We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and like thousands of other hotels” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest to your Saves list
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Caernarfon, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Convenient and like thousands of other hotels”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel was just 10 minutes from Schiphol airport but makes it convenient, but beware a taxi there cost me 30 euros. So add a return back to the airport and it proves expensive. The hotel itself is nothing special, clean, ok room and bathroom. The staff were friendly and I arrived late due to delayed flights, but the receptionist took the time to make me a sandwich. Top marks for that.

Room Tip: Don't take a room on the side of the road junction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Helaas hebben wij niet voldaan aan uw verwachtingen. Ik bied hiervoor mijn verontschuldigingen aan en verzeker u ervan dat uw opmerkingen zullen worden mee genomen in de plannen. Wij nemen uw opmerkingen zeer serieus en ik hoop dan ook dat u mijn excuses accepteert .

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    30
    49
    18
    29
See reviews for
14
49
11
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Europe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
381 helpful votes 381 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest is not exactly in the city centre. It is more at the highway around the city center. But you can use public transport to get to the city centre. It is close to the fashion trade district and has several businesses in the area, making the hotel an okay stay for people doing business in Amsterdam.

The hotel is basic. There are 2 parking locations in the area of the hotel. 1 close and 1 with a 1 minute. The first one is small, the second one bigger. The first one feel relatively safe, the second one a bit less. (As you have to walk under a bridge to get there). For 15 euro per night you should expect better parking facilities.

The room is basic and has what you need. Nothing more. The room could be cleaner, but it is just acceptable. The room has 2 single beds which are comfortable. The TV channels were bad. The bathroom sufficient.

The staff who work are mixed in their hospitality. Some are okay and some are really good. The food was good. So if you use the hotel as a base for sleeping, breakfast and diner, you can not do too much wrong. But it is not a hotel to stay in the whole day.

All in all an average stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

At the outset, accommodation is damn expensive. If you are travelling on a budget, this city throws you far away from the city centre if you want a decent play to stay. There are hostel, B&B options close to Centraal but for a 3* hotel you have to move out.

Fortunately, we found this one which is very conveniently located along Tram routes 1 & 17 which takes you straight to Centraal station. The only hitch is the closest station at Derkinderenstraat (as it seems on a map) is not accessible by foot. The one which does is Surinamplein is a comfortable 8- 10 min walk away. The tram takes about 12-15 mins to reach Centraal station/Dam.

Rooms are extremely small but very nicely done. Rooms overlooking the A10 motorway have very good views. It looks lovely after dark. Bathrooms are small but nice and clean.

Breakfast was not complimentary. For 14 Euros the breakfast spread didn’t look worth it. We chose to eat out.

Front desk staff is extremely jovial and well conversant with English which we did face problem with elsewhere in the city.

All in all, a decent place to stay in an expensive city which is also conveniently located.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking A10 motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I was running the Amsterdam Marathon in October & needed somewhere cheap & cheerful for 1 short nights sleep, near the Olympic Stadium. This hotel ticked all the boxes. Yes it was rather rough around the edges, but all I needed was a bed for a few hours, as it was a quick trip to Amsterdam!

The only room they had available when I originally booked was a smoking one which wasn't ideal, but the open window helped dissipate the smell. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom fine & the room war & a decent size. Quiet area aswell.Breakfast in the morning was just what I needed - big variety & no portion limits - perfect for pre-race stuffing!

The best thing though was that I asked to leave my luggage at the hotel to come & collect it after the race before catching the Eurostar back. When I got to the Hotel after the race, I casually asked if they might happen to have a room available for a quick shower - which I would pay them for. They gave me a room for as long as I needed it for, free of charge - so kind - total lifesavers!!!

Room Tip: If you don't smoke, make sure you specify you definately don't want a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The rooms are of good size, well appointed and clean. We had twin beds, shower only. Ladies be warned No HAIDRIERS IN ROOMS. Reception has a small quantity. Excellent free WIFI in rooms. Fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Excellent breakfast in terms of quality, quantity and variety. I am coeliac and they even had gluten free bread. The first night of our stay we ate in the hotel restaurant, open until 11:00pm, good food. The staff are very good. The hotel is a tram ride from the city centre. Easy five minute walk to tram stop.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The moment you enter this hotel, the first thing you’ll notice is the smell of cigarette smoke. Next to the front desk there is a smoking room, which causes this awful smell. Once you arrive at the front desk it is immediately clear that the employees aren’t the sharpest knives in the drawer. Although not unfriendly, they don’t make you feel welcome.
The depressing rooms are sober and the beds are a bit uncomfortable, the bathroom is very basic, with a sink a mirror a toilet and a shower with a shower curtain.
The breakfast is ok, with more than enough to choose from.
Overall this place is nothing special and to be honest a bit overpriced for what you get. If your just looking for a place to sleep and nothing more, the Bastion might be an option, if you desire something more comfortable, there are better alternatives nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest

Address: Hendrikje Stoffelstraat 60 | Nachtwachtlaan, 1058 EV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum- Zuidwest offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Hotel Amsterdam/Centrum-Zuidwest lies along the A10, a milestone away from the Rembrandtpark. The hotel is therefore well accessible by car. Parking at the hotel costs 15 euro per day. By tram guests will reach the beautiful historical centre within 10 minutes. The Airport Schiphol is only 10 minutes away from the hotel. Rooms The 90 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, airconditioning, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage At Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Zuidwest guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 Till 09.00 And in weekends from 07.00 Till 10.30. The atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 Till 23.00 For lunch and diner. When guests have a very busy schedule they can ask the hotel staff about the possibilities for a lunch package. The cozy hotel bar is opened till 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Amsterdam/Centrum Zuidwest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.