We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great loacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel van Onna
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 349 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    339
    234
    60
    25
See reviews for
112
293
151
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed in 3 hotels during our 5 night stay in Amsterdam( The Crown Hotel, the England Quentin Hotel, and the Hotel van Onna). The Van Onna is well situated in the Anne Frank's house neighbourhood. It is very clean, the staff is friendly. For 80Euros a night you get a room with a toilet and a shower and a breakfast. The Quentin is next to a gorgeous Vondel park. Perfect for doing a jog early in the morning! It is clean. Fort 85 Euros a night you get a bathroom. Room 106 has a balcony. The Quentin is located in a high end neighbourhood close to the Rijks museum. The Crown Hotel was the very worst! At 100E a night, it was WAY over priced! The room was clean, but dilapidated. We shared the bathroom and the toilet with other guests on the floor. The room, yes at 100 Euros a night, did not even include a coffee in the morning. They charge 2.5 Euros a 200 ml bottle of water ! Like our friend remarked: '' nobody should be able to get away charging these kinds of prices!'' The Crown Hotel is a real rip off! Stay at the van Onna or at the Quentin England!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Hotel Van Onna was perfect for what we needed. I would highly recommend it if you are happy to go without all the little luxuries. The room was very basic, however it was clean and the bathroom was quite good. The staff were very helpful. The location was perfect, in a lovely little area and right on a canal. Although the price wasn't dirt cheap, compared to other accommodation pricing in Amsterdam I found it was very good value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed 4 nights over here, the hotel is very calm, in a very poetic street. The district is absolutly nice, very silent.
The staff is also very good, polite and smiling. The room was a bit small, but the bed was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the river side !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

stayed here with my husband on a short break found hotel to be very clean and welcoming most importantly warm, it was basic but that's all you need in Amsterdam. it was only a short walk from dam square and was in a quiet area and only a 20 min walk to central station we will stay here again when we go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.