We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Monopole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #284 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I came to Amsterdam with my friend for the weekend. We have been before and liked the Rembrandt Square area. This hotel is the perfect location for that! close to city but quiter and more chilled. Lovely reataurants but with a good nightlife too. Clean room, drab decor but the private bathroom was what I paid for as there are a lot of shared bathroom places in Amsterdam! We had to pay a €50 Key deposit that wasn't mentioned in the booking but card details were okay rather than cash.

Overall a cheap and cheerful hotel and I would stay again on another visit!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Emily,
Thank you very much that u liked our hotel and service and good and true review.
Having good review give enrgy to provide better service and comfertable stay.
Thank you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    31
    20
    41
See reviews for
9
30
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

If you want somewhere cheap and central to shower and sleep then this is ideal but would say it is probably better suited to groups rather than couples as can be a little noisy. Generally the place is clean; bedding, toilet, carpet, sink etc but could do with a little extra eg. some marks on doors that could easily be cleaned away. We stayed in a room down the road from the reception and no phone in room so felt it could be difficult if we needed to contact them. Room also didn't have the canal view like our booking said (this could be an error with the website?). The staff were very helpful, our bed was made daily, they advised us of good places to visit and changed the towels daily. They moved us to a bigger room when it became available (we didn't ask for this they just offered) and they moved bags for us. If you are a group looking for a central base then this is ideal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear sir/madam,
Thank you very much for your good words about us, it give us good feeling to work harder for our guests. The rooms with the view are avialable if there is request. We suggest you to request for front view rooms while you make booking.
Thank you very much again.
hotel monopole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are searching for a place to shower and sleep this is what it can near enough offer a customer ! On a Thursday night , you could hear the club so loud that you felt like you were there partying aswell ! The staff did not make the stay pleasant and would never crack a smile even though you were paying them , they would knock on our door in the morning to ' clean ' but it was check up in the room as Amsterdam visitors have the image of being all drug-dealers ! I stayed one night and with my friends who were there longer and I would not return !

Room Tip: Dont even bother to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

bad bad experience! the place is dirty! when I arrived i heard a vaccuum but I don't think that they used it. I had a big bag and nobody came to help me at the stip stairs. the room was dirty and the bathroom smelly.thank god the towels were clean. next to me there was a couple fighting and i did not felt very comfortable staying there alone. i would never go there again and i do not recommend women to go there.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Rooms are clean only you felt unconfertable bcoz the couple
Next door was fighting. In that matter we can not do anything.
But if uou have told us during your stay as we afvice everybody then
We coild do someyhing to makr uour stay comfertable. Writing afterwords does
Not help. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prilly, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Same bad experience as "skymaster_172". Although, it is a great location, right in the center, this two bed-room apartment is no good value for money: poorly furnished, noisy (one of the room gives on the road by the canal and the other is right above a laundry...). And yes, the bathroom is smelly. We do not recommend this hotel and will never return !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest we do not understand what is wrong about having room
On second floor and facing water canal? That is even better.
We always say if you do not ( achieve) get anything let us know during your stay and make your stay good, Writing the things afterwerds shows that during your stay there was no big issue( problem) otherwise you let us know then. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Got to say we were worried when we read the reviews but it was way better than some of the reviews on here - Dont dismiss this hotel
Yes its dated, but its location is excellent, its clean and tidy, good value and is a great base in a great City..
We had 3 rooms 2 that slept 4 and one that slept 2 all had ensuite showers and toilets - the 4 bedders are apartments so have some cooking facilities in a kitchenette, Microwave, cuttlery and crockery...

Yes the apartments are about 5 doors down the road but dont let that worry you - Both apartments had a double and 2 singles.

You have to put a EUR10 deposit for each key and you only get one for each apartment.

There is a 5% charge for use of credit card - we paid EUR803 for 2 nights for 3 rooms between 9 people was about £72 each which isnt bad at all for a major European city

The road is quite busy out front so can be noisy at night but with windows shut it seriously isnt anything to complain about.

This is a 2 star hotel - I reckon its slightly better than that so dont expect the world - What ever you expected for £36 a night its way better than that - They said it included breakfast at time of booking but that was not available when we arrived but plenty of great places to east nearby doing great food at at circa EUR10 a head..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
DEAR GUEST.
WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR FAIR REVIEW. we really appriciate your thoughts. As you said you were afraid from our review before arrival but after your stay you were satisfied. You know everyday about 60 to 90 people stay in our hotel but we have from very few people bad review. the good and satisfied people does not write anything. According to our exprince if guest has some small problem or their expectation are high they write bad review not realising that they do not stick to their problem they write all unnccessory things which are not even exist.
so thats why do not belive on BAD REVIEW>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I slept in room # 4. Almost impossibile to sleep during the weekend due to the high volume of the adjacent disco, it's like being there and windows shake like during an heartquake. Very ripid stairs, hard to carry big or heavy bags. Wifi did not work 2 days (I spent 6 nights at the hotel). Room below average. I do not reccomend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir/madam, the noise is only when there is some event in the city. we are situated in the heart of city, and we do not have any noise problem from our permanent guests. We will try to make more comfertable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Address: Amstel 60, 1017 AC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Venere so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.