We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly abysmal” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monopole

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monopole to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Monopole
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Truly abysmal”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

If you are searching for a place to shower and sleep this is what it can near enough offer a customer ! On a Thursday night , you could hear the club so loud that you felt like you were there partying aswell ! The staff did not make the stay pleasant and would never crack a smile even though you were paying them , they would knock on our door in the morning to ' clean ' but it was check up in the room as Amsterdam visitors have the image of being all drug-dealers ! I stayed one night and with my friends who were there longer and I would not return !

Room Tip: Dont even bother to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    23
    35
    21
    48
See reviews for
6
27
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

bad bad experience! the place is dirty! when I arrived i heard a vaccuum but I don't think that they used it. I had a big bag and nobody came to help me at the stip stairs. the room was dirty and the bathroom smelly.thank god the towels were clean. next to me there was a couple fighting and i did not felt very comfortable staying there alone. i would never go there again and i do not recommend women to go there.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Rooms are clean only you felt unconfertable bcoz the couple
Next door was fighting. In that matter we can not do anything.
But if uou have told us during your stay as we afvice everybody then
We coild do someyhing to makr uour stay comfertable. Writing afterwords does
Not help. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prilly, Vaud, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Same bad experience as "skymaster_172". Although, it is a great location, right in the center, this two bed-room apartment is no good value for money: poorly furnished, noisy (one of the room gives on the road by the canal and the other is right above a laundry...). And yes, the bathroom is smelly. We do not recommend this hotel and will never return !!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest we do not understand what is wrong about having room
On second floor and facing water canal? That is even better.
We always say if you do not ( achieve) get anything let us know during your stay and make your stay good, Writing the things afterwerds shows that during your stay there was no big issue( problem) otherwise you let us know then. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Got to say we were worried when we read the reviews but it was way better than some of the reviews on here - Dont dismiss this hotel
Yes its dated, but its location is excellent, its clean and tidy, good value and is a great base in a great City..
We had 3 rooms 2 that slept 4 and one that slept 2 all had ensuite showers and toilets - the 4 bedders are apartments so have some cooking facilities in a kitchenette, Microwave, cuttlery and crockery...

Yes the apartments are about 5 doors down the road but dont let that worry you - Both apartments had a double and 2 singles.

You have to put a EUR10 deposit for each key and you only get one for each apartment.

There is a 5% charge for use of credit card - we paid EUR803 for 2 nights for 3 rooms between 9 people was about £72 each which isnt bad at all for a major European city

The road is quite busy out front so can be noisy at night but with windows shut it seriously isnt anything to complain about.

This is a 2 star hotel - I reckon its slightly better than that so dont expect the world - What ever you expected for £36 a night its way better than that - They said it included breakfast at time of booking but that was not available when we arrived but plenty of great places to east nearby doing great food at at circa EUR10 a head..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
DEAR GUEST.
WE THANK YOU FOR YOUR FAIR REVIEW. we really appriciate your thoughts. As you said you were afraid from our review before arrival but after your stay you were satisfied. You know everyday about 60 to 90 people stay in our hotel but we have from very few people bad review. the good and satisfied people does not write anything. According to our exprince if guest has some small problem or their expectation are high they write bad review not realising that they do not stick to their problem they write all unnccessory things which are not even exist.
so thats why do not belive on BAD REVIEW>
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bassano Del Grappa, Italy
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

I slept in room # 4. Almost impossibile to sleep during the weekend due to the high volume of the adjacent disco, it's like being there and windows shake like during an heartquake. Very ripid stairs, hard to carry big or heavy bags. Wifi did not work 2 days (I spent 6 nights at the hotel). Room below average. I do not reccomend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir/madam, the noise is only when there is some event in the city. we are situated in the heart of city, and we do not have any noise problem from our permanent guests. We will try to make more comfertable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Don't let the lobby fool you. We thought that we had booked a nice place when we saw the loby (albeit after climbing one of those famous Amsterdam staircases). We were then taken half a block away to a different, rundown building. The two-bedroom apartment we booked was a bedroom and combination sitting room/kitchen with a double bed and room for the cot we requested. Space was not a problem but the layout with a window in the door between the bedroom and the big room left a lot to be desired. Doors didn't close properly and the bathroom smelled of mildew - keep looking!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear sir/madam,
it looks like from your review that you were irritated with something else and wrote bad review to us. we never had problme with stairs in apartment building. as you said space was not problem.
there is not at all problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Myself and a few friends stayed here on my stag weekend, when we arrived we had to pay the bill straight away which we already thought we had paid when we booked online, the fee was more than the online bill also. After climbing the rediculously steep stairs, we then had to climb what can only be described as a ladder... with our luggage! up to the attic where our room was. The room was horrible, it had a window which only opened partially giving us a fantasic view of a wall/dead mouse. Some of my friends stayed in a seperate room, in which they had a mouse trap with a dead rat on it, after telling reception about it... their reply was "just throw it out of the window". The hotel wasnt clean, the only saving grace is the location, very close to rembrantplein or rembrant square which is where a lot of the bars and clubs etc are. We didnt eat breakfast here as quite frankly i value my life and did not want to die/become ill. Overall this hotel is a joke and that is saying something from me as i am usually quite forgiving.

Room Tip: sleep on the street its probably safer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
george-alliance, Manager at Hotel Monopole, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest,
about your payment which you have paid at th etime of arrival is normal and written all over places. When you book the room then your credit card details is only for reservation guarntee.
Not any hotel charge the amount from your card , so you pay when you arrive.

The room which got to stay was very big and with all facilities.

Thank you very much
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monopole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopole

Also Known As:
Monopole Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Amstel 60, Amsterdam 1017 AC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monopole 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Monopole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monopole, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.