We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a nice and fairly quiet neighborhood!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel van Onna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel van Onna to your Saves list
Hotel van Onna
Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place in a nice and fairly quiet neighborhood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I highly recommend this hotel. It included modest breakfast of coffee/tea, break, cheese, meat, a hard boiled egg and jam. My room was clean and simple, perfect place to crash for a few nights. (I only stayed one night). Keep in mind it is a SIMPLE place, no bells and whistles, not a fancy bed, not much space, but that was exactly what I was looking for. A great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    302
    210
    58
    19
See reviews for
101
259
141
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I found the hotel to be very clean. I was not a big fan of the wet room bathroom but the water was hot. The bed was basic but very comfortable pillows and bedding. And the area is so quiet you sleep like a baby. Except... the maid begin waking you very early with loud talking and banging. I was very sick for about 3 days and there are no signs for Do Not Disturb, so I asked the front desk for them to come late in afternoon. That worked better for me...but they bothered me constantly about towels and loud talking in hallways. That is not acceptable. Remember, people are on holiday and want to do what they want. And if that means sleeping in... let them..and go about your duties quietly. Quit trying to rush them out of the room so you can clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed in Hotel van Onna for a long weekend in November. Everything went smoothly and was as we expected. The room was modest but very tidy, facing the canal. The big windows are thin, so some noise from outside will be heard, but it was warm enough (the heater was adjustable and there were extra blankets provided). Location is excellent, everything within walking distance. Would choose the same hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The only major problem was the insulation of the walls and the bad quality beds. You can hear the people from side rooms talking ..... walking ...... and some =nights for me was dificult to sleep (there was some Russian people talking all night long !!!)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It is what you expect when you see it in internet. Small but very clean, excellent sevice and excellent location that allows go walking all places in the centre.
It was our first time in Amsterdam and whe arrived to the central station from the airport. You can go walking from the central station to the hotel.
It is very near Anna Frank House and also Damm Square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel van Onna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel van Onna

Address: Bloemgracht 102-104 and 108, 1015 TN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#33 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel van Onna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Van Onna Hotel
Van Onna Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel van Onna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.