We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cramped!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nieuw Slotania Hotel to your Saves list
Nieuw Slotania Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #296 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cramped!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A group of four of us stayed here for a couple days on a girls trip to Amsterdam. The location was pretty good - a bit out of the city, but the price reflects this and it's really easy (one bus) to get into the centre of town. However, the room was ridiculously small; it was difficult to get the four of us and our bags in without the person before you climbing onto the bunk bed to make room. It's a hostel, so we expected the type of atmosphere, but it was always incredibly noisy, and the staff didn't really make any effort to control the wilder people!

Room Tip: Be aware that the 'dorm style rooms' are pretty much cupboards - very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    50
    95
    62
    94
See reviews for
31
72
11
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Found hotel easily about 20 ride on bus or tram from centre of Amsterdam. (Bus no. 69 from airport approx. 30 mins).Comfortable, warm double room after initially being given 2 single beds in smaller room but staff helpful and moved us immediately after seeing our request in writing. Helped us with bus timetable. Breakfast adequate. Room cleaned daily. Safe provided in room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

As many of the previous comments, I was a bit worried to stay here because of the terrible reviews, however I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Yes it is far from the city center but the metro system is easy to use and a ticket is inexpensive. And it is in a quiet neighborhood so no loud noises throughout the night.

The rooms themselves were quite large and very clean. The bathroom was very spacious.

Breakfast was fair for the price (€5.00) We ate there every morning and it filled us until lunch.

If you're on a budget you will be grateful to choose this hotel because it really isn't as bad as the reviews suggest.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Just come back from Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Absolutely no problems whatsoever! Staff were friendly and room was more than fine. Didn't make it down to breakfast on time so can't comment on that. The hotel is in a predominately Turkish/North African area?
But that was fine also.

Overall a good experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for our friends birthday. Chose it because it was the cheapest. We were really worried about staying here after reading the dreadful reviews.

Very surprised....it wasn't all that bad! Room clean and beds made/fresh towels each day. Could not fault the bathroom - nice and modern. Free safe in the room. Reception staff were pleasant.

Carpet throughout the hotel was minging though! A big bag of crisps was stolen from my room!!! I'd give the breakfast a miss also. It is far out of the centre but the tram network is excellent.

If you're after somewhere cheap to sleep and shower whilst exploring Amsterdam then this hotel will serve you well......just don't forget to lock up your crisps!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I read the bad reviews and worried what it was going to be like (we booked for cheapness). But it was great apart from being a bit far from city centre (15-20min on tram 14 from outside hotel) and the "city tax" of 10 or so Euros when I paid - I didn't mind paying it but I would like to have known when I booked and not when I arrived at reception. Also a bit of noise but not too bad.

Aside from this:
- breakfast was good -all u can eat for 5 euros (If not included in booking)
- room was small but good and cleaned everyday (good TV with 30 or so channels some in English, also good heating system in the room), en suite
- friendly staff
- loads of local shops (aldi, market square and shopping centre across the road, cafes, takeaways and restaurants nearby as well as bus and tram stops to city centre)
- free WiFi

Its not the Ritz so don't expect that but if u want a place to stay on a budget and don't mind 20min to the city centre then this place is ideal

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. It was a little far from the center but it's really easy to get there. The staff is really kind they can provide you tours and maps of the city. The room was clean adn so was the bathroom. The relation price/quality was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nieuw Slotania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nieuw Slotania Hotel

Address: Slotermeerlaan 133, 1063 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nieuw Slotania Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nieuw Slotania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nieuw Slotania Amsterdam
Hotel Nieuw Slotania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nieuw Slotania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.