We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #254 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

And sometimes you pay just to get a bed in a shelter with a lock. Saying that, the hotel room had aircons which was a good luxury. Could have been a bit brighter though, as we had to turn every lamp and light on to get some level of luminosity in the place. Can be a bit tricky to find but is definitely a budget hotel.. so can help keep the cost of your trip down.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum/Zuidwest and for the the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and airconditioning are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    37
    59
    20
    32
See reviews for
15
62
11
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Last minute holiday to Amsterdam with a friend, we were left with this the easiest and cheapest hotel we could find at such short notice. Miles away from the tram stop which is also miles away from the city centre. 35€ in a taxi from the airport 25€ in a taxi from the centre. First night was fine room wasn't cleaned on second day which didn't bother me. We ten had water literally pouring in from the ceiling everywhere starting at the edges moving towards the middle. So we were moved rooms, then we returned on the third day to find out all my friends money had been stolen, we presume by a cleaner because the room had been cleaned and no one else had access, the reception very nicely told us to go to the police cause they weren't going to do anything for us, it was near the end of our trip what can we do in a day? The staffs response seemed like it was a regular thing. We were then woken up the next day by a cleaner who burst into our room while we were still asleep, who I told to get out and then continued to knock on the door and I told to leave us alone. How rude waking up customers on their holiday. I told the cleaner later not to go in our room at all. Came back later to both of the beds made but rubbish still on the floor. The first bathroom stank, the room was covered in dust. My friend also is covered in bed bug bites. The reception staff were very nice, the food in the restaurant was extremely slow. Never again, felt like I was trapped in prison with the fashion hotel across the street

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear GKirby1,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Our goal is to ensure that all our guests leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. Accordingly your review has been discussed by the management of the Bastion Hotel Groep. Please accept our sincere apologies for the fact that your room wasn't cleaned as precisely as should be, we have very strict procedures. We also regret the theft from your room, the staff would have helped you if that was possible, however you have to report the incident yourself at the police station.

The leakage was an unforeseen situation in which the hotel have provided an appropriate solution and has offered an alternative room for you.

We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Not very close to city centre, but its even better in You want to explore city every second time choosing different route. ;) Tram stop is minutes walk. Clean rooms, looks like quite area. Watch for safe - read manual before using as its little bit different and easy to lock Your content without password :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We - my wife and I were at this hotel for our 17th anniversary and I must admit that it was really wonderful. Rooms are clean, tidy, staff friendly and helpful. I booked room several months in advance via Booking.com and got it quite cheap. The only bad thing is the hotel access to public transport - you need to walk for a bit - everything else is great - strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Lift just to fifth floor (out of six)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest.
We would like to congratulate you with your 17th anniversary! We are pleased that you where at the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum - Zuidwest.

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed here for kings day weekend,after reading other reviews was slightly concerned about the hotel but after staying can reassure others it was ok. The staff were friendly. The room was basic but clean. One train stop from the airport and close to the tram stop which was a short ride into the city on tram no.1.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice Kingsday in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, free parking and a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Booked with Thomas Cook we thought we were going to the Bastian Hotel centrum noord, however we were booked into this one instead. After reading the sparkling reviews we made the mistake of assuming that this chain of hotel would be very similar to an English Premier Inn, basic, clean and cost worthy. How wrong we were, to begin with the reviews we read we're not for this hotel at all, as this hotel was far from the main centre of Amsterdam and the tram basically drops you off in what I can only describe as the middle of a central reservation on a dual carriageway. You then have to negotiate stairs down a subway walk under a bridge and cross a few roads to find the place. We thought we were staying in a deluxe room.....wrong again...the only rooms this hotel have are comfort rooms...small, twin bedded and if your lucky enough not to be high up and facing the dual carriageway, semi quiet. The double or lack of double glazing is hideous...we were on the road side and kept awake all night due to police sirens traffic etc.There is a restaurant facility but beware ordering on a Sunday evening as everything we originally wanted was sold out. We did however have a steak meal which was adequate and around 30 euros for 2 people. The young lady on reception was very apologetic and tried her best to rectify whatever she could, she was the only crowning glory of this stay as the following morning we checked out early to find another hotel that was nearer to the centre and had better links and double glazing and not high rise. If your a bunch of young lads ( and there were a lot of them staying there) looking for somewhere cheap to stay, go to town get drunk enough not to hear the traffic this is the perfect place for you.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest and for your review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the quality of the room was not what it should be. We acknowledge that the things you have mentioned contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel.
Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We paid 164 euro for the room + 15 euro for the parking + 14 euro per person for breakfast. The room was very small, with 2 single beds, and a small very basic bathroom. The tv, also very small, did not work. They promised to look at it, but nobody showed up. In the bar, we drank a martini, which was so small, measured like for a whiskey, so just a few drops. One really has to be desperate to come back here, it really is stealing money from the clients.
Compared to the many hotels we have visited, price-quality is a disaster.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum-Zuidwest on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you very much for that!

We would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations. Daily the prices are subjected to demand. The pricing will fluctuate accordingly.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#209 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 412 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#215 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 670 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#239 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #254 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum- Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Centrum / Zuidwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.