We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel to remember” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel

Townhouse Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Prinsengracht 816, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie) (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #153 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hotel to remember”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Paid 111 euros for a single room with ensuite. I didn't expect the bed to actually be in the bathroom!! No windows - just a vent. No sound proofing & paper thin walls. Every small noise from above & to the side was amplified & funnelled into my bedroom/bathroom combi!!. I've never spent time inside but after my night at the Townhouse I now have a better understanding of what it may be like. Room was clean and bed ok & it was convenient that everything in the room could be accessed from the bed!! Don't want to come across as a complainer - just felt robbed!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    8
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
6
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Medellin - Colombia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

toilets and shower room were a bit incomfortable, the stairs too narrow, not good if you are taking a big suitcase. Everything was so little but just for sleeping is nothing else you need. Is not very good that the reception in other hotel and if its raining you are gonna get wet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We booked Townhouse but was shown to another building when we checked in at ITC (the instruction was to check in at ITC), reason being Townhouse was fulled. Townhouse was booked partly for the view, and I did remembered that Townhouse cost more than ITC. The shower room was extremely small, too small for guys over 1.7m in our views. The stairs are very steep with no lift, so do be careful if you are bring suit cases. Another reason for booking Townhouse was for the wireless connection. It was close to impossible to get strong connection in the room. To call using the wifi, we needed to get out of the room, and climbed half of the stairs. We stayed on the third floor, and we can only get good connection by climbing up half of the stairs to the next floor...hence "three and a half storey"... The room was clean, and service was good. But the toilet and the stairs were the killers...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel staff does not respond to any mails. I have spoken to them 4 times and wanted to prepay for my reservation. I have received confirmations over the phone, but only once via mail. Finally I understood that they cannot charge credit cards in advance and they did not appologise even for promising me something that they can not accomplish. Obviously some people at their reception are not aware of the simple fact, that they can not charge credit cards in advance.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012 via mobile

Got ripped off!!! Paid over €330 for a place which said it was a hotel!!!!
Hostel would be more fitting. Window wouldn't shut, radiator didn't work and heater provides didn't work either.
Rooms and hotel stunk of weed constantly, where people in other rooms were smoking.
However the room was very clean and tidy, with a shower and toilet in the room.
Think they need a health and safety inspector in, as there was a light (a normal light, as you would find in your living room), hanging in the shower, right next to the shower head.
So did not turn that on whilst showering, as electrocution was not on my list of things to experience in Amsterdam.
My overall advice..... Find somewhere else!!!!
It's a dump!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel

Address: Prinsengracht 816, 1017 JL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Hotel De Harmonie)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Townhouse Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.