We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Save Saved
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“Best location in amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great ! We originally booked a three person room but having gained a fourth musketeer we rang and asked for a four person room , this was only a week or two before our arrival and unfortunately there were no other rooms available but we agreed we would not mind having an extra bed put in for an extra 80 euros for the three nights , when we arrived at the hotel we were told there had been a problem and that the room we had booked was not available ......... This turned out to be a blessing ! They upgraded us to one of the flats that they own just a few doors down from the hotel , it was perfect , nice open space , good views over the square and a kitchen and English tv . The flat was situated right in the centre of the nightlife so is quite loud at night but we were fine with it . Lots of good restaurants and bars near by also shops to get food and drinks to take back . Under our flat was a pizza place and a coffee shop , also a wine bar and a wagamamas a stones throw away , seemed fine for smoking as ashtrays in room and we smoked some seriously stinky stuff in there and the maid didn't say a word when she dropped of the towels in the morning ,just smiled and went about her day , got tripping and had a right giggle , re arranged the room into a sordid love pit and made a spag bowl from fresh ingredients bought from a waitrose type shop across the road from the flat , only thing is they only take card there ?! Wtf I know ? Any way top knotch place if you are looking for a cheeky weekend in the dam , lots of coffee shops near by , close to the red light , close to the nightlife . Word to the wise renting bikes and getting so stoned you can barely see really doesn't work out . Peace x

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    62
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
14
34
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lancaster
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I went with my friends last year, this place was in a great location, close to everything you need to visit in Amsterdam. Lots of coffee shops near by . You also have a Starbucks right opposite the place in case you don't wake up in time for breakfast . We got a 6 person apartment suite We were 5 of us and it worked out really affordable. It was around 50 euros per night. Clean rooms, clean toilet. It's a bit noisy at night. But hey, it's Amsterdam I'm sure you all wan the noise :) definitely going there again :) I went there in July 2012.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

It is in the smack of the city and you reach everything easily, the price is fair for the quality of the apartment at nr 10. We stayed with 6 friends and of course one toilet is not much but the cleanliness was ok and the personal is easy going. Good to go with friends there

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This place was perfect! We read the reviews and chose right! Compared to other options, this is considered budget and we were thrilled! The room was clean and spacious enough. Its Amsterdam and who cares how big the room is because you shouldn't be spending much time there. The service was tops! All staff were very friendly, interested and interesting. Always helpful with directions and recommendations. 10 min. walk to Central Station and enough on the outskirts of the RLD(10 min.) walk to keep it quite and feeling right. This will definitely be where we stay in Amsterdam in the future!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldock, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This Hotel was perfect; it was great value for money. I find all too often people post negative reviews for budget hotels, you get what you pay for, however City Hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned daily with (plenty) of fresh clean towels. The beds were unbelievably comfortable !! The shower was lovely and hot, even in the room shared by 5 – there was always plenty of hot water. You need the bear in mind the vernacular architecture, the rooms are up flights of stairs and there is no lift, this didn’t cause any issues for our party of 7 and the staff are so friendly they will help you with bags. The hotel ask that you hand in your room key every time you leave the hotel, this worked really well especially as we travelled in group – you hand in / collect you key form the reception desk that is staffed 24hrs. All the hotel staff were so friendly; staff provided us with local maps and discount flyers for various attractions, museums and the like. The hotel is perfectly located, it’s in the centre near good coffee shops, bars and restaurants with a tram stop right outside. Overall it was perfect for what we needed was better than anticipated. Looking at booking again before Christmas.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

the staff was Excellent! and helped us understanding the city
the hotel is cheep and located in the center of the city
the rooms are clean
and everything was great
i can recommended people to come and stay at this hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Travelled with a friend of mine, stayed there between the 19th to 22nd August.
15 minute walk from centraal station or you can get the tram, short walks to clubs and RLD. There is a coffee shop next door.

Lovely guy at reception; we originally booked a twin room but then got upgraded to a huge seven bed flat! Excellent start to our stay.

I read a few of the reviews on here before staying. I can say this though; the bed sheets were clean, the towels were clean and we received new towels everyday. Noise was not an issue. Nothing was stolen from our room. There wasn't air conditioning but the temperature wasn't bad anyway.

We did not try the breakfast so I can not comment on that.

There were no problems I could think of. I am surprised I got this location for the price we paid; everywhere else seemed to be much more expensive. If I come back I will stay here. I am an experienced traveller to the 'dam and I do not think this place is so bad!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsNL, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;