We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It seems that these hotel owners steal your deposit and cancel your booking without prior warning” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victorie

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victorie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Victorie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #232 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It seems that these hotel owners steal your deposit and cancel your booking without prior warning”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We booked 3 nights in this hotel only to find that when we turned up on our first day that the hotel had cancelled our booking without giving us ANY notification. They took our deposit and would not return it and they were not 'fully booked'. Disgraceful behaviour and we had no chance of complaining as they barely spoke any English. I think we were not the only ones this had happened to as a guy came in shortly after us and asked why his booking had been cancelled. I don't like leaving bad reviews but this place should be avoided at all costs, unless of course you want to risk losing your deposit and then having to find another place to stay on the day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    50
    33
    11
    20
See reviews for
17
41
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Nice simple clean hotel. Only had B&B so cant comment on food, good breakfast selection. Only real dissapointment was that it was a 15 minute tram ride from the town centre. Unfortunately I was robbed on the trip including my room card and was charged 5 euros for a replacement, not much but i thought a little harsh. I didn't lose it, it was stolen.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

When I walked up to the hotel I got pretty nervous, the building was plain and it had an air of "crappy motel", the modern decorations from the pictures were a bit misleading. BUT, once we got to our rooms, we breathed a sign of relief. The rooms were NICE, there were some chips on the tables but I didn't mind. We had a nice, clean, comfortable hotel in Amsterdam. The hotel isn't in the city center, but you can take a tram 15 minutes. There is also a supermarket nearby, which is convenient. The hotel is newer, probably just built, it came with wifi (which didn't work for us, but probably will for others), small TV, great selection of free breakfast, and there were even mints on our pillow (aw). The owners who were an Asian husband and wife, were so kind and helpful. It seems like they are just starting out and running this whole place themselves. This hotel is great value (try to find a good deal, 65euros), it has great facilities, modern rooms, and it comes with PRIVATE bathrooms, which is extremely hard to find in Amsterdam for the price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that's not facing the street, this isn't a loud neighborhood, but street t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

it was a nice exp at the hotel. Though we were little surprised by the entrance of the hotel...but overall a good exp...the best part was it was near the tram line 4 and 12...so an easy accessibility towards the city centre and other places of interest...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On plus side:
good location (near Tram line 4 & 12) - easy access to the city center
quite cheap

Down side:
BATHROOM - small, cold (no radiators), always humid, just walls and nothing else (see pictures of other)
breakfast - nothing warm, except for coffe

Rooms are.. acceptable. Nothing special, but not terrific either. Have sings of being used before (scratches etc.).

After all - good, if you don't want to spend much money on hotel. Simply use it as a sleepover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good value hotel considering Amsterdam's accommodation offers. Hotels in Amsterdam (in the city center especially) are very expensive and old. So, we have chosen Hotel Victorie because it was cheaper than others (in the weekdays, not during the weekend), it had breakfast included and the rooms looked nice in the photos. After arriving at the hotel we've realized that it wasn't that close to the city center (20-25 mins by bike). That's quite a lot considering how small the city is.
The room was small, but that wasn't a problem. In reality, the furniture is not that nice (as in the pictures) but it was ok. The bed was big and comfortable. We had also a small balcony.
The bathroom was really really small. It was that small that you couldn't open the door fully.
The breakfast was ok.
Overall, it's an average hotel, but a good option for staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #232 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victorie 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.