We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nieuw Slotania Hotel to your Saves list
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Definitely mixed feelings.


Price was pretty good at £50
Pretty clean overall. Bathroom very nice much better than room itself. There were no curtains and had lights from accross the road coming in for most of the night. Also a lot of door banging and general noise from other guests till about 5am.
Breakfast was pretty good for €5, do can recommend this if you give this place a try.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    49
    93
    61
    90
See reviews for
31
71
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

Suprisingly good for so little money! The staff were really nice, room was cleaned daily and the room was okay, not huge, but a decent size.
We only had breakfast at the hotel 1 morning and it was good!
I love the location because it was nice to not be in the city centrum all the time and it was super easy to reach by tram or bus.
I will definitely go here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Stayed here as a couple, room was very small, there was a big step up to the bathroom level and the room smelt of smoke when we arrived (we were next to the balcony). The room and the hotel were kept very clean throughout. It is located about a 30 minute tram drive from the centre and is located in a what seems to be a 'dodgy' area. Although we had booked 4 nights here, the location was too far out the centre so we left after the first night and got a hostel in the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

If you are looking for a budget place to stay in Amsterdam, this hostel has very nice staff, comfortable beds a good breakfast buffet and all services you need. It's not in downtown but tram stops just in the entrance. Nice quality/cost relation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Room very clean. Lovely bedding. Clean towels every day.
Double Mattress very soft (too soft for us) big bed.
Bathroom excellent, really big shower.
Location a bit far out of dam centre which was what we wanted as very quiet on a night so maybe not suit young ones searching nite life (no coffee shops )
Trams into dam every 5mins til 6pm then every 15mins til 1am. Cost 2.80euro single tram no 14
Bus from airport no 69 drops u off outside hotel.
Staff very helpful. Spoke English.
Would suit mature couple on budget n travellers.
Would return again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

stayed here with 6 of my mates (aged 18-19) last week. wasn't as bad as everybody made out to be honest! rooms were average sized and cleaned every day. Cant comment on the food as didn't eat in the hotel. Only issues I had is that the staff wernt very helpful and came across as abit rude, also the hotel is right in the middle of some Turkish ghetto which isn't very nice at all. You have to get a tram into centre of Amsterdam which takes around 20mins, really easy to figure out but gets abit annoying when your coming home after a night out (getting the night bus is a ball ache). All in all I loved Amsterdam had the time of my life! Perfect place for a blowout with your mates. Would I stay here again? No, somewhere abit nearer in a nicer area would be better.

Room Tip: (Tip: Get the number 14 tram 'Flevopark' takes you straight to Dam square.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed here as a couple in February 2014 and had a lovely time. The room had enough space for both of us, towels and the bed was changed daily too and was very comfy. It was a basic room, and doesn't come with a kettle but that didnt bother us, as you could get tea etc... With breakfast which was also very nice.
Staff were fine, just left us to it really.
The hotel is situated quite far from the city centre but the tram links are fantastic. The number 14 tram takes you straight to dam square and the number 7 takes you to Liedseplein which was our personal favourite place.
For the price we paid for this hotel, we can't complain. Will be returning to Amsterdam again soon, but unfortunately will book somewhere abit closer to the centre. Otherwise would have returned here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nieuw Slotania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.