We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip top hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #79 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Stavanger
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tip top hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We were a group of 9 friends with the only purpose of relaxing and fun. The hotel is located in just the rigth walkingdistance (3 min) from Leidseplein which is one of the best party places in Amsterdam. Friendly and helpfull staff. Clean nice rooms with a good bed, and a good breakfast.
Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    670
    225
    72
    47
See reviews for
167
615
87
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancashire.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I travelled to Amsterdam with my partner. I was very happy with the location of the hotel, just down from Liedesplein and around the corner from Vondelpark.

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Checking in was easy, the staff were very friendly.

We had a room on the front of the hotel. We couldn't hear any traffic or noise from the main road in front of the hotel. The rooms were cleaned everyday and the towels were changed daily. The bathroom was bright and spacious.

We found that all the main attractions were within walking distance, so we walked everywhere around Amsterdam. However, the trams were efficient and frequent directly in front of our hotel.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay in this hotel when we return to Amsterdam in the future. We booked via Priceline but obviously throught this website you cannot choose this hotel directly.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We got an amazing deal off of priceline for this hotel. Check in was very friendly and easy. Our room was so cozy and we loved the hardwood floors throughout.

The bed was also comfortable. We really loved the location and being next to Vondelpark. We decided to have breakfast included each morning and we are so glad we did. There was a great assortment of hot & cold dishes.

Getting to the airport was so simple! Literally right outside the hotel there's a bus to take you right to the airport for 4 euros. Can't be beat!

We would definitely stay here again when we return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I booked this hotel on lastminute.com as a secret hotel and to be honest, I was disappointed when I found it was this hotel as I had been convinced it was another of the NH group. However, couldn't change it as I'd already paid.

There were 3 couples in our group and we all thought the hotel was great. The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms were very clean and spacious. The bathroom was bright and spacious with a great shower and vanity area. The hairdryer was better than any other hotel hairdryer I had previously used.

Checking in and out was faultless with helpful & pleasant staff.

The hotel is very near the Riksmuseum, Vondelpark and Leidseplein although it is a 5-6 minute tram ride from the Red Light district and Central Station. We walked to Anne Frank's House which we are glad we did because it was definitely worth seeing. It is a lovely 10 minute walk from the hotel. (Tip: If possible, book your tickets online to avoid the queues. We arrived at 10.30am Monday and waited 40 minutes!)

The only downside was the number of trams we took at €2.60 per trip. Had we known we would have bought a 24/48/72 hour tram pass at Central Station which is €13 for 72 hours.

We would definitely stay in this hotel again on a future trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

While not right in the centre of Amsterdam, the hotel is in a good location, very easy to get to by tram from Central Station and a few minutes walk from Vondelpark (definitely worth a visit).

I thought the design was very nice and we did have a fairly good sized bathroom - but there is definitely variation between rooms of the same price. We travelled with friends and the twin room was a good size, but another couple in a double room only had a shower whereas we had a bath with shower. The beds were very comfortable and we both slept very well. Also the staff were lovely and check in / out was very easy.

A couple of other reviews mentioned some issues with noise - we were in a room right on the main road and didn't have any problems. If anything, the main problem was noise from people in the hall (plus people weirdly trying to get into our room a couple of times over the weekend!).

I would definitely recommend staying here, especially if you can get a good deal on Expedia.

The only downside was having to pay to use the Fitness Centre which I would expect to be included in the price of a 4 start hotel (so we didn't use it funnily enough).

The House of Bols is about 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel and definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel 4 times now. I cannot fault the location, staff, cleanliness and facilities, though to be fair the carpets and decorating in the corridors is now showing age. It is a short walk to Leidseplein and has convenient tram stops (pick up a travel pass at the Tourist Bureau in Schiphol or at Amsterdam Centraal station)

External noise can be an issue in the front, particularly on the 1st and 2nd floors. The back is quiter but has no view. On previous stays I have been on the 2nd or 4th floors, and had no noise issues at night. Unfortunately I had the misfortune this time to be given a room on the 1st floor. This seems to be the floor where they put school parties. If screaming kids banging doors at night is your scene then fine. Otherwise ask if there are alternative rooms or check the location of school parties before you sign in!

I'll stay here again no doubt, but be a little more aware.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay here! The hotel is absoulutely fablous. My wife and I enjoyed very much. It has large rooms, well we stay in a suite as we were upgraded, but rooms were great. Wife even got a massage...The square (Liedsplien)? is 5 min walk about where all the happening stuff is. We took the tram to the red light dist. which took about 10 minutes and the tram back to Central Station to catch the Thyls back to Paris...very easy...if you like to be close to everything, this is the place!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
NH City Centre Amsterdam
NH City Centre Amsterdam
#165 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#86 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#62 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Centre

Address: Stadhouderskade 7, 1054 ES Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#41 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#49 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#62 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious four-star NH Amsterdam Centre is conveniently located in the city centre of Amsterdam opposite the Leidse Square within walking distance of Vondelpark, Heineken Brewery, and the world famous Rijksmuseum featuring a slew of Dutch masterpieces, including Rembrandt's The Night Watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH Amsterdam Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.