We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont know what people are moaning about” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel to your Saves list
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Oxford
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Dont know what people are moaning about”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed here over Easter weekend. Six of us went. Check in was quick and effcient and the staff very helpful. Without even asking they had put our 3 rooms together which was very helpful. We got to our rooms to find chocolate bunnies on the pillows which was a nice touch. The beds we all found to be extremely comfortable and we all slept really well.

We were given information on how to get to the metro and which line to take. Easy 5 min walk to the tube and 10 mins into Amsterday city centre. The hotel does do food (there isnt really anything apart from the garage to get anything to eat close by). There was no prices on the info in the room and we asked the restaurant for a price list. burger and chips was about 13euros. Bottle of house wine 15euros which isnt bad for a hotel. The hotel is next to the ring road and so easy to get to and out to other places like the tulip fields (which were stunning). So if you drive to can get to other places easily.

The rooms are quite small but to be honest we just needed a base and it was fine.

If you want to pay a lot more money then stay in the centre but this hotel was good value, clean, easy access to the centre of Amsterdam and very friendly and helpful staff. We would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam amstel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

The Bastion Hotel Group strives to provide a great service by just doing something extra for our guests. To our guests we have done something extra for you this Easter. You may enjoyed a surprising breakfast buffet and we also have surprised you and our other guests with a surprise on the room.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    82
    30
    33
See reviews for
30
71
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

After myself and my partner had been to Amsterdam previously - we decided we would come for New Years Eve 2013. We were greeted at the Airport with a private taxi supplied by the Bastion which got our five day break off to a great start. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were nothing but helpful and polite and asked if we had any specific requests or needs. As it was the holiday period they supplied each guest with details of public transport running across the new year and directions to the nearest Metro station, which was a short five minute walk away. When we got to our room it was immaculate, with comfortable beds, a powerful shower, a mini fridge and tea and coffee making facilites. The bar served a wide range of beers and spirits and we were constantly supplied with complimentary snacks. Whilst at the hotel we managed to experience a fairly hungover New Years Day breakfast buffet! There was a huge variety of cold and hot food and we were given free Prosecco to welcome in the New Year! Our room was tidied every afternoon with all the towels, cups and refreshments replaced - as well as the sheets being changed every day. We will be back this New Year and we will definitely be back to the Bastion!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. Our hotel is perfectly situated for guests who want to experience Amsterdam. Close to Amsterdam, free parking and a 10 minute drive to the city centre.

Very nice to hear that you are definitely coming back next year. I recommend you to book early, because then the prices are very reasonable.

We are looking forward to celebrate a new, healthy and succesfull 2015!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Service was terrible. Behavior of the staff unprofessional. The breakfast was very expensive and we had a problem in check out with the bar bill. Nearest metro station 2,5 km. Take taxi from there 50€ minimum to the town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam Amstel on Tripadvisor. We would like to thank you very much for that!

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the staff was unprofessional. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,
Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel, the room was clean, warm and comfortable. One issue that we had was that the stair bannisters were being painted, we didn't understand the signs which were in Dutch, my husband got paint on the sleeve of his jacket. Perhaps international signs would have prevented this. Needless to say the reception staff were really helpful in trying to remove the paint. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room by the station but were not trouble by any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review! Thank you very much for that.

We are very sorry that you got paint on the sleeve of your jacket. The next time we will mark it also in English.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Before travelling, I read a lot of reviews regarding this hotel and I must say, I disagree with many of the bad reviews in my experience.

We travelled here in Nov 2013 for a show in the Ziggo Dome.

Firstly, very easy to get to from anywhere! From Schiphol, get the train to Amsterdam-Zuid, then jump on a Metro towards Spaklerweg and get off at Overamstel. Then a simple straight 5-6 min walk which is safe and secure.Then to get to City Centre. Just get the Metro to Spaklerweg and head towards Amsterdam-Centraal. You can also get to Amsterdam Arena/ or Ziggo Dome if you head towards Gein.

On arrival, we were greeted by very friendly staff who were more than happy to help. We stayed on the 5th floor, and chose to book a deluxe room (which was €26 more, but worth it). The deluxe rooms just have nicer things. Nicer TV, good bathroom, and all clean.

One thing that people complained about, was that you had to use your key-card to access the lift, and all hallways. I actually like this idea, it's very safe and secure.

We did not have food in this hotel as it was very expensive. The Petrol Station/ Car Garage outside provides cheap food and is just perfect.

We had one issue. On departure, the fee was approx. €62 over our expected fee. I consulted reception and it turned out that they were trying to charge us for breakfast which we were never offered, nor did we have. I displayed my booking.com booking details form where it clearly stated 'NO BREAKFAST' and displayed the total charge. The problem was quickly rectified and we were not charged. The staff member was quite rude but oh well, we all have bad days.

Overall, cheap, clean and nice. We got it for a great price and we will possibly return in 2014.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room. Slightly more expensive, but well-worth it for a good experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Short weekend stay at the Bastion Deluxe hotel in Amsterdam.

Check-in was a bit messy as there were 3 receptionists, only 1 of them actually taking care of the guests.

My room was on the 10th floor, first impression was that the room was quite worn out and not that clean. Bed was very low and very soft, kind of strange feeling.

Bathroom was basic, no frills, but also not very clean.

Waked up at night many times due to lots of noise in the rooms surrounding me.

Free parking - this is a plus in A'dam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Staff is somewhat friendly and helpful but check-in was very slow.upon entering room hallway was dirty and smelly. Once we entered room we were shocked by the size! The rooms are very, very small for the price. Beds were old small and very uncomfortable. But the worst was Sat morning when we woke to no hot water. When I approached staff about it they seemed unconcerned and really didn't seem to care. When I asked when it would be fixed the said they had called someone. Then to add insult to injury I went to the bar area and asked for a glass of ice and a coffee that was on the bar top in a pump. I got a coffee and ice the person working the bar said that would be 3 euro. I told them how dare you even ask me to pay when part of my stay includes a hot shower!!!!! Extremely rude I thought. Its free parking but no hot water was not worth it.Will never stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, airconditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, airconditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. Its close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.