We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks can be deceiving” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest to your Saves list
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Took us a while to find this as after getting off the tram we had to walk in a U shape to reach it, once you know the way it is about a 10minute walk. Takes what seems like ages on the tram to get into the top of the city near the train station etc though.

From the outside it looks like a prison of some kind!

However inside the hotel is really nice.
There is a small room you can smoke in (tobacco only - obviously ;) a couple of vending machines, a waiting area, and a posh looking bar we didn't end up using.

The staff were a little disintereted but fine, the left luggage room was just a walk in cupboard with a shower attached and a door to a laundry room(!?) and very cramped but it did the job so we could explore whilst they got the room ready for check in.

The bedroom was bigger than expected, with plenty of space for cases. The bed was comfy, and the TV had a couple of English channels as well as the Dutch ones.

I can't remember much about the bathroom so that can only mean there was nothing wrong..
It must have been good enough for me to get ready in everyday and apply all my makeup, so space for lots of cosmetic bags :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    46
    18
    29
See reviews for
14
49
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff were friendly and helpful but ...This was rated as 3* but basic! We knew it was cheaper but put that down to being a fair bit out of town. However...
No proper soap, hair dryer, Kleenex. The rooms had no drawers or places for luggage. Two shelves and a few hangers. There was no good lighting and we had to open the bathroom door to get any light to set the safe. The kettle took 14 minutes to boil.

The rooms smelled of damp and the corridors of BO.

A reasonable budget hotel...not the 3* we were expecting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was just 10 minutes from Schiphol airport but makes it convenient, but beware a taxi there cost me 30 euros. So add a return back to the airport and it proves expensive. The hotel itself is nothing special, clean, ok room and bathroom. The staff were friendly and I arrived late due to delayed flights, but the receptionist took the time to make me a sandwich. Top marks for that.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the side of the road junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Helaas hebben wij niet voldaan aan uw verwachtingen. Ik bied hiervoor mijn verontschuldigingen aan en verzeker u ervan dat uw opmerkingen zullen worden mee genomen in de plannen. Wij nemen uw opmerkingen zeer serieus en ik hoop dan ook dat u mijn excuses accepteert .

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Europe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest is not exactly in the city centre. It is more at the highway around the city center. But you can use public transport to get to the city centre. It is close to the fashion trade district and has several businesses in the area, making the hotel an okay stay for people doing business in Amsterdam.

The hotel is basic. There are 2 parking locations in the area of the hotel. 1 close and 1 with a 1 minute. The first one is small, the second one bigger. The first one feel relatively safe, the second one a bit less. (As you have to walk under a bridge to get there). For 15 euro per night you should expect better parking facilities.

The room is basic and has what you need. Nothing more. The room could be cleaner, but it is just acceptable. The room has 2 single beds which are comfortable. The TV channels were bad. The bathroom sufficient.

The staff who work are mixed in their hospitality. Some are okay and some are really good. The food was good. So if you use the hotel as a base for sleeping, breakfast and diner, you can not do too much wrong. But it is not a hotel to stay in the whole day.

All in all an average stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum- Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.