We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“everything was perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #99 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“everything was perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the reception staff who were so friendly, and the lobby all looked very well decorated and maintained, I really liked the style of this hotel. The room was just perfect and I loved it had a fridge, I always like to pick up fresh milk for making endless cups of tea! We started our holiday with a massage based in the hotel itself and it was the icing on the cake for this holiday, started it off perfectly. The location was great, such a short walk to leidseplein square where there was so much going on and lots of restaurants. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    430
    173
    56
    36
See reviews for
93
385
60
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Very central location!
Room was on the small side, but we had a good rate and you don't spend much time in your hotel room while in Amsterdam anyway. Would definitely go back to the same hotel in a heartbeat. Organic market around the corner, canal buses stops close by, bus stop to the airport across the street... Museums, restaurants and parks at walking distance. Very good location! (Don't forget your adaptor if you need to use electrical appliances in your hotel room. :) The hotel has adaptors for cell phones though!)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel before, one year ago. We thought we would try again because we love the location. I suspect this will be our last stay. We booked a superior room, and on the first night had no working tv, no working bar fridge, no light above the sink/vanity. The view however was excellent and the room size and cleanliness very good. We were moved the next day to a supposedly same level room which clearly was an upgrade. I believe this hotel, again this year, tried to give us a lower quality room than we booked, hoping to get away with it. The breakfast here is very good but very pricy. You can do much better away from the hotel for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for room 209 if you book a superior king room!!!! Or ask for a street view not inside....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and would recommend the area highly though for the standard of the hotel it is very expensive . on saying that Amsterdam seems to be very expensive as a general rule in any ways . The room we were shown was at the back and was looking into another building so we paid an extra premium to be at the front which was appx £ 12 a day .. it was worth it in my eyes as enabled to pop back for a rest during days and have a nice view of real life outside - coffee etc was provided in rooms .. The rooms are basic but fine and the beds are good though the double beds are tiny and best to go for twins i think .. stick them together ..
In summary good hotels and great location just expensive for the standard of the hotel . The staff however can not be faulted and are very good ..

Didnt try the breakfast as its so expensive , better to go to the canals in front of the Rijks for break fast or the leidsplein even ..


good luck .

ps getting to amsterdam central walk over bridge and get the 5 tram line which run every 10 minutes , the one at the hotel entrance is every 40 minutes !! ish .. and it is 5 minutes to vondel park from the hotel and 10 the Rijks which is just amazing .. worth ot simply to visit the shop .. Go at 9-15 am no tickets or queue will be involved

Room Tip: front of hotel on upper floors 4 and above ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
strasbourg ,france
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Went there as a group.Ideal central location ,even near boats.All town can be made easily by foot.The hotel is of classical european standards .We did see no matters except that singular sentence during the check in "i will tell you if your room is free after you 've given your credit card number"(??).Rather modern inside outfit,clean hotel,staff of good level ,although roommates
don't say you hello.Rooms seemed very small to us, cleaning was made very late.Prices of massages are double of what we saw this year in Spain and Germany for the same service.Be very careful in Amsterdam about bycicles it is sincerely very dangerous__people don'tcare.
I recommand this hotel for what is is :a good well located standard hotel.

Room Tip: be careful even in hotel and all hotel eating areas about thieves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really don't understand where all the bad/mediocre reviews are coming from, before I visited this hotel I was looking on here thinking "what have I done!"
However I was pleasantly surprised when I had an excellent 2 nights stay in this hotel.
The bedroom was spotless, and a decent size! (maybe this is because I'm english?!)
The whole place is very modern, and this nonsense about dirty carpets in the hallways, I had a good look and they are barely noticeable!!!
The bed itself was really nice and soft but not too soft
The only small complaint I do have is there seemed to be some ants around the desk area but nothing to bother us too much.
When we checked in they tried to offer us breakfast which was quite expensive and you can get a great breakfast 2 minute walk away in Leidseplein square for cheap.
They also offered us to upgrade to a better room with a "view of the road", which we declined.
We then went to our room which had a view of the road anyway!!
The wifi personally didn't work for me but my boyfriend got his working fine for 24 hours.
The location is perfect, Leidseplein is a great spot to stay in Amsterdam as it is around 15 minute walk away from Red Light District and a 2 minute walk away from the Leidseplein square and Vondelpark which is a lovely place to visit night or day.
However, The italian restaurant in the hotel is a waste of time and far too expensive. I had a horrible lasagne that was made without tomato sauce, was dry, burnt, and had different fillings to what it said on the menu.
Dizzee Rascal was checking in just as we were checking out!
All in all would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel located near the Leidseplein and vondelpark for 4 nights. Checked in around midnight and the receptionist was very helpful and nice despite the time. I got a dbl room which was quite big and clean with very comfortable beds. Howevere the bathroom was very small compared to the room overall surface. Wifi was free and available everywhere in the hotel. They had amazing varying breakfasts and i d like to emphasize the fact that i could configure totally different menu each time. Self service of course. There is also a fitness facility wnich i didint use actually just check it and, as im pretty active person, found it a lil poor equipped. Location is just fine, lots of bus and tram stops around, lots of restaurants and so on. Oh, the girls in the reeption lept on smiling all the time, mybe its just their policy. Very good recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade, 7 | City Center, Vondelpark, 1054ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#72 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#74 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#99 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.