We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay at Townhouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Townhouse Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Prinsengracht 816, Amsterdam 1017 JL, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay at Townhouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Townhouse Hotel, which is really more of a modern Dutch B&B operated by the exceptionally knowledgeable Christian was a great value during our stay. Christian made sure we had information on how to gain access to the building prior to our arrival and even offered to upgrade us to a room with a view of the local canal. We politely passed due to the fact that the rooms on the side of the canal tended to get quite warm in the afternoon and we prefer a cool room. The room itself was immaculately clean and tastefully yet simply appointed. The only downside to the room as far as we were concerned was the water pressure was on the low side but otherwise we found the bed quite comfortable and we had more than enough space for our belongings. The stairs to the building are quite steep but not a huge problem and Christian actually carried on the bags up the stairs himself. Each morning, we had a wonderful breakfast on the main floor which included Christian's famous scrambled eggs, which are not to be missed. He even was so kind as to prepare breakfast a bit early on our departure date. The best part though, was Christian's wealth of knowledge about Amsterdam. He pointed us in the direction of Joordan and renting bikes to Vondelpark which were highlights of our stay. He also told us when to check out the Anne Frank house which helped us avoid lengthy lines and gave us suggestions on places for drinks, Nemo and SkyLounge which were both great vantage points to see the gorgeous city. We would recommend Townhouse to those who want to experience a more authentic Amsterdam because once you get outside the inner circle of the city you can see the forest beyond the trees. Amsterdam and its locals are a beautiful thing to behold.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side of the canal get the afternoon sun and the view is quintessentially Dutch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    9
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
6
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Paid 111 euros for a single room with ensuite. I didn't expect the bed to actually be in the bathroom!! No windows - just a vent. No sound proofing & paper thin walls. Every small noise from above & to the side was amplified & funnelled into my bedroom/bathroom combi!!. I've never spent time inside but after my night at the Townhouse I now have a better understanding of what it may be like. Room was clean and bed ok & it was convenient that everything in the room could be accessed from the bed!! Don't want to come across as a complainer - just felt robbed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin - Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

toilets and shower room were a bit incomfortable, the stairs too narrow, not good if you are taking a big suitcase. Everything was so little but just for sleeping is nothing else you need. Is not very good that the reception in other hotel and if its raining you are gonna get wet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked Townhouse but was shown to another building when we checked in at ITC (the instruction was to check in at ITC), reason being Townhouse was fulled. Townhouse was booked partly for the view, and I did remembered that Townhouse cost more than ITC. The shower room was extremely small, too small for guys over 1.7m in our views. The stairs are very steep with no lift, so do be careful if you are bring suit cases. Another reason for booking Townhouse was for the wireless connection. It was close to impossible to get strong connection in the room. To call using the wifi, we needed to get out of the room, and climbed half of the stairs. We stayed on the third floor, and we can only get good connection by climbing up half of the stairs to the next floor...hence "three and a half storey"... The room was clean, and service was good. But the toilet and the stairs were the killers...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel staff does not respond to any mails. I have spoken to them 4 times and wanted to prepay for my reservation. I have received confirmations over the phone, but only once via mail. Finally I understood that they cannot charge credit cards in advance and they did not appologise even for promising me something that they can not accomplish. Obviously some people at their reception are not aware of the simple fact, that they can not charge credit cards in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 816, Amsterdam 1017 JL, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 168 Specialty lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Townhouse Hotel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Venere so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.