We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Happy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Monopole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pretty Happy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing location, near to all bars/restaurants/coffee shops. Great view over the canal, wasn't too keen on the continental breakfast but others may enjoy. Cant wait to go back to Amsterdam, overall a great exeperience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your good reviwe and good exprince with us.
Your good words give us positive energy to work and serve our guest better.
Hotel Monopole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    35
    21
    48
See reviews for
6
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Hotel in a good location for all attractions.Rooms were clean and well maintained.Only downfall was no tea and coffee making facilities and drinks machine was out of order.Although the staff were generally helpful a cup of tea was out of the question. So if you like a nice cupper may be this isnt the best choice for you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Eigenaar at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your good reviwe and good exprince with us.
Your good words give us positive energy to work and serve our guest better.
Hotel Monopole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from our stay at the monopole had no problems at all staff very obliging and curteous clean rooms all in all very good breakfast as expected a continental breakfast I think some of these reviews are unfair people just like to complain

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,
your subject :: NO PROBLEM AT ALL:: gives good impreesion to that people who make judgement from false review. As we have big problme with false review. We Always say if guest has any problem please please discuss with us during your stay , we can Always solve it, beter to have good stay then writing afterwerds.
Thank you very much again.
Hotel Monopole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having booked this Hotel on short notice through LateRooms.com , I did not have high expectations, on any front. So despite having set the bar extraordinarily low , I still found points where the bar was way too high. Firstly, I would like to say that the staff that greeted me on my arrival could not have been more helpful or courteous.
The problem really lay in that I was expecting to pay certain amount, which incidentally was not trivial (175Euros) only to find out when I was "checking in" that my room rate went up by 10% (City and Credit Card Tax) , resulting in 192 Euros AND that although breakfast was included it only started at 8:30 am. I needed to leave the Hotel at 6am and so missed this out all together. Internet connectivity was extremely patchy and very slow to say the least. So all in all, I was personally very disappointed. As to the noise element that other reviewers seem to have experienced , luckily I didn't suffer this, though I was a guest for a mid week day and only for the one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest,
there was no extra cost which we charged out of policy. All the cost which guest has to pay is mentioned on our website. It is Always better to inform us during your stay that we could find solution for your inconvince . Then there will be no dissopintment.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like climbing ladders to get to your room? Head banger music drifting up from the nightclub at street level til 4a.m.? Pot smoke choking in through open windows? This place is for you!

Our room on the top floor back side overlooked a wall of an adjacent building decorated with peace/love style words. It was OK, the wall was about 20 feet away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear sir,
if you found uncofertable , the please let us know during your stay, we can try to find better place or solution.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. I have read some very poor reviews for this hotel. I can only comment on my own experience. We had a room on the same level as reception. A good size and very clean. Breakfast was typical continental and was brought to the room at a time of our choice.That's about it for the good bits.
The room had no outside windows just two skylights...which was fine as we were only spending sleeping time in the room. However this made it difficult to get any air into the room, which became very stuffy in relatively cool weather. The worst aspect was the heavy low bass sound which was coming from a club or bar, this vibrated through the room until about 5am. Making any sleep fitful.I have read similar from another review, obviously nothing can be done or has been tried to reduce this.
Overall not a bad experience however, and if your a heavy sleeper you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review that gives us more engery to give service and better hospitality.
Thank you very much
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.