We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good location, great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victorie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victorie to your Saves list
Hotel Victorie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really good location, great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If your looking for a place that's not in middle of the tourist trap then this is your place.
The food is really cheap and although you are a pretty decent walk from the center there are a variety of trams right on the doorstep.

We turned up outside after taking what seemed quite a long journey to Victorieplien (it was marked on the tram!) checked in pretty smoothly, went up some narrow stairs (no lift) to a room that was decently sized, very homely and with a really wide opening window. It seemed to have all the mod cons of a good hotel and included a fan too. I checked the bathroom out and it was fine, shower power/heat stayed nice and consistent and the room service was up to par.

The breakfast was included in the price and was decent - consisted of cereals, breads, cold meats, and fruit. hot and cold drinks were also available.

the price we paid, around 60 euro a night was pretty fair, maybe could be slightly cheaper.

all in all we had an excellent time here and would definitely return

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    62
    45
    20
    22
See reviews for
28
49
18
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I was reading the previous reviews and I can confirm that the construction is over :-)

Average hotel, price is acceptable during week nights. During weekend it seems to way to expensive for what they offer.

One thing that I don`t know if people pay attention to: the bed was very very big and comfortable. a big plus for this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stupidly, I paid up front on arrival. Bad, bad, bad mistake.

The place was a construction site and I had to walk over power tools and building materials to get to the reception area. There was plaster dust absolutely everywhere, no plaster on the walls, loose wires and light fittings hanging out from the ceiling, chunks of plaster on the floor and large piles of building materials, power tools, buckets of gloop and large sheets of chipboard dumped in the lobby. The people at work were hammering away at high volume and making the most amazing amount of high pitched noise with their power tools.

This place wasn't just dirty: it was disgustingly filthy and I have never in my life seen such a revolting disgrace as this kip.

I did get to see the room briefly: the decor was tired, shabby and I had to check the bed-linen carefully to convince myself that they weren't already slept in, because it sure looked like someone already had. The hotel staff tried to get me to stay in a nearby apartment which was an overflow room associated with the hotel. This overflow room was no better than the main room (shabby, mould growing on the wall, stains on the ceiling, etc), and didn't make up for the fact that the main body of the hotel was so disgusting. I had intended to have a couple of meetings in the lobby / reception area, but it was too filthy for that.

The receptionist initially refused to put me through to the manager, saying that he wasn't around, then that he wasn't contactable by phone, then that he didn't take calls, then finally after 5-10 minutes of arguing agreed to ring him and got through first time. He point-blank refused to refund a single cent, despite the fact that they never gave any prior indication that the place was undergoing construction works, and despite the fact that their terms and conditions said that you could cancel with on day penalty. I stayed in another hotel after telling them I was cancelling my booking. It took me some effort afterwards to clean all the dirt off my shoes, bags and coat.

They screwed me out of €540 for 4 nights and refused point blank to refund me even a single cent.

Stay well clear.

Room Tip: stay away. seriously, stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I paid over the odds for this hotel, like any other during the big international broadcasting convention IBC at the RAI down the road: every hotel seems to push its prices up, and this one was no exception.

A fifteen-minute walk from the Amsterdam RAI (or quicker by tram), this hotel was in the middle of quite serious renovation. No elevator; a massive great hole where the elevator once was (covered lightly with a plastic sheet); stairs covered in building dust; a reception cut in half by a plasterboard separator; radiators leaning against the walls and emergency lighting everywhere.

The room, once I'd panted up to the fourth floor, was okay; clean, with a large bathroom. In the 1990s this place would have been very nice, so I suspect the rooms will be given a renovation too; I had a small CRT television in the corner of the room, with a few English channels on it (primarily the domestic BBC 1).

The free wifi didn't work. I didn't have breakfast (which apparently was going on during the rubble) and checkout was painfully slow.

For location for the RAI, it's not bad. When the hotel's finished, it'll be a good place to come. But perhaps they might let you know, when booking, if the hotel's going to be in pieces. It's the kind of thing that's useful to understand.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

If you're going to a convention at the RAI center, this place is a good option. It's walking distance from the RAI, or you can take the tram for a short ride.
The room was clean, the shower, wi-fi network and breakfast were pretty good. A negative point is that by the time of my visit (sep. 2012) there was a renovation going on, which was not mentioned during the resrvation process, so there was no elevator and the lobby and stairs were a true construction site.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normandy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

It is a chinese held hotel and the pictures do not reflect at all the hotel which is in "construction".
The wall are so thin that you participate to the discussion of your neighbors.
Impossible to use the mirror in the bathroom as there is almost no light.
Breakfast is terrible, even not a toaster, no butter, some slices of undetermined ham and green fruits.
In case of fire simply jump through the window, there is no safety light or possibility to escape.
I cannot believe that the Amsterdam administration allowed the place to stay open.
Staff is friendly but amazed as we are about the situation in the hotel.
You can generally find such kind of hotels in India or China but not for 250 Euros per night.
Of course they refuse to cancel or refund.
A shame!

Room Tip: Do not stay there!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my family for one night and because they already took the money from my card. Arriving there it was a construction area. We had to go to the 4th floor trough building waste. The bedsheet on one bed was full of rust stain. No responsible apeared, no one answered the complain emails. If you want to sleep in that conditions I just can recommend it, but if you want to have a nice stay in Amsterdam... stay away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#183 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 133 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Art Gallery Hotel
Art Gallery Hotel
#269 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Hampshire Hotel - Beethoven
#200 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
Hotel City Garden Amsterdam
#240 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#222 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Victorie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victorie

Address: Victorieplein 42, 1078 PH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Victorie 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Victorie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorie Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victorie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.