We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not recommend” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel des Arts Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #269 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Cobham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Our family of 4 stayed in their loft room which allowed for 2 twin beds on one floor and then you went up some stairs for 3 twin beds. There was no a/c available and it was very warm, so we needed to have the windows open for air - the problem was the window faces the street (very noisy with trams, people and boats) and the University building across the way had a huge 6 window flashing TV promo, 24 hours a day! No one could get any sleep. The breakfast for 11 euros was extremely poor - hard boiled eggs improperly cooked, stale corn flakes and no toaster for bread. We had to go out after and find proper food. I found the staff friendly and had no problems with them. There was no soap, no tissues, ect. The towels were thread bare and need replaced badly. I can not recommend this hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    19
    14
    11
See reviews for
22
16
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

First, the guy at the front desk was not very helpful and very rude. The room was terrible. I paid for a double room and got two single beds. The carpet was very dirty, no soap in the bathroom, no air conditioning, linens look like the were there since Noah built his ark.
The location of the hotel is fantastic but I will NEVER stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

stayed here with a group of friends and would definitely not recommend. Staff are extremely rude and inappropriate - knocking on our door telling us to be quiet because other guests were sleeping. It was 6pm and we were talking not screaming! Male owner kept popping out of corners to stare at us when we walked past and also proceeded to stand and stare after I had fallen down the very steep stairs (another compounding factor to this dreadfully run hotel). Owner didnt even bother to ask if I was ok. Rude and quite frankly perverted. No kettle, tea or milk in rooms. Breakfast consisted of a few slices of dodgy looking meat and stale bread certainly not worth €12 or getting out of bed for. Serious humour failure. If they put as much effort into breakfast as they did following their guests around the hotel then they may get somewhere. Complete disregard for their customers which is highly unfortunate due to the central location. Will NOT go back there, NOR recommend. Give your hard earned cash to those who appreciate it in the given economic climate!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel and would not recommend to anyone who has a sense if humour .. The staff were rude, and the male manager would linger outside your room to prevent any laughing or talking too loud by banging the door . The stairs are lethal , very narrow and one of girls I travelled with fell down the stairs and the manager stood and watched! Breakfast is a small selection of bread ( no toaster) some ham and brioche . Definitely not worth 12 euros . Wifi is charged at 12euros which after paying over £1000 for 2 nights for 3 rooms is unacceptable . The hotel is in a great location which is a shame to receive such bad service . If you are a group consisting of fun then this hotel is not for you

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013


Horrible experience in room no 5 at the back of the hotel. No free WI fi,kettle but no tea or coffee. Not even a bar of soap and the bathroom could do with a good refurb. No place to sit and no reception area and the continental
breakfast did not include toast or a toaster. Avoid at all costs it's not cheap and I've stayed in better hostels . The only positive about this hotel is the location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Recent family trip to Amsterdam. They had a family room that can accommodate 5 adults. Three beds are upstairs in a "loft". Fantastic view of the canal and right on the main line of trams coming out of central station. The location is handy and view is great but there can be some noise. The weather was cool and we were able to keep the windows closed. It might require a sound sleeper if the windows had to be open. Staff was very good. Breakfast was included but we never seemed to make it down. Easy to get anywhere you might want to go in central Amsterdam. Small fridge in the room was handy. Try to get a room on an upper floor to stay away from the noise. There is no elevator so be prepared to do some walking. The main bed was a queen (two twin beds next to eachother). I would return there next time.

Room Tip: If you like stairs and a more quite room, try to get an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Bristol
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This relatively small hotel is wonderfully situated in the heart of the old city centre.

The staircases are steep (and get steeper as you go higher) but not impossible even with a big case. I was pleased to see that the stairs are duplicated providing an alternative escape route in case of fire.

We stayed in a third floor room with great views over the canal and were very pleased by the good size of the room. We were also pleased to find memory foam mattresses which were far better than some beds I've encountered in some otherwise good hotels. The room was clean and the décor was gently quirky (I liked the gold cherub over the bed) rather than flashy or posh. One downside of staying at the front, however, was the large (it takes up 6 windows) in the building across the canal which ran all night - the light did make finding the bathroom easier so I suppose everything has an up side.

Breakfast, taken in the cellar, was adequate rather than great but the coffee was fresh and tasty.

I think the hotel was short staffed while we were there as we seemed to deal with the same helpful and friendly English lady whenever we came in. The shortage of staff was not reflected in poor service.

Overall we were very happy with this hotel I have given it four stars as a mark against other similar hotels. Don't expect all the bells and whistles of a large modern hotel but if you do choose to stay here you can seem the inside of an old traditional city centre Dutch house and walk to all the main sights.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have wonderful views - higher is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arts Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;