We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, what you expect for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Decent, what you expect for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My 3 friends and I stayed for a long weekend; checking in on a Thursday afternoon and checking out the following Sunday morning.

With today's GPS technology the hotel was relatively easy to find - around 20 minutes or so walk from Central Station. What I didn't know was we were located literally right next to Rembrandt Square which is very popular with tourists,

The staff were pleasant. Their policy is to leave the key with them and to collect when returning (24 hours) which is great as you don't have to worry about losing a key. Also good when there is a group of you.

Our room was pretty much the top floor - the climbing of the stairs was a little tiring as the building was a typical Dutch building. A lift would have been nice but since we are all males in our late twenties, it wasn't a huge issue. Definitely something to think about if your party is quite young, elderly, unfit or overweight.

The room was a decent size, tidy and clean to an extent. Storage room could have been better. We had to share a medium sized wardrobe between 4 which wasn't convenient. We ended up draping our clothes off the table which was crammed in the corner. We initially looked to stack clothes on the top of the wardrobe but found a thick layer of dust so chose not to. No iron is available in the room. I believe you can borrow one from reception but we were told an hour wait so didn't use it in the end.

Toilet roll was plenty and the towels were replaced daily which was a nice surprise. There is also a generic body and hair wash located in the shower. The bathroom is a decent size and a wetroom type. This was clean too.

A bugbear that I had was that the room smelt a little of smoke. They do allow you to smoke cigarettes in the room but not marijuana. After airing out the room it was fine.

The noise levels when sleeping with the window closed seems to be fine. Although it gets a little warm with so we opened the windows... big mistake. Due to the location the noise is quite noticeable. As we were on the top floor, it was a little colder due to the breeze through the window but the heating didn't work...

The other problem is wifi. Apparently the hotel had updated the wifi but there was no connection to the router. Apparently this was being fixed but we left before this was done. In the meantime we had to connect to a random free one which could reach our room. When we COULD connect to the hotel wifi in the reception, it worked OK.

Walking to and from the RLD takes around 15-20 minutes. Barely noticeable. Especially when you start recognising your way.

For the price you pay, it's decent!

Room Tip: Tip 1: choose to have a room not facing the square. Tip 2: If you are travelling to the airport f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twitter_0161Ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My kids and I loved our staying at City-Hotel very much. After an awful trip by tram the guy at the reception cured our hearts by his friendlyness and politness. The room war very clean and had a great view over Rembandtsplain, we loved it the whole night. For that it didn't matter, that the room was noisy because of the streetlife - we sat in the windows watching all the people laughing, dancing, singing, talking, eating, drinking ... nearly the whole night, it was great. In Hamburg you don't find a square like this.
Breakfast was not so very good ... you could fold the breadslides without any consequences ... but the coffee an the hot chocolate were lovely again.
The whole thing for less money - very good for a short trip with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Martina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My 1st time in Amsterdam had a great time,will go again. Hotel was nice just could do with a lift to the top floor,as we were on the top floor. The staff and service was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here in a room for 5 with 4 mates. Our room was basic but clean, and we shared a bathroom with another room. Some of the rooms in the hotel are en-suite though. There were 2 toilets on our floor too. This was never a problem, and both were kept very clean. We received fresh towels every day. Breakfast was pretty good; typical European. Selection of cold meat & cheese, yoghurts, fruit, bread, croissants, bacon and egg rolls as wells as fruit juices and coffee. The location is very good, on a lively square with a couple of clubs, many bars and coffee shops. As a result it was a little noisy at night with the windows open, but it was certainly not an issue. The receptionists were pleasant and happy to help with the hotel and visit in general. There is free wifi in the reception area, the password is city2015.

Room Tip: Access to rooms is all up very steep and numerous stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 04housemat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is located near the city center and in a area where nightlife is great, in 5 minutes you can get to a lot of bars and clubs. The rooms are decent enough, don't expect much of them but they were clean. The staff is quite friendly.
Overall the price is worth it considering the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends, for 3 nights in July.
Our room was clean with fresh towels provided daily. Bathroom was of a wetroom style, but was very generously sized, so we never ran into issues with water getting where it shouldn't. Beds were comfotable and provided a good rest after a long day wandering and equally long night drinking :)

As other reviews have noted, the steps into and out of the hotel as well as between floors can be very steep. This is a common quality of building design in Amsterdam but could prove an issue for older guests or those with young children (buggies etc).

The hotel is in a fantastic location. With restaurants,bars and clubs aplenty within the square. There is also a supermarket close by for supplies. Also, being situated on Rembrantplein you have a tram stop that makes getting around very easy, should you choose not to walk.
Having said that, you should be aware that it can be very loud on the square at night, so if you're looking for quiet, you might want to find something further out. It was no problem for us.

Service was very good, with reception staff generally very courteous. We arrived quite late, but had minimal fuss getting sorted with our room.
They do ask to hold the room keys while you are out which I hadn't experienced before, meaning you have to buzz from outside to be let in. However their desk is manned 24 hours a day, and we had no problems gaining access (despite some rather early morning returns to the room).
There was a room safe which on arrival wasn't working, but was quickly fixed for us without much hassle.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you're after the nightlife of Amsterdam, or don't mind the noise.
I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conkers2250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Good price for a very peaceful hotel. Upgraded us from 3 bed place to a 7 bed place with its own kitchen so that was nice. Clean and comfortable, no complaints. Also they have a french bulldog at reception!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Aaron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#201 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#220 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#277 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing