all amenities and couple minutes walk to leidesplein with plenty of pubs, restaurants and coffee shops. €50 payable upon check in which is not mentioned prior to arriving at the hotel which is annoying. Mini bar in room but items are pricey, ate a Mars bar which cost €2.50 and a packet of crisps which cost €3.75. Used room service which cost a total of €20 for two chicken sandwiches with room delivery at €5. Used the spa service on site which is separate to the hotel cost €20 had use of whirlpool/jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and plunge pool. Didn't smell pleasant. Free use of gym equipment. Breakfast was very nice, continental style with everything you would expect and more. Room cleaned daily, clean towels, top up of bathroom accessories including shower gel and shampoo. They start doing room cleaning early. Tea bags, sugar and coffee available in room but no milk.... Bought milk from local shop and put it in the fridge. Stayed 13th till 16th February 2014.

Room Tip: No choice on room position, stayed in standard room, good size, poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    430
    173
    56
    36
See reviews for
93
385
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

My second trip to Amsterdam and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. It had modern rooms, well- furbished, the staff was courteous and responsive. Excellently located. Near the Rijks Museum, Vondelpark and Leidseplein.

The food was very good (even the 24 hour room service Pizzas) were great pizzas made by a chef!

The only problem (not a major one) is that the windows are not sound proofed so the sounds from the road outside can be heard.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kells, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Was delighted with the location of the hotel, it was in walking distance of pretty much everywhere in the city. The staff were courteous and the room was clean but a little on the small side. The bed was made daily and towels were replaced. Only complaint was a €50 deposit was required to be dropped into reception on check-in and we were assured we would receive it in cash on check-out. The staff never mentioned that a city tax would be deducted from it, roughly €20. I understand it was necessary but perhaps inform guests in future as I was unaware of such a thing.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 4 nights from the 12-16 Feb 14.
The room was neat and modern and of ample size. The location is only about 5mins from the Iamsterdam monument and 5 mins away from bars and restaurants.
It is about 10 min tram from the central station and about 20min walk.
Didnt eat in the hotel so no comment there.
The staff are extremely helpful and it was a lovely place to stay for our romantic weekend.

Room Tip: we had room 343, it over looked the garden and was at the back so shielded us from any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your comment and the nice compliment about our staff! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We hope you’ll think of us again for your next romantic getaway.

Kind regards,

Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Stayed here on business. Standard hotel. Nothing special but nothing wrong so worked out fine. Good free wifi but curious little things such as no milk with the tea, were annoying. Staff good and friendly so that is always good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We really appreciate the comment about your stay with us. We are delighted to read the service you have experienced, since we always aim to provide the best of it! Milk with tea is a typical British habit and therefore not a standard one in Holland. However it can always be provided on request ofcourse!
I hope to welcome you in the future, to show that we are able to meet and maybe even exceed your expectations.

Kind regards,

Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We traveled to Amsterdam last month for a 3 night city break and our first visit to Amsterdam and fell in love with it!

The hotel was such a lucky choice and we can't fault it at all. The service from all the staff we came across was excellent and everyone was really friendly. The hotel and rooms were spotlessly clean and the hotel and room had great amenities.

The location couldn't have been any better as it was within walking distance of all the attractions. The furthest being only about a 30/40 minute walk away. And the hotel is located just across the road from the Leidsepleine square with lots of restaurants and bars which was great for us also.

We would 100% recommend this hotel to friends and family and will definitely stay here when we visit amsterdam again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
t_lebbink, Manager at NH Amsterdam Centre, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for this great comment! Will you let us know if you are coming back to Amsterdam, because we have lots of recommendations left that we would like to share with you! Have a nice day.

Kind regards,

Tim Lebbink
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the north west
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had a really lovley time in Amsterdam it's a must and has something for everyone, hotel was situated in a lovley area populated with so many bars and restraunts it was hard to choose we did choose the villa Maria Steakhouse which we went back to the night after it was that good also the bulldog pub was amazing ,,, the hotel itself was very nice although the room we thought very small , but we didn't spend that much time in it to bother us , also wen we arrived we was asked to pay deposit of 50 pounds for the mini bar , wen we left a city tax had been deducted and I was given around 37 euros back ok if you've been forewarned which we hadn't so was annoyed should have been informed that we wouldn't be getting the actual 50 English pound you took . Bar area very nice and hotel very clean and modern would stay again .

Room Tip: Don't get one at the back we had office workers able to see straight in .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.