We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the "inflated and extra costs"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monopole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #279 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beware the "inflated and extra costs"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Having booked this Hotel on short notice through LateRooms.com , I did not have high expectations, on any front. So despite having set the bar extraordinarily low , I still found points where the bar was way too high. Firstly, I would like to say that the staff that greeted me on my arrival could not have been more helpful or courteous.
The problem really lay in that I was expecting to pay certain amount, which incidentally was not trivial (175Euros) only to find out when I was "checking in" that my room rate went up by 10% (City and Credit Card Tax) , resulting in 192 Euros AND that although breakfast was included it only started at 8:30 am. I needed to leave the Hotel at 6am and so missed this out all together. Internet connectivity was extremely patchy and very slow to say the least. So all in all, I was personally very disappointed. As to the noise element that other reviewers seem to have experienced , luckily I didn't suffer this, though I was a guest for a mid week day and only for the one night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear guest,
there was no extra cost which we charged out of policy. All the cost which guest has to pay is mentioned on our website. It is Always better to inform us during your stay that we could find solution for your inconvince . Then there will be no dissopintment.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    27
    36
    22
    50
See reviews for
8
29
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Like climbing ladders to get to your room? Head banger music drifting up from the nightclub at street level til 4a.m.? Pot smoke choking in through open windows? This place is for you!

Our room on the top floor back side overlooked a wall of an adjacent building decorated with peace/love style words. It was OK, the wall was about 20 feet away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Dear sir,
if you found uncofertable , the please let us know during your stay, we can try to find better place or solution.
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. I have read some very poor reviews for this hotel. I can only comment on my own experience. We had a room on the same level as reception. A good size and very clean. Breakfast was typical continental and was brought to the room at a time of our choice.That's about it for the good bits.
The room had no outside windows just two skylights...which was fine as we were only spending sleeping time in the room. However this made it difficult to get any air into the room, which became very stuffy in relatively cool weather. The worst aspect was the heavy low bass sound which was coming from a club or bar, this vibrated through the room until about 5am. Making any sleep fitful.I have read similar from another review, obviously nothing can be done or has been tried to reduce this.
Overall not a bad experience however, and if your a heavy sleeper you'll be fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review that gives us more engery to give service and better hospitality.
Thank you very much
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Travelling to Amsterdam for a conference. Four of us stayed in this hotel. Suite had two separate but connected rooms (the guys stayed in one, the girls in the other). I enjoyed the hotel as it met our needs. We were not looking for anything fancy, we were simply wanting a place that was close to the center of Amsterdam where we could shower and sleep. Cost us a total €800 for Sunday check-in to Friday check-out.

Hotel was close to everything. Based on my one and only short interaction with the staff, they seemed nice and carried my luggage to my room, but besides that I can't comment too much on that. Our room was located several doors down from reception in another building which was strange at first but posed no problems.

Suite and rooms were spacious.
Room where the guys stayed: only one power outlet. Two single beds that consisted of two spring mattresses. Made for an unstable bed and my friend fell off bed during sleep, and I almost did as well. Window faced back of building into another suite..
Room where the girls stayed: nice view from window. They had a proper double bed. Many power outlets. They also has a couches and chairs, a table, and a kitchen area. Kitchen was equipped with plates, cups, etc, but they all looked dirty to me.
Bathroom was small but clean and had plenty of towels. Lots of hot water.

Cons: they seemed to cut corners on the decor, single beds, and outlets (I know I keep mentioning outlets but there were 4 of us with phones and laptops to charge). My only biggest complaint was the wifi, signal was very weak and kept cutting out on all of us.

Folks, if you stay here do not expect anything fancy. This is a place where you will sleep and shower. The location is enough to make it worth it, location is great. You're a little over 5 min walk to Dam Square, shops, bars, restaurants, everything.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your good review. Hope to see u in future.
best reagrds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I went for 4 days for my birthday and stayed here. The room was small but had all we needed. Definitely not for those who are not into mountain climbing as that what it's like even getting to the reception and we where staying on the top floor. The rooms are clean. As for the breakfast its continental so your going be hungry afterwards. Not a bad location. 5 mins will walk you to dam square and lots of restaurants and coffee houses close to hand

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Reception: After climbing a very steep stair we get to the reception where we are met with a polite lady on the desk who on seeing myself and partner exhausted after the climb, said, I will give you a room lower down as we were meant to be in a room at the top of the hotel. After paying £248.00 we proceed to climb yet another very steep staircase and eventually we get to the room.

Room: Small cramped room which the bed took up all the space, no drawers to put clothes in only a dirty cupboard with five hangers to put things in, so we decided to leave everything in our cases. The window to the room had a wonderful view of a back wall with strange writing on it and a cargo net covering wires and pipes and skylight windows from what I assume was a kitchen in either the hotel itself of something next door.

En-suite: Tightly compact toilet, shower and sink. If you are on the large side this en-suite is not for you as there is no room for manoeuvrability. The towels (two hand and two very small bath towels) these were never refreshed the whole time we stayed which was for three nights.

Breakfast: We paid for breakfast but were never told when breakfast would be served or let alone offered any at all, so cannot comment on the food as there was none given.

All in all it was a two star hotel but I would say they were very lucky to get the two stars as I would have given it zero for the fact that the photographs on the website show spacious rooms and sitting areas but the reality is that there is none of this going on in the hotel we stayed in. No value for money and precious little in customer service as staff were very thin on the ground apart from the one young man going around with a vacuum cleaner.

I will not be staying in this hotel ever again and would advice anyone else to look elsewhere.

Room Tip: As above try finding another hotel as this one is very disappointing in every way possible.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear sir/madam,
in your eyse most of things were not correct.
so we do not know to say only we like to say please tell us when you are here that we can
improve the things ..
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #279 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.