We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you pay is what you get” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nieuw Slotania Hotel to your Saves list
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What you pay is what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nothing special, just a low budget, average hotel placed outskirts. For its prices, is was not so bad. I didn't expect daily cleaning, but they did so. Breakfast was also good, but I'm not choosy here. Service was friendly and helpful. If your budget is far limited, I would recommend them. However, if you're able to spend few more bucks (not so much actually) I will definitely advice to get something near the city center. For me, the main disadvantage was to spend at least 35 minutes in a tram or bus to get to the city and another 35 minutes for going back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    50
    95
    62
    94
See reviews for
31
72
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed in June 2014 for 6 days. I was impressed by the size of the room and modern bathroom but there was only one window in the room that didn't vent the room very well. This wasn't very nice when housekeeping would leave an unpleasant body odour smell in our room everyday and also down the hallway.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

The hotel itself is not completely terrible, it's pretty standard for the price. Our room was impossible to find, as was another two rooms in our group. It took us upwards of 30 minutes to locate it. The room was average in size and it was clean enough. Breakfast was pretty subpar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We got there thanks to hostelbookers where they are advertised as a Hostel which they are NOT... The rooms are ok as well as the bathroom, they do have some info on tour close to the entrance as well as wifi (if it doesn't work is your phone's fault according to front desk guy, is always your phone) but what made our stay shorter in this place was the service.... they should work on their people skills.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Me and my friends travelled to Amsterdam March this year, as I have already been once before I new what to expect and couldn't wait. We had a another good deal for our stay, it cost around £180 for 3 night & 4 days with flights from our nearest airport (Cardiff), hotel with breakfast too. We had a taxi from the airport which cost us £50 euro between us which wasn't to bad, when arriving at the hotel it was uncanny that it was opposite the hotel I stayed in 2011 (Blue Square Hotel) so everything we needed as in shops and trams was right outside our hotel which was great, we also got tram 14 and bus 21 into the main town, bus 21 takes you to the docks which is 2mins from Dam Square.

Our rooms where small and seemed a little dingy but we weren't bothered as we were only there to sleep, they had clean towels and refilled toilet roll every day. The receptionist was helpful when we needed advise on tram times and best place to go etc. We done quiet a lot with the package deals we bought, we had a boat cruise, Madam Tussuads, Ice House all for £50 we thought it was a good deal considering we could take as long as we wanted on each attraction. We also went down to the Red Light district and went in to some local bars which was great, we also went to see a live sex show which in all fairness was a good laugh, it cost us £35 for entry and 3 free drinks and we could stay in there for as long as we wanted, I wont go into detail regarding it you have to see it for yourself. There's so much to do in Amsterdam its a wicked and serial place to go, this was one of the best girls holidays I've been on.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Definitely mixed feelings.


Price was pretty good at £50
Pretty clean overall. Bathroom very nice much better than room itself. There were no curtains and had lights from accross the road coming in for most of the night. Also a lot of door banging and general noise from other guests till about 5am.
Breakfast was pretty good for €5, do can recommend this if you give this place a try.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Suprisingly good for so little money! The staff were really nice, room was cleaned daily and the room was okay, not huge, but a decent size.
We only had breakfast at the hotel 1 morning and it was good!
I love the location because it was nice to not be in the city centrum all the time and it was super easy to reach by tram or bus.
I will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nieuw Slotania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.