We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Save Saved
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #173 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The location is good- an easy walk from the city center through a safe neighboorhood. Reception was very friendly.

I stayed in a single room, which was small and had a soft and very wobbly bed that hit the radiator at one end and the closet at the other. The room juuuust barely got an intermittent wireless signal. It was cleanish, in the sense that it was well-vacuumed and dusted and didn't smell. All the furnishings are pretty cheap and pretty old- marks on the walls and carpet, etc. None of this was particularly surprising or bothersome, because I paid 50 Euros for a night, so hey, expect "hostel" more than "hotel" or "B&B."

Since it was December, I can report that the heater was OK but not super powerful. I used all the spare blankets in the closet, which really aggravated some dusty allergic reaction for me. But they did supply plenty of spare blankets, which was good. Only one of them had marijuana bits stuck to it (this didn't seem like a super-rowdy facility and it didn't smell of smoke or anything like that).

Breakfast was lovely! Coffee, bread, a slice each of ham and cheese, jam, and a hardboiled egg.

I'd be happy to stay here again. The price is right and the staff are really pleasant. Go in expecting no frills.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    290
    203
    56
    19
See reviews for
93
252
139
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I'm always smiling when I arrive - it's a couple of blocks off the main drag - perfectly located in the Jordan district. It's clean, confortable, welcoming - it's always a delight. The lovely little breakfast always starts my day on the correct foot. This is my second visit and hopefully, not my last. Local markets are a delight - they are an easy stroll and always interesting. The tram services makes the hotel very assessable to any location that you are interested in.

Bottom line - I love it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very tiny hotel but very clean and very quiet. You will find an excellent service and excellent location. This location allows you to visit all places in the Centre. It’s a walking distance to everything. Anna Frank House and also Dam Square is near by. Hotel Van Onna is very good value for money and we would stay there again. The staff was helpful and extremely friendly. Breakfast being included in the cost was a great bonus. We were also thrilled to get a free upgrade to bedroom with a canal view! And it wasn’t noisy at all!

Breakfast is wonderful and consists of: coffee or tea, 1 hardboiled egg, ham and cheese, homemade bread (white and wheat), some kind of crispy biscuit, jam, butter and chocolate sprinkles.


The hotel has a nice entrance on the street.

We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This was very good value for money. My room, in the annex, was tiny, and very basic but clean and perfectly fine for the price. The hotel is in a great location, a real Amsterdam neighbourhood and very central, right on a canal. Not too touristy, and charming. The breakfast was also very good. Only problem was that I was kept up at night by noisy guests returning from their big night out ( it was a Saturday) and shouting, banging up and down the stairs. But hey for sixty euros I really can't complain.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Highlight: not too far from the railway station (15 mn walking) and in the middle of Jordan.
I got a room at the top of the annexe.
Shower very, very small: a lesson for profitable space.
The hotel is simple and clean. What I ask for one night stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Hotel Van Onna is a very nice hotel. The location is excellent, our room was small but clean. Very friendly staff. The breakfast was OK! Wifi worked well!
Nice view from our window. We defenitely had a pleasent stay!




  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.