We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We should have listened to the bad reviews.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Prinsengracht 816, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“We should have listened to the bad reviews.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

...but we didn't. And we didn't end up staying anyway because they lost our reservation. It being Queen's Day, they were booked. We'd walked from Centraal Station with our luggage to the address of the hotel, which had a note on the door directing us to check-in at another hotel nearby. So we walked there, where the receptionist told us she had no record of our reservation (I showed her our confirmation email), and agreed to book us at another hotel. We didn't want to make a fuss, but she wouldn't, pay for a taxi to the hotel 15 minutes away. So we left, but not before using the toilet, which was obviously a shared bathroom for the rooms -- it was stinky and dirty. We ended up being GLAD we didn't stay after all, as our replacement hotel (Atlas Hotel by Vondelpark) was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
6
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
united kingdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

on our arrival we was put in another hotel so choosing your hotel was pointless............The room was very poor ......... room was tiny , curtain's did'nt fit. really old fashioned and the bedding was stained!!!! For the price we paid we could of stayed in a top hotel back home so overall very dissapointed would'nt recoomend to stay here.............

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2009

The Townhouse is a mere 10 m from the tram stop. I checked in at the ITC right across the street. My room was ready early which was a bonus. The stairs, all though steep as usual, were very manageable. I was in a private single room #25 on the 1st floor. The hotel is "smoker friendly" just make sure you open the window! I The hotel is within 15 minutes of the Leidsplein, Waterloopein and the Rembrandtplein. Give the Townhouse a try and hopefully you'll be as happy as I was!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

First of all, you need to check in at the ITC hotel across the road, which is cool, since i already knew that. When we got in to the town house the stairs are really steep, which they would be in Amsterdam, because all housing are created like that. when we got in to our room, the most DISGUSTING thing was that our sheets were slept in!!!!!!! not even changed.As soon as i complained they changed the sheets, which should of been done in the first place. The townhouse is on the outside of the centre, which it is 15mins walk from Rembrantplein and the Red light district is about 25mins walk. There is a trams available just outside the hotel which run every 15mins.Overall it is great for younger people, as i went with my boyfriend, it was just OK for us to get on with it. The hotel staff miss communicate a lot, but they are overall friendly, happy to help, but they are very short staff, so you may wait for help for a bit of a long time.

  • Liked — the television
  • Disliked — cleaniless, shared facilties
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2007

Look, this place certainly aint the Ritz and if you have the budget, you might want to think about going elsewhere. But really, what do you need in Amsterdam other than a bed and clean toilet and shower? The room I stayed in was the small budget room, which at 50 euros a night during school hols, you can't complain too much about. yes it was small but it had two bunk beds, so in fact you could get the price down to 25 euros each if there were two of you - bargain! clean toilet and shower although you had to go up another floor to get to the shower and damn the steps are steep!! be careful!! reception staff are really friendly and helpful, and its in a nice location close to all the museums and a short tram ride to Dam square (no. 4 tram) and the red light district. I walked most places as the hotel is not too far from anything.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 816, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 173 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Townhouse Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.