We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to return here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Blue Mountains
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Good to return here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We booked quite late but managed to get a twin room at the back of the property over looking a (neighbour's) sunny garden. Extremely quiet here. The main advantage of van Onna is it's location and value for money in a city as expensive as Amsterdam in peak season. Very walkable to all attractions and the Canal Bus (actually a boat). Jordaan is a much nicer location than the faceless and same-old city centre hotels, with real character. Local markets are just a few minutes walk away - offering wonderful food and treasures. However, the rooms at van Onna continue to be spartan and small but clean with a safe and basic shower facilities. Lots of stairs, so be prepared to lug your suitcases up and down these as there is no lift. Don't expect too much and you'll do very well here.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the canal are lovely and the bells from the nearby church didn't disturb u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    293
    206
    57
    19
See reviews for
95
255
140
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Wonderfully situated, pleasant staff, friendly hotel. I had a nice room overlooking the Gracht. The weather was exceptionally hot, so sleeping was not always easy, but this is not likely to be a regular problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

very good balance between the price and the quality of service
One point: Starting time for breakfast should be 7.00am instead of 8.00am
specially when we have to go for a Tour outside the town.
Strong points:
very well located in the town
Good welcoming
Good breakfast
Clean
Quiet
Safe

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I arrived in Amsterdam at the cruise port, near the train station, and we could easily walk to this hotel. The location is perfect for exploring Amsterdam and the neighborhood is interesting and appeared to be safe. The hotel is simple, clean, friendly, and provides a nice European style breakfast. Our room had a view of the canal, which was a nice addition. Toiletries, a shower curtain, and a hair dryer was not provided.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

my partner & I have just stayed here for 7 nights. Hotel Van Onna is a great place to stay. it is within easy walking distance of the city center and in a lovely area. The Staff are friendly & always happy to help. As a budget hotel it is nothing fancy but it has everything you need a comfy bed, a safe, a bathroom in your room and a lovely breakfast. There is no kettle or brew making facilities in the room so i took a travel kettle and everything to make tea & coffee. The room was small but we managed comfortably for 7 nights. The only thing i would have liked is a do not disturb sign because due to ill health i had to rest lots & the cleaners were keen to clean the room daily this is no bad thing! We would stay here again it was lovely.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wifi. The rooms on the canal were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.