We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant/ok stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Arts Amsterdam to your Saves list
Hotel des Arts Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #270 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“pleasant/ok stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Upon arrival i was pleased by the look of the hotel, the decor was lovely and fascinating art pieces inside. We were greeted by a lady who was very kind and easy to talk to, she even allowed us to keep our cases in the hotel as we had arrived before check in and wanted to explore amsterdam without having to drag bags around.
the hotel is like an old house, bags of character. filled with narrow staircases and winding corridors. We managed to find our room after dragging our cases up the stairs. I was abit shocked when i opened the bedroom door, I had expected it to be beautifully designed but found it was rather old and worn. The double bed was just two singles pushed together and the bedding was rather shabby. We were placed in the back of the hotel, when i opened the window i could see straight into someone elses bedroom! that night it rained the gutters couldnt take the water, we could here the water dripping onto the floor outside ALL night. wasnt able to sleep much. on the plus side we had a lovely bathroom with a massive shower big enough to fit a football team!
A thing to point out is when you go out in the evening you have to be back by 3am or else they lock you out! the man at check in let us know this, which was not an issue for us, but for some may be. Also felt like a child being given a curfew!
overall the stay was pleasant but i would look again on our next visit to find something more worth my money. i feel the front of the hotel makes it look better and more boutique than it actually is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    36
    20
    18
    13
See reviews for
24
19
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Very friendly staff compared to other hotels in Amsterdam centre, but they were not that good with practical questions about the city, transport, museums, even few times gave misleading directions and tips these are trivial issues as long as one has a map and, maybe, Google Maps on some electronic device.
Hotel is clean and quiet, single rooms are not small, hot/cold water at any time of a day, no rats or any crawling or flying parasites

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Thank you! We came and had a great time (Family - 2 adults, 2 kids 4 years old and under) and had a great visit. The staff are friendly, breakfast was great and we slept really well. The location was perfect, too!!!

Room Tip: We chose not to take a canal view room and it was SUPER quiet :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We booked our accommodation through Expedia which included breakfast. The man on reception at night told us our booking didn't include breakfast. We showed him our print out that said 'includes breakfast' and he said it was wrong. We told him that we paid for and have proof of accommodation including breakfast and he still refused to honour what we booked and proceeded to yell at us and told us to go away. The day staff were nice but no one would honour our booking. They said it was expedia's fault, which I feel they should have honoured the error, as it was between them and expedia. When someone pays for something it should be delivered.
Apart from the rude staff the hotel is good for an average hotel in a good location (about 7min walk to Dam square).

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Like everyone has said...Location, location!!! We had the triple room overlooking the canal which was sooo pretty. The tram stop is right outside so its easy to get any where. The rooms are comfortable, clean and the bathrooms are nice. The only problem is the lack of an elevator, which if you have very heavy bags, like I did, is quite a physical challenge to get up to the top floor. The breakfasts were lovely and the staff were friendly. I would suggest this hotel to anyone who wants a good location at a cheaper price!

Room Tip: book the triple rooms as they have the best view and lots of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

the location is perfect, close to central station and to an area with lots of bars and restaurants. we had a triple room in the 3 floor, there is no elevator and the stairs are quite steep, so consider the fact that u have to carry ur luggage up alone. it was a canal view room, quite spacious with windows on the main street and to the canal. The rooms are clean and towels were changed every day.

the only thing that bothered me was the breakfast, which is quite basic. bread, butter, jam, cheese and ham, coffe or tea. no fruits, vegetables or omlette etc
u can have better breakfast for that money in nice cafes all over the city, so if possible, book without breakfast. Also on Sunday you have to be back before 3 AM, because reception is closed afterwards and you can not get in, since it is a quite small hotel and they keep the front door locked.

Room Tip: triple canal view room is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Arts Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts Amsterdam

Address: Rokin 154-156, 1012 LE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #270 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel des Arts Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Arts Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.