We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, what you expect for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Decent, what you expect for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

My 3 friends and I stayed for a long weekend; checking in on a Thursday afternoon and checking out the following Sunday morning.

With today's GPS technology the hotel was relatively easy to find - around 20 minutes or so walk from Central Station. What I didn't know was we were located literally right next to Rembrandt Square which is very popular with tourists,

The staff were pleasant. Their policy is to leave the key with them and to collect when returning (24 hours) which is great as you don't have to worry about losing a key. Also good when there is a group of you.

Our room was pretty much the top floor - the climbing of the stairs was a little tiring as the building was a typical Dutch building. A lift would have been nice but since we are all males in our late twenties, it wasn't a huge issue. Definitely something to think about if your party is quite young, elderly, unfit or overweight.

The room was a decent size, tidy and clean to an extent. Storage room could have been better. We had to share a medium sized wardrobe between 4 which wasn't convenient. We ended up draping our clothes off the table which was crammed in the corner. We initially looked to stack clothes on the top of the wardrobe but found a thick layer of dust so chose not to. No iron is available in the room. I believe you can borrow one from reception but we were told an hour wait so didn't use it in the end.

Toilet roll was plenty and the towels were replaced daily which was a nice surprise. There is also a generic body and hair wash located in the shower. The bathroom is a decent size and a wetroom type. This was clean too.

A bugbear that I had was that the room smelt a little of smoke. They do allow you to smoke cigarettes in the room but not marijuana. After airing out the room it was fine.

The noise levels when sleeping with the window closed seems to be fine. Although it gets a little warm with so we opened the windows... big mistake. Due to the location the noise is quite noticeable. As we were on the top floor, it was a little colder due to the breeze through the window but the heating didn't work...

The other problem is wifi. Apparently the hotel had updated the wifi but there was no connection to the router. Apparently this was being fixed but we left before this was done. In the meantime we had to connect to a random free one which could reach our room. When we COULD connect to the hotel wifi in the reception, it worked OK.

Walking to and from the RLD takes around 15-20 minutes. Barely noticeable. Especially when you start recognising your way.

For the price you pay, it's decent!

Room Tip: Tip 1: choose to have a room not facing the square. Tip 2: If you are travelling to the airport f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    80
    33
    16
    15
See reviews for
16
43
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

My kids and I loved our staying at City-Hotel very much. After an awful trip by tram the guy at the reception cured our hearts by his friendlyness and politness. The room war very clean and had a great view over Rembandtsplain, we loved it the whole night. For that it didn't matter, that the room was noisy because of the streetlife - we sat in the windows watching all the people laughing, dancing, singing, talking, eating, drinking ... nearly the whole night, it was great. In Hamburg you don't find a square like this.
Breakfast was not so very good ... you could fold the breadslides without any consequences ... but the coffee an the hot chocolate were lovely again.
The whole thing for less money - very good for a short trip with kids.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

My 1st time in Amsterdam had a great time,will go again. Hotel was nice just could do with a lift to the top floor,as we were on the top floor. The staff and service was very good. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed here in a room for 5 with 4 mates. Our room was basic but clean, and we shared a bathroom with another room. Some of the rooms in the hotel are en-suite though. There were 2 toilets on our floor too. This was never a problem, and both were kept very clean. We received fresh towels every day. Breakfast was pretty good; typical European. Selection of cold meat & cheese, yoghurts, fruit, bread, croissants, bacon and egg rolls as wells as fruit juices and coffee. The location is very good, on a lively square with a couple of clubs, many bars and coffee shops. As a result it was a little noisy at night with the windows open, but it was certainly not an issue. The receptionists were pleasant and happy to help with the hotel and visit in general. There is free wifi in the reception area, the password is city2015.

Room Tip: Access to rooms is all up very steep and numerous stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel is located near the city center and in a area where nightlife is great, in 5 minutes you can get to a lot of bars and clubs. The rooms are decent enough, don't expect much of them but they were clean. The staff is quite friendly.
Overall the price is worth it considering the location of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed here with 3 friends, for 3 nights in July.
Our room was clean with fresh towels provided daily. Bathroom was of a wetroom style, but was very generously sized, so we never ran into issues with water getting where it shouldn't. Beds were comfotable and provided a good rest after a long day wandering and equally long night drinking :)

As other reviews have noted, the steps into and out of the hotel as well as between floors can be very steep. This is a common quality of building design in Amsterdam but could prove an issue for older guests or those with young children (buggies etc).

The hotel is in a fantastic location. With restaurants,bars and clubs aplenty within the square. There is also a supermarket close by for supplies. Also, being situated on Rembrantplein you have a tram stop that makes getting around very easy, should you choose not to walk.
Having said that, you should be aware that it can be very loud on the square at night, so if you're looking for quiet, you might want to find something further out. It was no problem for us.

Service was very good, with reception staff generally very courteous. We arrived quite late, but had minimal fuss getting sorted with our room.
They do ask to hold the room keys while you are out which I hadn't experienced before, meaning you have to buzz from outside to be let in. However their desk is manned 24 hours a day, and we had no problems gaining access (despite some rather early morning returns to the room).
There was a room safe which on arrival wasn't working, but was quickly fixed for us without much hassle.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you're after the nightlife of Amsterdam, or don't mind the noise.
I would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Good price for a very peaceful hotel. Upgraded us from 3 bed place to a 7 bed place with its own kitchen so that was nice. Clean and comfortable, no complaints. Also they have a french bulldog at reception!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.