We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    299
    207
    58
    19
See reviews for
98
258
140
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Stayed 2 night here. Very disapointed with the service from the hotel, rude owner / manager, we need to check out early since we need to catch train back to Paris and there is nobody in the reception, the same person is preparing breakfast. When I complained he answered that we should have check out 1 day earlier. I mention that earlier I had came down to the reception but nobody there also, he insisted that he was there. And better forget about breakfast, they only serve at 8 am !!! so you need to start the day later if you want to eat.Also, very lousy room, dirty and more look like a dorm. avoid at all cost.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Van Onna is a nice place to stay. Near the Dam Square and other atracttions in the city, with a very gentle staff and a fast breakfast very good. Just P. Attention in the fact that is a old Dutch house style, without elevators. If you have any mobility problem and/or are carring bags with high weight, this can be a problem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

Very small room and bathroom. No counter space, no closet space, no drawer space, no hair dryer, no complimentary toiletries. Only one towel pp. Breakfast was adequate but the same thing daily. The location on a quiet canal near the Anne Frank House and multiple tram, bus, canal boat stops was wonderful. Good hotel for one or two nights.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice - an egg, toast, a little cold ham and cheese. The room itself was clean, though it felt like a dorm room. The bathroom was fine, with a good shower. Linens were very clean. The best thing about this hotel is that it's in a great neighborhood, with lots of interesting shops and cafés and easy walking distance to museums.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent two nights in the hotel and were very happy of it.
The neighboorhood is very quiet, and cute. Moreover, the hotel is just near shops, tram, bus.
There's is a wifi connexion and a laptop which can be use whenever you need.
The room (a double bed) is very small, simple, no tv (It didn't bother us at all because we had spend our days in the city and in the evening, our only need was to sleep haha) but a very clean room. The bathroom was very clean too (I was agreably surprised !). We were on the third floor and our room was just located in front of the water, it was very nice and quiet.

Concerning the breakfast, it was very nice too. Bacon, cheese, differents sort of breads, jam, tea (I was in fond of their tea !!), coffee .
The staff was helpful and listening. They didn't hesitate to print our bus ticket.

I'll come back to this hotel for sure !
It's a good place for those who haven't got a big budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.