We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Save Saved
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 7, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After having been to Amsterdam many times over the years and staying in many of the so called tip top hotels, I can certainly say that the NH Amsterdam Centre is one of the best.

Me and my wife stayed here in the latter half of April for around 5 nights and have nothing but good things to say.

Starting with the receptionists who were always ready to help out with any queries. Nothing was too much trouble. We were also very happy with our room, even though there wasn't much of a view as they were full and only had a room facing the back wall.
Nevertheless, this was compensated by the fact that the room was comfortable and very cosy.

The location is an obvious plus as you're a stone throw away from the famous hip area of Leidsplein and all the other attractions like the Museums and trendy boutiques. Vondelpark is just round the corner.

The breakfast is ok,,nothing really to write home about. But its adequate.

In closing I'd certainly stay here again with no hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    300
    434
    171
    55
    36
See reviews for
88
381
59
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Yerevan, Armenia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I Stayed in this hotel for 4 days, I took deluxe room, it was so cosy, confortable, warm. The room was furnished very good, it had TV, clean wardrobe, shelf for keeping money, table with chairs, sofa, and all other things one need for staying. The bethroom was very clean and it had every nccessery things for bath, hot water was perfect. The stuff was very good, they are ready to answer to every question at every time you need. The breakfast was also very nice and you could have nearly everything you want, tea, cappucino, and wide variety of foods, fresh fruits and so on. The only thing I would like them to overview is the way wi-fi works, because it was very slow, I don't know maybe it was because of my place or I don't know why, and one more disadvantage was they don't have car parking, it was a real problem for us because if parking the car in somewhere else it would be so expensive-80 euros for an hour,,, So in spite of these two disadvatages I wouldlike to stay in this hotel again if I come to Amsterdam. <3

Room Tip: You can take any room you want because each of them was perfectly confortable, cosy and clean. Delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

There are NH hotels all over Amsterdam in some pretty prime locations and it may be this "cornering of the market" that has led to such complacency. Indeed, the location of this offering, close to Leidseplein and the museum quarter, is its only real plus point. Four star it is not. From the filthy corridor carpets, the 20 year old room TV, cramped bathrooms and scrappy breakfast to the worn, chipped furniture and comedy mini-bar, this hotel disappoints. There are far better choices all over the city that have not rested on their corporate laurels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I booked this hotel through priceline. It was a pleasant surprise to me. The room is bigger than other city center hotels I stayed before. The staffs are all very helpful.

At first I was concerned about the hotel was not close to the central train station. I usually take the train from the airport to the central train station, then take the tram to the hotel when I visit Amsterdam. Then I found out there was an express bus 197 which had one stop near this hotel. It is a lot more convenient than taking the train+ tram.

The only complain I had was the breakfast was too crowded. It just happened there was a big japanese tour group staying in the hotel and all members went to breakfast 7am sharp. Both days I went to have breakfast after them, the food was almost gone and the restaurent staffs didn't serve the food fast enough. One day when I went to get coffee in the middle of my breakfast, my seat was taken away....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is located in a very central area of Amsterdam (close to restaurant and pubs area nearby, train stations, flower market, shopping district and many Amsterdam attractions. All in all Amsterdam is a very nice city and if you are staying at the NH or nearby you can walk to most places without too much trouble. The hotel on the other hand is convenient. We were booked through a travel agent and got a very good offer for a double room (breakfast included)+a discount coupon for any other visit in the future. Room was tiny-tiny (clean but tiny) so you could not easily move from one side of the room to the other and so was the bathroom. The room does not lack of useful items (ironing table include+iron). Breakfast offered a wide choice of ingredients, eggs,sweets and pastries, salamies, hams, fruits, yoghurts and juices, tea, coffee etcc. Staff helpful and very nice was the fact that our flight departed at 21:00 and they kept our lugage in storage for the whole day after we checked out for no fee. Good value for its price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

they had the oldest tvs ive seen and the lounge come bar was the most uncomfortable ive sat in apart from that its a nice hotel.and very handy for the airport bus 197 witch stops on the bridge across the road

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I got a great deal on this hotel through priceline. The location is great as you can walk to most of the attractions or hop on the tram. They advertise themselves as 4 star. The room was a decent size with a nice bathroom and shower. But for a 4 star hotel, you'd expect a nice flat panel LCD tv, not a tiny 20" tube TV. The hot water was also very inconsistent, but the shower and shower head itself was very nice. They also advertise free wifi all over the property, which is true, but is so slow that none of my apps would run on it. Speed test showed it was equal to if not slower than dial up speed.

We tried their breakfast buffet 2 out of 4 days we stayed. If you purchase up front at check in, you will save a few euros. The price is still fairly high though. The buffet itself was excellent with a nice selection of pastries, cold meats, hot meats, eggs, fruits, coffees, juices, etc. I would recommend this hotel as long as you are not in need of fast wifi and can get a room at a significant discount from their advertised price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, Amsterdam 1054 ES, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#101 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Amsterdam. at It is right across from the lively Leidse Square in the fashion and museum district, an area brimming with entertainment, dining and nightlife options. Amsterdam's characteristic canals and the city's top museums are just a short stroll from the hotel, as is the exclusive "PC Hooft" shopping street and the Vondelpark, a sprawling urban green space. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Heineken Brewery and the world famous Rijksmuseum, featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's "The Night Watch". The Museumsquare, home to several museums including the Van Gogh Museum, is just a ten-minute walk away from the NH Amsterdam Centre.. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel features 232 stylish standard and superior rooms as well as two elegant suites. The rooms come with a range of amenities, such as WiFi internet access, coffee- and tea-making facilities, air-conditiong, safe, minibar, iron and ironing board and a spacious work desk. Ristorante Sogno is one of the best Italian restaurants of the city. Enjoy the best of the traditional Italian gastronomy and experience the authentic Italian atmosphere. The Lounge 'L' in the lobby of the hotel is the perfect place to plan your day or unwind after seeing the sights. Relax with a coffee or cocktail while enjoying the views of the bustling Stadhouderskade and Leidse Squarehot. The hotel is within a three-minute walk to all tram connections and we offer direct airport shuttle service (surcharge). Plus, our knowledgeable staff is available to assist you with canal tour bookings and museum tickets. The NH Amsterdam Centre hotel offers a relaxing Wellness Center and state-of-the-art fitness center, which are the perfect ending to your busy day, whether you're here for pleasure or have just attended an event in one of our meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.