We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, poor location.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Save Saved
You added Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #248 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good hotel, poor location.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After arriving at Amsterdam airport we decided to take the slow train to Lelylaan as detailed on the hotel website. From here we transferred onto a tram and got off at Surinemeplein, it took us a little while to actually find the hotel (located opposite the larger Fashion hotel) but with a map it would have been easier. Upon arrival we were welcomed by a friendly receptionist who provided us with a city map, wifi code and information on transport (extremely helpful!) The hotel was clean, modern, spacious and comfortable. It has all the amenities expected of both a 3 or 4 star such as a fridge and television. The only issue with this hotel is the location, after booking this last minute we did not realise the distance from the city centre (our fault we admit), and it does take at least a 30 minute journey including a fast paced walk to the tram stop to reach anywhere. As tourists only stopping here for a short time this was rather annoying as it wasted valuable time and meant that to arrive at a destination on time we had to wake up significantly earlier. Overall, we would not stay here again owing to the location - if visiting a city centre the best option is always to stay in the middle, however the hotel was itself nice. We did not eat the breakfast, we believed it was overpriced and found cheaper options when we made our way into the centre.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    44
    18
    24
See reviews for
12
46
9
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sonthofen, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest is a reasonably priced, orderly if not very exciting hotel a little way outside of the city. The welcome was friendly, the room small but correctly kept with comfortable beds and a clean bathroom. We did not eat here because we thought Amsterdam centre would offer more possibilities. We also did not breakfast here as the extra price was not acceptable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

The hotel and room was fine (little small)...nothing special but it was cheaper than others closer into the city center. The hotel was relatively close to the airport which is good but seemed rather far from anything else we wanted to do. Getting to the tram was a pretty decent hike and sometimes you walked through areas that felt "sketchy." The staff were fine - I wouldn't call them friendly but I wouldn't say they were rude either. The trip was excellent but it had nothing to do with staying at this hotel...it was literally used at night as a place to sleep. If that's all your looking for along with a cheaper rate then this might be for you. Next time however I believe I will pay the extra cost for a hotel closer into the city center in an effort to spend more time doing the things I want and less time on the tram. It may not have even been that far but it felt like it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Took us a while to find this as after getting off the tram we had to walk in a U shape to reach it, once you know the way it is about a 10minute walk. Takes what seems like ages on the tram to get into the top of the city near the train station etc though.

From the outside it looks like a prison of some kind!

However inside the hotel is really nice.
There is a small room you can smoke in (tobacco only - obviously ;) a couple of vending machines, a waiting area, and a posh looking bar we didn't end up using.

The staff were a little disintereted but fine, the left luggage room was just a walk in cupboard with a shower attached and a door to a laundry room(!?) and very cramped but it did the job so we could explore whilst they got the room ready for check in.

The bedroom was bigger than expected, with plenty of space for cases. The bed was comfy, and the TV had a couple of English channels as well as the Dutch ones.

I can't remember much about the bathroom so that can only mean there was nothing wrong..
It must have been good enough for me to get ready in everyday and apply all my makeup, so space for lots of cosmetic bags :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #248 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum- Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.