We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well... better go somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Victorie to your Saves list
Hotel Victorie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #236 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dresden, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well... better go somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

On plus side:
good location (near Tram line 4 & 12) - easy access to the city center
quite cheap

Down side:
BATHROOM - small, cold (no radiators), always humid, just walls and nothing else (see pictures of other)
breakfast - nothing warm, except for coffe

Rooms are.. acceptable. Nothing special, but not terrific either. Have sings of being used before (scratches etc.).

After all - good, if you don't want to spend much money on hotel. Simply use it as a sleepover.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    51
    33
    12
    20
See reviews for
17
42
14
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Good value hotel considering Amsterdam's accommodation offers. Hotels in Amsterdam (in the city center especially) are very expensive and old. So, we have chosen Hotel Victorie because it was cheaper than others (in the weekdays, not during the weekend), it had breakfast included and the rooms looked nice in the photos. After arriving at the hotel we've realized that it wasn't that close to the city center (20-25 mins by bike). That's quite a lot considering how small the city is.
The room was small, but that wasn't a problem. In reality, the furniture is not that nice (as in the pictures) but it was ok. The bed was big and comfortable. We had also a small balcony.
The bathroom was really really small. It was that small that you couldn't open the door fully.
The breakfast was ok.
Overall, it's an average hotel, but a good option for staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If your looking for a place that's not in middle of the tourist trap then this is your place.
The food is really cheap and although you are a pretty decent walk from the center there are a variety of trams right on the doorstep.

We turned up outside after taking what seemed quite a long journey to Victorieplien (it was marked on the tram!) checked in pretty smoothly, went up some narrow stairs (no lift) to a room that was decently sized, very homely and with a really wide opening window. It seemed to have all the mod cons of a good hotel and included a fan too. I checked the bathroom out and it was fine, shower power/heat stayed nice and consistent and the room service was up to par.

The breakfast was included in the price and was decent - consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats, and fruit. hot and cold drinks were also available.

the price we paid, around 60 euro a night was pretty fair, maybe could be slightly cheaper.

all in all we had an excellent time here and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was reading the previous reviews and I can confirm that the construction is over :-)

Average hotel, price is acceptable during week nights. During weekend it seems to way to expensive for what they offer.

One thing that I don`t know if people pay attention to: the bed was very very big and comfortable. a big plus for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stupidly, I paid up front on arrival. Bad, bad, bad mistake.

The place was a construction site and I had to walk over power tools and building materials to get to the reception area. There was plaster dust absolutely everywhere, no plaster on the walls, loose wires and light fittings hanging out from the ceiling, chunks of plaster on the floor and large piles of building materials, power tools, buckets of gloop and large sheets of chipboard dumped in the lobby. The people at work were hammering away at high volume and making the most amazing amount of high pitched noise with their power tools.

This place wasn't just dirty: it was disgustingly filthy and I have never in my life seen such a revolting disgrace as this kip.

I did get to see the room briefly: the decor was tired, shabby and I had to check the bed-linen carefully to convince myself that they weren't already slept in, because it sure looked like someone already had. The hotel staff tried to get me to stay in a nearby apartment which was an overflow room associated with the hotel. This overflow room was no better than the main room (shabby, mould growing on the wall, stains on the ceiling, etc), and didn't make up for the fact that the main body of the hotel was so disgusting. I had intended to have a couple of meetings in the lobby / reception area, but it was too filthy for that.

The receptionist initially refused to put me through to the manager, saying that he wasn't around, then that he wasn't contactable by phone, then that he didn't take calls, then finally after 5-10 minutes of arguing agreed to ring him and got through first time. He point-blank refused to refund a single cent, despite the fact that they never gave any prior indication that the place was undergoing construction works, and despite the fact that their terms and conditions said that you could cancel with on day penalty. I stayed in another hotel after telling them I was cancelling my booking. It took me some effort afterwards to clean all the dirt off my shoes, bags and coat.

They screwed me out of €540 for 4 nights and refused point blank to refund me even a single cent.

Stay well clear.

Room Tip: stay away. seriously, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Victorie 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Expedia, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.