We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added City Hotel to your Saves list
City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #104 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great little find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed between the 9th-11th of August with a Party of 5 in the 6 bed apartment. We were in apt. 2b in number 10 a few doors down from the main hotel. We arrived at 8am and were told check in is 2pm when booking.com said it was 1pm. But the lovely woman said she would get our rooms cleaned first so we could check in sooner. So we checked in & left our bags in reception and went for breakfast. We called at 12 and our room was ready so we checked in and loved the flat. 6 single beds and lots of space and a kitchen.
The hotel is right in the middle of Rembrandt square so lots of bars, restaurants, and smoking cafes. There is a Starbucks opposite so great for morning coffee runs. Would definitely stay here again although their are lots of stairs and they are narrow, but lots of places in Amsterdam are the same. €10 deposit needed per key.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    28
    15
    14
See reviews for
15
40
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam as a group of 6 males (all 23-years old) and we stayed at the City Hotel. Quite a trek from the train station with all our luggage, when we first spotted the hotel I was slightly wary as it was based above a pub. The location was fantastic though - we were slightly worried from our 20-minute walk that we were going to be far away from any form of life, but the hotel was based in a busy square - perfect for a young group like us!

We booked a room for 5 people but attempted to sneak another friend in (he had booked last minute so we decided to try and get him into our room). The following morning we were asked about this by the hotel staff, but rather than chuck us out/get angry (which they were within their rights to be honest!), they instead asked if we wanted another bed, and gave us a bit of a deal for him to stay in our room as well - very kind of them.

The room itself was everything we needed - large toilet and open shower, comfy beds, and a really good view over the square.

Security is also good in the hotel - whenever you go out you have to hand your key in and they have cameras and all sorts so they don't allow random people in.

All-in-all, the hotel was spot on and I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband stay here for 3 night in june.
We got room at 3rd floor..
Gosh the stairs really killed us!
There're no ac in the room, and the heater didn't work also..
We met 4 person incharge there, and the blonde lady is horrible..the others are oke..aspecially the young guy, he is very friendly and willing to help.
Always bring your precious stuff, bcoz we lost our souvenir that we bought from barcelona and venice, the city we went to before amsterdam..
I just remember 2 item we've lost..the bigger one..iam not sure about tiny souvenirs :(
Because I bought a lot of souvenirs and I don't remember the exact quantity of them..
If they took souvenir which is cheap, how about expensive stuff and money?
I think it will gone in seconds..

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the City hotel in June 2013 and had a really good stay. The rooms are very spacious and we had a good view. We stayed on the third floor so climbing the stairs was a bit of a challenge but it was definitely worth it. It's common in Amsterdam not to have lifts.

The bathroom was spectacular. Spacious and really comfortable. We had a bad smell in the bathroom but this got fixed really quickly.

The service is also excellent. Breakfast however is very basic but we were satisfied. Wifi is only available in the dining area but if you're lucky you might be able to get it in your room.

We stayed 3 nights in total and were very pleased with our stay. The location is really good and you can basically walk everywhere from the hotel.

Would definitely recommend the hotel. Not sure why they only have a two star rating. Excellent stay!! :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I loved the location, it is literally near everything (directly on Rembrandtplein, next some of the biggest clubs!!)
The room was spacious, considering I travelled with three girls of my age (18) so we all had alot of stuff. Also we had a smoking-friendly room and sometimes we could smell marihuana from the rooms next to us. The biggest drawback was the stairs, very steep and narrow. Our room was on the 4th floor so it really was a workout to get up there!
The reception was very welcoming, but it had two dogs waiting for us. So if you are very allergic remember to take some medication.
Everything else was perfect, really a hotel I can recommend!

Room Tip: Book your stay at the hotel's own website! That way you get breakfast included. Also try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel

Address: Utrechtsestraat 2, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.