We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel to your Saves list
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Clean and Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It's an OK place to stay if you're on business; 5 minutes from Schipol by transfer bus. Yes, it's on an industrial estate miles from anywhere, so are most of the hotels around these parts unless you go into Amsterdam city itself. The soundproofing was fine, I got a few good nights sleep and the staff are fine about giving you liquid milk for in the room. I wouldn't stay there with the family, because unless you are just using it as bead and board there isn't much to do, but I'd happily say there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    82
    30
    33
See reviews for
30
71
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

this hotel is located 10min walk from the metro that brings you anywere, it's located in a business park. it's not a very nice area. And dangerous too if you need to cross the road.But it has got private parking for free, you can't find that much in Amsterdam. And the rooms are very lovely and the staff is very friendly. The wifi works very well.
will stay again and again. Good price quality

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel and for the the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free parking are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilanova i la Geltru, Spain
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Firstly, I must say this was the only hotel available in the whole of Amsterdam last weekend, absolutely everything was booked up. It is miles out of the centre so it isn't the sort of place where you can pop back and get changed and then go out for dinner and come back later, once you are out in the morning, you have to stay out all day and go back at night. It's a long walk to the Overamstel metro station and anyone older or with mobility problems shouldn't even think of booking here. If you enjoy a walk along a dual carriageway under two rail bridges to get to the train station then go for it. It's completely different if you have a car. If you are staying here with your own transport it might be marginally better.

The photos others have posted on here show it all. It's tired and dated and shouldn't be a three star. I had to leave a deposit of 10 euros for a hairdryer. There's no soap, just tiny bottles of gel and shampoo. No shelf in the shower to put any bottles on, a small lip of about 2mm separates the shower from the floor so the curtain billows out and the whole floor is soaked and they don't give you a bathmat.

Air conditioning, tv, heating, mini fridge (switch off at night as it's noisy). Kettle and tea bags, instant coffee, sugar and powdered milk. Free wifi, decent quality signal.

My husband was here for work and I joined him for the weekend and he had one "meal" of pasta and a beer on one of the nights before I got there and it was over 20 euros and disgusting (he said). There is a petrol station next door where we bought a few things, drinks and snacks anyway but nothing hot. He told me it was the worst hotel he had ever stayed in (for business) so before I got there I thought he was kidding and really it was going to be lovely, but it wasn't. It was a very disappointing anniversary weekend. Customer service sadly lacking too.

Others have said "ignore the bad reviews" but this is my view of my three days there, my husband has now moved to a hotel in the centre now all the tourists have gone after the weekend and I know it will be better. The cost of the room was over TWO HUNDRED euros a night for something which was a room like a hostel but because it had wifi and a tv, fridge etc, they call it a 3 star hotel. It is not a hotel to use to visit the centre as a tourist using public transport. If you want a taxi back here at night it will be around 20 euros, I wouldn't come back here late at night on my own crossing a deserted industrial estate and walking along a main road under bridges, so if you are a single female tourist, I'd look for somewhere else. Check out on the internet how far out this place is. My husband got lost coming back on his own on the 1st night and would still be wandering round if he hadn't got gps on his phone.

For 200 euros a night I expected a LOT more, this was like a truckers' motel. Never again.

Room Tip: Room 237 looks out over the petrol station, other photos on here look better so maybe something high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We wish to thank you for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam / Amstel and for your elaborate comments.As per your comments, we appreciate to get in contact with you and ask you to contact the hotel to transfer you to the headquarter of the Bastion Hotel Groep.

Once again we wish to thank you for your comments and we hope to be in contact with you soon.

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here over Easter weekend. Six of us went. Check in was quick and effcient and the staff very helpful. Without even asking they had put our 3 rooms together which was very helpful. We got to our rooms to find chocolate bunnies on the pillows which was a nice touch. The beds we all found to be extremely comfortable and we all slept really well.

We were given information on how to get to the metro and which line to take. Easy 5 min walk to the tube and 10 mins into Amsterday city centre. The hotel does do food (there isnt really anything apart from the garage to get anything to eat close by). There was no prices on the info in the room and we asked the restaurant for a price list. burger and chips was about 13euros. Bottle of house wine 15euros which isnt bad for a hotel. The hotel is next to the ring road and so easy to get to and out to other places like the tulip fields (which were stunning). So if you drive to can get to other places easily.

The rooms are quite small but to be honest we just needed a base and it was fine.

If you want to pay a lot more money then stay in the centre but this hotel was good value, clean, easy access to the centre of Amsterdam and very friendly and helpful staff. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam amstel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

The Bastion Hotel Group strives to provide a great service by just doing something extra for our guests. To our guests we have done something extra for you this Easter. You may enjoyed a surprising breakfast buffet and we also have surprised you and our other guests with a surprise on the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

After myself and my partner had been to Amsterdam previously - we decided we would come for New Years Eve 2013. We were greeted at the Airport with a private taxi supplied by the Bastion which got our five day break off to a great start. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were nothing but helpful and polite and asked if we had any specific requests or needs. As it was the holiday period they supplied each guest with details of public transport running across the new year and directions to the nearest Metro station, which was a short five minute walk away. When we got to our room it was immaculate, with comfortable beds, a powerful shower, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilites. The bar served a wide range of beers and spirits and we were constantly supplied with complimentary snacks. Whilst at the hotel we managed to experience a fairly hungover New Years Day breakfast buffet! There was a huge variety of cold and hot food and we were given free Prosecco to welcome in the New Year! Our room was tidied every afternoon with all the towels, cups and refreshments replaced - as well as the sheets being changed every day. We will be back this New Year and we will definitely be back to the Bastion!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, free parking and a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

Very nice to hear that you are definitely coming back next year. I recommend you to book early, because then the prices are very reasonable.

We are looking forward to celebrate a new, healthy and succesfull 2015!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Service was terrible. Behavior of the staff unprofessional. The breakfast was very expensive and we had a problem in check out with the bar bill. Nearest metro station 2,5 km. Take taxi from there 50€ minimum to the town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you very much for that!

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the staff was unprofessional. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,
Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was clean, warm and comfortable. One issue that we had was that the stair bannisters were being painted, we didn't understand the signs which were in Dutch, my husband got paint on the sleeve of his jacket. Perhaps international signs would have prevented this. Needless to say the reception staff were really helpful in trying to remove the paint. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room by the station but were not trouble by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review! Thank you very much for that.

We are very sorry that you got paint on the sleeve of your jacket. The next time we will mark it also in English.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, airconditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, airconditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. Its close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.