We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #101 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Had a nice stay here and welcomed by friendly and efficient members of staff.
The quality of the food at breakfast was very good and i found the room to be well serviced as well as clean and tidy. Nice..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    305
    439
    172
    55
    36
See reviews for
90
382
59
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Just got back from a long weekend and this was our first stay here. Upgraded to a superior room and was given one night upgrade free. The room was large and comfortable. The beds were a bit on the soft side but actually got a good night sleep on them. Had a room at the side of the hotel so it was really nice and quiet. Our only moan was that there was a nasty drain type smell in the bathroom. The air conditioning needs an overhaul and upgrading - it was difficult to use and a bit noisy. It is really well located near the museums, the luxury brand shopping streets and only a short tram ride to Dam Square and the city centre but not far to walk anywhere either. A 197 bus from right outside the airport took us to a bus stop just across the road from the hotel and for 4 euros each this was cheaper and nearer than getting the train into Central Station. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side and back of hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

It was clean,nice decorated and foods was delicious, Free shuttle ring to airport was nice service. I will back there when I gonna come back to Amsterdam. I advice for everybody who has not to stay in the downtown

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I honestly can't believe the disgusting, rude service I just received from this hotel. I stayed with them in May and had a perfectly pleasant, though anodyne stay. At the time I overlooked a few moments of uppity attitude from the staff. I decided I would give them another go in May this coming year.
Unfortunately I needed to call them to make a change to the dates of my booking.

The manager has just been ruder to me on the phone than I can believe. I am shocked and shaking. I'm very upset at her attitude to customers and she only she seemed interested in taking my money with interest at all in what I was asking her to do. She refused to give me her name.

She insulted me. She was deliberately obstructive. Then she hung up on me.

I don't think any customer deserves that kind of treatment either on the phone or in person. Please spare yourselves the agony of meeting the awful staff of this place. They do not care about your trip at all. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

This my first hotel @Amsterdam, very nice hotel, but the breakfast is average.
The location is perfect, just next to the Marriot Hotel, and in front of the tram.
The bed ia average, the bathroom is enough for us.
Overall, i will back next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

This was our second stay at the NH Amsterdam Centre. The staff were very helpful checking in, our room was spotless, very modern and very quiet. Breakfast buffet was dangerously delicious and the hotel is just down the street from the Rijksmuseum and the vanGogh Museum. Also, right in front of the hotel is the No. 1 tram line (that leads to the Central train station) that makes it so easy to go to the other museums along the way and to see the canals, etc. The hotel is also a short walk to the beautiful Vondel Park and a very chi-chi shopping neighborhood. So, altogether, this hotel, reasonably priced, is just ideal for Amsterdam visitors.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hard
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

the best place to spent a couple of nights in Amsterdam. Great Breakfast! They even put us some airballoons to your room with regards to the birthday of my wife!
Ill be come back again! Just the beds were a bite tooo soft but over all I can strongly recomment the NH at the mueseumsplein!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#69 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Amsterdam. at It is right across from the lively Leidse Square in the fashion and museum district, an area brimming with entertainment, dining and nightlife options. Amsterdam's characteristic canals and the city's top museums are just a short stroll from the hotel, as is the exclusive "PC Hooft" shopping street and the Vondelpark, a sprawling urban green space. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Heineken Brewery and the world famous Rijksmuseum, featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's "The Night Watch". The Museumsquare, home to several museums including the Van Gogh Museum, is just a ten-minute walk away from the NH Amsterdam Centre.. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel features 232 stylish standard and superior rooms as well as two elegant suites. The rooms come with a range of amenities, such as WiFi internet access, coffee- and tea-making facilities, air-conditiong, safe, minibar, iron and ironing board and a spacious work desk. Ristorante Sogno is one of the best Italian restaurants of the city. Enjoy the best of the traditional Italian gastronomy and experience the authentic Italian atmosphere. The Lounge 'L' in the lobby of the hotel is the perfect place to plan your day or unwind after seeing the sights. Relax with a coffee or cocktail while enjoying the views of the bustling Stadhouderskade and Leidse Squarehot. The hotel is within a three-minute walk to all tram connections and we offer direct airport shuttle service (surcharge). Plus, our knowledgeable staff is available to assist you with canal tour bookings and museum tickets. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel offers a relaxing Wellness Center and state-of-the-art fitness center, which are the perfect ending to your busy day, whether you're here for pleasure or have just attended an event in one of our meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.