We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Florence, Italy
1 review
“Great Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

very nice hotel and staff! I felt very welcomed and I was very pleased with the hotel overall. The room was a little out of date but very clean and spacious. Breakfast was very filling and worth including in your budget!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    279
    192
    51
    18
See reviews for
89
232
137
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

At the time of our visit this hotel was one of the cheaper ones in the city centre. The location is very good - an easy walk from the Central Station and pretty much easy for all main attractions. Our room had a double bed, as requested, but also a single. It was a bit cramped, but perfectly manageable. The decor was a bit tired, as was the linen, but everything was clean. The breakfast was quite acceptable and consisted of a hard-boiled egg, bread and toast, ham, cheese and jam - plus chocolate "sprinkles", a Dutch obsession which is as harmless as it is inexplicable, together with English breakfast tea or coffee. A couple of words of warning: there is no lift; if paying by plastic a 5% surcharge will be added; and our key-card failed to open our door on one occasion and had to be re-programmed; we returned to our room one time and it had not been shut by the cleaning staff. However, all staff were polite and helpful and the atmosphere was good. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel van Onna. The location is great, in the trendy Jordaan area, on a beautiful canal and just up the road from Anne Franks House. There are lots of lovely bars and cafés nearby, including the famous 'Pancake Bakery' which is definitely worth a visit. We had two triple rooms with lovely canal views, and although the rooms are basic we were impressed by how clean the hotel was, and the daily maid service, which we weren't expecting for our two night stay. The breakfast and dining room are very nice, it's great to have breakfast included in the price. Don't listen to the bad reviews, for what you pay you are not going to get the ritz, but you will get a clean, friendly and comfy hotel in a great area of the city.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This hotel should be called a hostel, the rooms are so unbelievably basic!! Just a bed (a camp bed) and nothing else, even the towels are like drying your body in sandpaper! Also the towels are hand towels, so cover nothing!! The bathroom is a wet room, so once you shower the entire bathroom is wet! I wouldn't of minded any of this stuff except it was so expensive. Not only was the actual room expensive but then I got ripped off at check out, I was not told that my room had not be paid for but only secured by me entering my card details! So then in the middle of amsterdam I had to try and find the money. it ended up with me paying on my card, which they added an addition charge for and on top of this city tax!! I would not recommend this 'hotel'

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.