We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel to your Saves list
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent hotel for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

The hotel is a 10 minutes to walk to the nearest metro station (Overamstel) and it takes another 10-15 minutes or so to arrive at Central Station. A negative about the location is that there is really nothing to do nearby. We could not find any cafes, restaurants or bars within walking distance. However, It is right next to a gas station so you could fill up on snacks and beveragesl. We did end up trying the restaurant in the hotel and would definitely advise against eating there. Service was poor, food was poor and definitely not worth the price! Room was clean and beds were comfortable. The room also had a mini fridge and in-room safe. Bathroom was small and did not have a tub, just a shower head and a curtain, which meant that the entire bathroom floor would get wet after showering. Service at the reception desk was ok - efficient but not overly friendly. Also, even though it is branded as being a business hotel the wifi was very slow. Overall, it was an average stay and would probably stay somewhere more central next time but if you are there for business purposes or you have a car it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    70
    82
    30
    33
See reviews for
30
70
11
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This was a great hotel to stay in when driving to Amsterdam. Secure, FREE parking onsite, FREE WiFi throughout the hotel and located within a 10 minute, easy walk to the Metro (11.50 euro for 48 hour all inclusive ticket- Metro, Tram, Bus). Ours was a smoke-free room, however had a strong smell of cigarette smoke upon arrival. The breakfast buffet was good, but a bit high in price (13.50 euro). Front desk personnel were nice and helpful, but not overly friendly. Definitely recommend if you plan to drive to Amsterdam and spend minimal time in your room.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had to go to Amsterdam every year for conference/show. And every year all the hotels are full and price is high. Several times we end up in Bastion Amstel. It's not bad hotel, but nothing extra. Rooms are small and bathroom is just basic. Breakfast is OK, but after a weeks stay it's very boring. There is no restaurant around, except the hotel one. Only the petrol station.

There is free internet (wifi) in the lobby and you can get the voucher for the room access. Also, there is a free parking bellow the hotel.

We'll probably stay in Bastion again, as there are no many options for that price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

The hotel itself was ok for the price and the breakfast was good however, the location is a pain.

I used the Overamstel metro to get into town.
Just outside the hotel,You have to walk under a flyover on "sand", then along a grass verge until you reach the main road with a pavement, not very cool with a case or at night, but it only takes 10 mins.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here for a night during our recent European driving holiday. The location is quite far from Amsterdam centre. You can walk about 0.5 km to the nearest train station called Overamstel and then take a couple of trains into Amsterdam. If you walk to another station along the same network called Sparklerweg (about 0.75 km), you'll go past a community consisting of homes built out of large shipping containers. They are stacked up about 5-6 high and from the outside looked quite well kitted out inside. A novel way of providing cheap portable housing. The area around the hotel has absolutely nothing of interest either day or night. The 24/7 petrol station next door was very handy though. We tried the in-house restaurant in the evening, and must say that we were very pleasantly surprised. The food was of top quality and enjoyed by all of us.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Booked this hotel via lastminute.com, check in was on 17th July. Arrived at hotel on the 18th July so just needed few hours sleep as we were very tired as had been driving from the UK. As we approached the reception desk there was a Chinese bloke with an apron on insisted he was the director of the hotel (what a joke). We gave him our reservation as we had 2 rooms booked, he said he had not received any confirmation from lastminute.com. We asked if we could speak to the manager he advised she was asleep and would come down in 1hr. We asked what we should do, as we had been travelling for around 10 hours now and were really tired. His answer was go and sleep in your car or sleep in the reception area. (Chinese bloke had to many responsibilities, from making the breakfast, checking people in, answering calls, maybe he was the director)
Anyway waiting for an hour or so, the so called manager arrived and we gave her our reservation, she said there was no booking. She had no sympathy with as and was very rude. At this time we asked if we could pay for a room, we paid 200euros for 2 rooms and went to sleep. We also asked her if we could have 1 or 2 hours late check out but she did not agree. When we woke up we rang lastminute.com and they advised that they had sent the reservation through and they rang the hotel to confirm. After the call we went to the reception where she refunded our money as we had already paid lastminute.com, there was no apology and she still insisted that there was no reservation from lastminute.com

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

Stayed for two nights on business. The hotel is located about 20 euros by cab from central Amsterdam and very quiet. Soundproofing was excellent despite the hotel being located next to the tracks but the view was not very inspiring. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean though the shower temperature was a bit quirky. Towels and bathrobes were clean and changed everyday. The buffet breakfast was good with a nice selection and the restaurant and bar are pretty decent. The rooms are big enough for two people with warm clean quilts. Staff however were distant and not too helpful. Maybe it was because they seemed to be understaffed with the receptionist checking in guests and catering to people at the bar simultaneously. The hotel seemed to be pretty secure with keycard entry into the lifts and floors. Smokers beware - the smoking lounge is on the ground floor opposite the reception and a bit inconvenient as we had to go down six floors every time we wanted a smoke. All in all a basic no frills business hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel

Address: Verlengde Van Marwijk Kooystraat 30, 1114 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, airconditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers a fitness room which guests can use free of charge, airconditioning and free wireless internet. The lobby has a computer for guests; they can use the internet for free. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam/Amstel is situated near the A10, exit S11. Its close to the RAI and the Amsterdam Arena. The hotel also has free parking places. You can reach the historical centre of Amsterdam within ten minutes by public transport. Here you can find all the famous attractions within reach. This hotel is therefore ideal for business and leisure guests. Rooms The hotel has 120 comfort rooms, 63 deluxe rooms and 9 Quads. The comfort rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. The deluxe rooms are extra equipped with a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious than the deluxe rooms and are equiped with a sleeping sofa and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till 10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel Hotel Amsterdam
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Amsterdam / Amstel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.