We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here! ” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopole

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Hotel Monopole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #277 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go here! ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had rotens in our room! Ate some of my chocolate bar in the middle of the night. Could hear everything in the hallway and the nightclub downstairs shared their music all night. Boring breakfast. Otherwise clean and nice service. Great location!
Find somewhere else!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    40
    22
    43
See reviews for
13
35
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not a bad hotel basic but get wot u pay for, does ave a good location though and if u can get a room at front not a bad view of canal.. it's a little walk from station but get to know your way round by walking we hot a cab and got ripped off because he knew we were struggling with bags and went long way round and charged us 10Euro for a one minutes walk.

Room Tip: Get one at front for views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Stayed here with a group of friends over a mid week.
As previous reviewers have said, watch for the really steep stairs!
The rooms were decent enough, though one of them had low headroom; even the smallest of our party banged his head. The other rooms were fine. Even though a request was made for the rooms to be twin rooms one had a single double bed.
The toilet and bathroom I found to be pretty small, though it was clean and tidy as was the remainder of the hotel.
The staff seemed pleasant enough, having not needed to be confrontational about anything I did get the impression that there was very little in the way of empathy with customers.
Seeing as it was mid week, the noise complaints that others mention didn't exist, the club to the rear of the hotel was not open and whatever was underneath the hotel was also closed.
The area it is in seemed pleasant enough for Amsterdam, not too far from the centre plenty of amenities locally.
The window of my room didn't seem all that secure and that backed onto the nightclub at the rear and a roof, also the safe didn't work. Didn't see any unwelcome guests either.
The main thing that was really annoying was the fact that having booked through a hotel search website, it wasn't mentioned that when you do actually turn up and check in, they want another 10% off you.
Somehow I cannot help thinking that this is so that they get to the top of the list in the hotel search engine cheaply and then sting you for another 10%, 5% City Tax and 5% Card fee - regardless of what card you use avoid that if you’re from a different country by taking Euro with you.
Breakfast was fine, however we decided the second day to eat at a bar in the square behind.
All in all pleasant with some, odd surprises - forewarned is forearmed.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

It's cheap in cost
Watch out for the added tax on arrival
It's grotty but it's cheap, ok location
Little noisy
Wouldn't talk my wife or recommend it for couples but a group of friends in Amsterdam for a boozy weekend is what it's for
Cross between hotel and hostel.
Steep staircases and low ceilings

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2014

For: good location near the Munt and on the Amstel, nice views, one nice reception man.
Against: narrow, very steep stairs, worn out decor, 5% extra on bill not advertised on website, twin bed request not honoured and an unsavoury exchange ensued; female non-Dutch 'manager' had an appalling attitude, very unfriendly and unhelpful, room very small, safe broken, average breakfast with day-glo unnatural orange juice. The horrid female 'manager' with such a nasty customer service attitude means we can never recommend this hotel and will never go back there. This is not the normal Dutch welcome we are used to, but she was not a native; she is a very poor ambassador for Holland and damages the image.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear guest ,
first of all we apologies for any inconvince with our receptionist.
we have checked the matter and according to receptionist there were some argument from your side as well, which was not acceptabel. but we still apologies for any trouble.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Anything that could be good in this hotel has been erased by a little visitor that came to us in the morning: a rat. Could be one or several, and it could be in the night among our clothes. Can you imagine?!

We asked to change the room, but the new room have no window! Asked again, and now we got a nice room, with window, but veeery small. This is not a problem if it is clean.

The stairs are STEEP. be careful while carrying the luggage.

They allowed us to leave the baggage during some hours in our last day.

There is a gay bar below the hotel. This was not in the hotel descriptions in booking.com. It is OK for me but for someone else may not be...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prato, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This narrow townhouse converted into a hotel certainly evokes Amsterdam's maritime history. From the landing window there's a fine view of the Amstel river with various craft passing by the lock gates. The staircases are steep and narrow enough to resemble the between-decks stairs on a Dutch Golden Age sailing vessel. The rooms are small enough to suggest ships' cabins. The young and able staff willingly haul guests' suitcases up to the rooms and perform the not inconsiderable feat of delivering breakfast trays without spilling anything on the sheer three-flight journey up. As for sleeping, the rear rooms are potentially quiet, but back on to the Escape nightclub. This means that they are only actually quiet on the nights when there's no disco there. But the soundproofing (the nightclub's, not the hotel's) is very effective, and all one hears is a muffled rhythmic thud such as that produced by a ship’s hull swell thumping repeatedly against the swell. Practically the only thing missing from what one would expect from a sailing ship cabin is the ship's cat – which is a pity, as having a cat around would considerably reduce the most disturbing aspect of night life in the Monopole (need I say more?).
The hotel's location is rather good, being central yet safely beyond the raucous red-light district. It would improve its reputation if the management reflected on how not to create the impression of being mean (the credit-card charge, not always made fully explicit on booking sites; our friend was sold a room-with-bath only to find the bathroom was shared and across the passageway; for teamaking facilities in our double room , only a single cup was provided). This hotel is not all bad. But for what it offers, it is overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #277 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.